We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice people! Nice room! Good Breakfast!”
Review of Holgate Hill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holgate Hill Hotel
Ranked #43 of 46 Hotels in York
Shangha
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice people! Nice room! Good Breakfast!”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Just one night stay in York but really love this hotel. People are nice and room is clean and warm. Having a feel of home. Breakfast has not only full english but also some other choice, like fruits. there is a short way to station and so the distance is not a problem.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phoenix S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    85
    47
    15
    17
See reviews for
16
113
18
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighouse, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Chose this B&B for its location near to where we wanted to be the following day - York is notoriously difficult to get around if you don't start from the right place. Accommodation in York is expensive so considered this vfm. "Suite" I wouldn't recognise as such as rather small. Family run business offering courteous, friendly service without being pushy. This was a return stay for us. Elegant facade with lovely quiet courtyard garden. Garden furniture a little tired and courtyard generally slightly untidy but the birdsong and mature trees make up for it. Public rooms pleasant and comfortable. Good breakfast. Snacks and hot beverages served on request. Didn't dine on this our return stay as food was OK first time but unremarkable. House red terrible! Bus stopping right outside the hotel very handy with frequent service.

Room Tip: Lower ground floor room was very nice. Suite disappointing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

A short one night stay. 20 min walk from the station. friendly welcome. lots of stairs to reach the room and narrow corridors. The room was a bit small, and not renovated English style but ok. the bathroom had not been cleaned, or they forgot to remove the used shampoo samples in the shower. Hot water was very long to come but it eventually reached the end of the pipe. We had no breakfast. It was worth the money anyway.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeddEgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
537 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Often single rooms do not have their own shower but a delightful double size shower with towels and toiletries was very welcome after a 3 hour car journey. Room was small but homely and tray of tea and coffee very welcome. Good to have wifi in public areas, I used bar and breakfast in the dining room was pleasant and well served. It was great to leave car just on road, free parking and take bus into York, £1.20 single, bit cheaper than £2 an hour car parking charges! Very convenient and can recommend for an overnight stay.

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Coolcookingteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Really welcoming hotel staff and nice clean rooms. Yes, they were a little tired decor wise but they were clean and warm and the evening meals were home cooked and fresh. The buses stop outside the hotel and ran every ten minutes into york centre (1:20 single). Hats off to Loiuse and Gemma for making the stay relaxed and enjoyable

Room Tip: Room 2 nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Good points:
Young man at desk was super friendly and helpful. A real credit to the hotel.
Quite close to the city centre - about 10 minutes walk.
Breakfast is OK - some choice. Waitress etc helpful.
Loads of hot water in the shower/bath - needed it (see below!)
Towels replaced promptly - cleaning generally was very good.

Bad points:
Wouldn't say we were made to feel welcome. Almost unwelcome by who we presume was the owner.
Bed was terrible - imagine a plank of plywood with a 1 inch mattress. Woke up in pain every morning.
Furniture tired/discoloured/damaged.
Mould in the bathroom - window/ceiling.

Overall: we wouldn't go back but York is lovely - we had a great time there.

Check out the Happy Valley Chinese restaurant - great food! Avoid Punch Bowl pub - terrible!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jake P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster
Level Contributor
410 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

This hotel provided everything required: good location for York centre (ten minutes walk), free parking, pleasant and helpful staff, comfortable bed, clean room, good shower and decent choice of breakfast. The dinner menu was varied and the dishes I had were well cooked and homely. There is a comfortable lounge and small bar. This is a pleasant family-run hotel, with character and represents very good value.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bootess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.3 mi away
Wheatlands Lodge Hotel
0.8 mi away
Jorvik Hotel
Jorvik Hotel
#42 of 46 in York
613 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis York Centre
Ibis York Centre
#38 of 46 in York
1,860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Beechwood Close Hotel
Beechwood Close Hotel
#2 of 2 in Clifton
385 reviews
0.2 mi away
Elmbank Hotel
Elmbank Hotel
#45 of 46 in York
1,099 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#32 of 46 in York
1,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holgate Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holgate Hill Hotel

Property: Holgate Hill Hotel
Address: 124 Holgate Road, York YO24 4BB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holgate Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Holgate Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holgate Hill York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing