We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent base for exploring York” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holgate Hill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holgate Hill Hotel
Ranked #42 of 46 Hotels in York
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent base for exploring York”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

We stayed for a couple of nights mid week as a romantic get away. The hotel was lovely and we had a warm welcome. The room was very adequate and the shower powerful. Breakfast. Was filling with wonderful vege sausages! 20 minute walk to city walls which seemed to get shorter distance every time! Very quiet even though on main road. Would recommend and will stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    81
    45
    15
    16
See reviews for
16
108
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

Visited the hotel on my own. Nice little place with some nice original features. Few creeks floor boards but my room was clean and pleasant. Breakfast in the morning was good and lots of cold stuff to choose from on top of the full English. The owner was very friendly and the service was good throughout. It a fair old trek from the station and the city centre bars but not too bad. All in all and for the price, a very good stay

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LankyLancastrian2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Stopped here with my husband for just one night. The hotel was a good price compared to a lot of the hotel's in York. Our room was clean (small stain on the carpet but other than that it was spotless) and the room was lovely and warm, I slept really well, which is unusual for me when I'm somewhere different.
The bar was ok, not got loads of choice but it is only small.
There is quite a lot of choice of cereals at breakfast, there is also fruits, yoghurts, croissants and loads of different spreads for your toast. At first I thought the cooked breakfast looked a bit small but to be honest it was more than enough by the time I had eaten cereal and toast.
The only downside is that it is a bit of a walk into the centre of York (not that far, only about 10 minutes but might not be suitable if you're not very mobile).
I would definitely recommend this hotel if you're looking for somewhere affordable to stay, we would definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

Nothing stands out apart from its being very average with nothing to complain about for a £56 single. Situated along the main road where there are regular buses to the city centre (about 1 mile away). Nice, adequate breakfast - with economical sausages, variety of juices, cereals, with no mushrooms or tomatoes. All the essentials are there in the room. Clean and adequate as a single ensuite. Hot radiators with tea, coffee making, hair dryer. Car parking available. Helpful staff with local knowledge. The owner Hazel is fairly friendly too.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Globetourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

I stayed for a night and the thing that struck me was the customer service. Friendly on check-in and after I was called away for work they were understanding that I had to leave my car past check-out time. You can tell the proprietors really value their guests' custom.

Room was clean and nice. Single was fine and good value. Location is a short walk from all that York has to offer. Would recommend for anyone looking to do this great city on a budget.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

I can't fault the hotel too much because the price was reasonable in comparison to others in York. It looks nice from the outside and the staff are friendly and helpful. The only downfalls to the hotel is that it is dated and in need of a little modernising a little or even just a freshen up! The room was also quite narrow and very basic but like I say for the money it was ok. On a positive it was clean and the location is good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights in September for a short break. The staff were really friendly and the breakfast was lovely. Can't comment on the evening food as we ate out both nights (Mumbai lounge and Little Italy - fantastic!) To walk into York centre took about 20 mins and the hotel is about 15 mins walk from the train station. There is also a bus stop right outside to take you into the centre. A nice little hotel, a little dated but fine for us as it had personal touches which you don't always get with chain type hotels. Would recommend it to anyone wanting a reasonably priced, friendly hotel.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Shidancal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.2 mi away
Elmbank Hotel
Elmbank Hotel
#45 of 46 in York
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
3.0 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn York
Holiday Inn York
#36 of 46 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 3 in Clifton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis York Centre
Ibis York Centre
#37 of 46 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,802 reviews
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holgate Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holgate Hill Hotel

Property: Holgate Hill Hotel
Address: 124 Holgate Road, York YO24 4BB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holgate Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Holgate Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holgate Hill York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing