We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay, very welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Hazelwood

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Hazelwood
Ranked #33 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely stay, very welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

From the moment we spoke and consequently booked at the Hazlewood, for our first visit to magnificent York, we knew we were in for a great stay. Nothing was too much trouble, immaculate rooms, it was very welcoming to know that they could be flexible with check-in times so that we could make the most of the city by parking up early and not having to move the car as we checked out, we will be back, thank you.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheffy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    76
    20
    8
    1
See reviews for
40
237
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Sharon is a very charming and gracious hostess. As I have watch many of the shows, this property would get top marks from Alex Polizzi! We stayed in room 2 and it was delightful; and yes the parking is tight, but available. The light fare option of scrambled eggs and salmon was a treat at breakfast. Thanks for a wonderful stay, Sharon!

Room Tip: Specify whether twin beds or a queen are preferred.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paolo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed for a couple of nights to go Christmas shopping. Excellent location - free car parking too although it is tight for a bigger car - you could need help to guide. Wonderful welcome, lovely room with everything needed including the spot of homemade cake on arrival. Rooms very clean and tidy and luscious bathrobes (in cupboard!). Nice places to eat nearby - look at their recommendations in the brochure. Enjoy

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

We are a family visiting from Australia and decided to take a trip to York for New Years. What a treat! This was made even better by staying at
The Hazelwood. From the warm greeting from Sharon to the absolutely meticulous attention to detail of the rooms there is really nothing but to give this place top marks. The rooms are beautifully appointed, spotlessly clean ,breakfast fabulous and so well positioned to enable a stroll to the walled city. We probably can't return in a hurry but encourage others to do so.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Places63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preston,lancs
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Have just spent two nights here over the New Year. Upon arrival we received a very warm welcome and assistance with our luggage. We were allowed to park for free in one of five spaces which was excellent as parking in York is very expensive. Room spacious and very clean with extra little touches. Breakfast was lovely and the staff very friendly and helpful. Very convenient but quiet location two mins walk from York Minster. We were even allowed to leave our car there after checking out and were welcomed back for a coffee and use of facilities before we drove home. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmc58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

My friend and I have been visiting the Hazlewood for several years, for both of us it is a wonderful beginning to our Christmas. We are always made to feel so welcome. The bedrooms are spotlessly clean and comfortable and have everything we need to make our stay so special including the homemade cake that is served in the bedrooms.
The Hazlewood is perfectly located for all the shopping and attractions that York has to offer.
The breakast is excellent, it is cooked perfectly and the sausages are gorgeous.
I would recommend the Hazlewood to anyone who appreciates good food, comfortable and clean bedrooms and a warm welcome....why go anywhere else?
Thank you to everyone at the Hazlewood.

Room Tip: My friend and I always stay in twin bedroom no 3, it is perfectly located for the lounge and the bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

My friend and I have been staying at the Hazelwood every year for the last 8 years to do our annual Christmas shopping. Every year we are treated to a warm welcome by all the staff (particularly Sharon who is a gem). The B& B is spotlessly clean - every year the standard is the same - excellent. Breakfast is freshly prepared and delicious, especially the sausages. With the B&B being just a five minute walk from the Minster we can easily walk back to the accommodation if we need to drop of purchases and head back out. I would definitely recommend the Hazelwood to anyone. Thank you.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Gillygate
The Gillygate
#43 of 192 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
0.3 mi away
No. 21 York
No. 21 York
#10 of 192 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
0.3 mi away
23 St. Mary's
23 St. Mary's
#14 of 192 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Minster Hotel
Minster Hotel
#25 of 192 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. Raphael Guest House
0.3 mi away
Alcuin Lodge
Alcuin Lodge
#4 of 192 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hazelwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hazelwood

Property: The Hazelwood
Address: 24-25 Portland Street, York YO31 7EH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hazelwood 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the very heart of York the Hazelwood is an elegant Victorian townhouse in a quiet residential area only 400 yards from York Minster.Private car park.Individually styled en-suite bedrooms.Wide choice of breakfasts from traditional through to vegetarian and including options for the lighter taste all freshly cooked using quality local produce.Completely non smoking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hazelwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hazelwood Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing