We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Hostess and Great Location”
Review of The Hazelwood

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Hazelwood
Ranked #34 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Sharon is a very charming and gracious hostess. As I have watch many of the shows, this property would get top marks from Alex Polizzi! We stayed in room 2 and it was delightful; and yes the parking is tight, but available. The light fare option of scrambled eggs and salmon was a treat at breakfast. Thanks for a wonderful stay, Sharon!

Room Tip: Specify whether twin beds or a queen are preferred.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paolo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (412)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 412 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed for a couple of nights to go Christmas shopping. Excellent location - free car parking too although it is tight for a bigger car - you could need help to guide. Wonderful welcome, lovely room with everything needed including the spot of homemade cake on arrival. Rooms very clean and tidy and luscious bathrobes (in cupboard!). Nice places to eat nearby - look at their recommendations in the brochure. Enjoy

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We are a family visiting from Australia and decided to take a trip to York for New Years. What a treat! This was made even better by staying at
The Hazelwood. From the warm greeting from Sharon to the absolutely meticulous attention to detail of the rooms there is really nothing but to give this place top marks. The rooms are beautifully appointed, spotlessly clean ,breakfast fabulous and so well positioned to enable a stroll to the walled city. We probably can't return in a hurry but encourage others to do so.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank Places63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Have just spent two nights here over the New Year. Upon arrival we received a very warm welcome and assistance with our luggage. We were allowed to park for free in one of five spaces which was excellent as parking in York is very expensive. Room spacious and very clean with extra little touches. Breakfast was lovely and the staff very friendly and helpful. Very convenient but quiet location two mins walk from York Minster. We were even allowed to leave our car there after checking out and were welcomed back for a coffee and use of facilities before we drove home. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmc58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

My friend and I have been visiting the Hazlewood for several years, for both of us it is a wonderful beginning to our Christmas. We are always made to feel so welcome. The bedrooms are spotlessly clean and comfortable and have everything we need to make our stay so special including the homemade cake that is served in the bedrooms.
The Hazlewood is perfectly located for all the shopping and attractions that York has to offer.
The breakast is excellent, it is cooked perfectly and the sausages are gorgeous.
I would recommend the Hazlewood to anyone who appreciates good food, comfortable and clean bedrooms and a warm welcome....why go anywhere else?
Thank you to everyone at the Hazlewood.

Room Tip: My friend and I always stay in twin bedroom no 3, it is perfectly located for the lounge and the bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

My friend and I have been staying at the Hazelwood every year for the last 8 years to do our annual Christmas shopping. Every year we are treated to a warm welcome by all the staff (particularly Sharon who is a gem). The B& B is spotlessly clean - every year the standard is the same - excellent. Breakfast is freshly prepared and delicious, especially the sausages. With the B&B being just a five minute walk from the Minster we can easily walk back to the accommodation if we need to drop of purchases and head back out. I would definitely recommend the Hazelwood to anyone. Thank you.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

Only stayed 1 night and arrived late as arranged when i booked. This was not a problem at all. Made to feel very welcome by Sharon who could not have done more to help us.
The room was beautiful and spotlessly clean.
Breakfast was well cooked and good quality ingredients.
Fantastic location very close to the Minster. Not the cheapest place BUT I believe you get what you pay for so will be back.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank sue6872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
1.0 mi away
Heworth Guest House
Heworth Guest House
#41 of 194 in York
325 reviews
0.2 mi away
Minster Walk Accommodation
1.1 mi away
Bishops Guest Accomodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Minster Hotel
Minster Hotel
#24 of 194 in York
1,136 reviews
0.2 mi away
Number 34 Bed & Breakfast
2.1 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#19 of 194 in York
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hazelwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hazelwood

Address: 24-25 Portland Street, York YO31 7EH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: $107 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hazelwood 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the very heart of York the Hazelwood is an elegant Victorian townhouse in a quiet residential area only 400 yards from York Minster.Private car park.Individually styled en-suite bedrooms.Wide choice of breakfasts from traditional through to vegetarian and including options for the lighter taste all freshly cooked using quality local produce.Completely non smoking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Hazelwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hazelwood Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing