We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A 'home from home'. Couldn't have been better.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gregory's Guest House
Ranked #24 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
durham
Level Contributor
59 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A 'home from home'. Couldn't have been better.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

There's little I can add to the previous wonderful, well-deserved reviews from other guests.
Whether you're a first time guest or, like my wife and me, returning ones, Martin and Bev offer a great welcome and do everything possible to ensure a great stay.
The locally sourced breakfast ingredients and the homemade bread and preserves are delicious!
The rooms are comfortable, well appointed and spotlessly clean.
Martin and Bev are a 'mine of information' regarding local shops, transport, eating places etc.
We look forward to our next stay at Gregory's.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DurhamGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beatles, Owner at Gregory's Guest House, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
It is always a pleasure when you both come to stay with us in our home. We are so pleased you feel its like 'home from home' you also said 'it couldn't have been better'. Our locally sourced breakfast ingredients really hit spot with you both. Our Butcher is less than a 10 minute walk away from us we source our meat products from him and our free range eggs. You love our homemade breads jams and marmalde we must say they are yummy !! We can honestly say the pleasure is all ours when you stay with us we always look forward to seeing you both. Take care until the next time. Bev & Martin xxxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    39
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
52
242
10
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

My partner and I stayed at Gregory's for two nights on the basis of good reviews found online and we were not disappointed. We appreciated the text message prior to arrival which told us where to park.

We were made to feel very welcome and Martin and Bev were friendly, helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The cooked breakfast was excellent and the room was well appointed and spotlessly clean.

I found the attention to detail really excellent - they have obviously put a lot of thought into what visitors might need - from the homemade cookies to the mat for hair straighteners and make up remover, the little things really do make a difference.

I would have no hesitation in recommending Gregory's to other people.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoeka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beatles, Owner at Gregory's Guest House, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
From your review you wrote we are so pleased to learn that you found us to be very helpful and informative. It's so nice of you to compliment our breakfasts we source all our ingredients locally and our Butcher and Beekeeper are only 10 minutes from us just right on our doorstep !! We make our own breads and cookies for the rooms but our homemade shortbread is a welcome sight with a good cuppa after a long journey. You found all the things you needed in your room from the 'hair straigtners mat to the makeup wipes.' We hope we will see you both soon especially as we have some special offers on at the moment 2 nights £128 and 3 nights £180 Sun - Thurs ( excluding half term) until the 10.4.14 based upon 2 adults sharing. But for now take care and the pleasure was all ours. Martin & Bev xxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

We had come to York with memories of a bad guest house experience in Bath and were extremely pleased to find that this B&B was going to be a wonderful, comfortable experience. This was the third guest house we had stayed in in the UK this trip and was the first to actually carry our bags up to our room. That alone would have been a big tick, but Martin and Bev make their home into your home for the time you stay with them.

The room was well fitted and very comfortable, down to little niceties such as home made shortbread buscuits to have with your tea. The breakfasts are wonderful and really set you up for a days touring around York and it's evirons. Want to know about a tourist site or a restaurant, Martin and Bev will provide you with any information that your require. Plus you get free parking

It was a breath of fresh air and if we ever make it back to York, we would be sure to stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gaynorclare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beatles, Owner at Gregory's Guest House, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
We are so pleased that you really enjoyed your stay here with us you both felt 'it was a great experience.' We try to make everyone that stays with us feel comfortable and you both felt that 'we make our home into your home' which is a great compliment thankyou. Our breakfast's and homeade biscuits and shortbread really hit the spot with you and set you both up for the day. Free on street parking was also an added bonus and the 20 minute walk walk into York along the river was something you both really enjoyed. We were you felt a 'breath of fresh air' and if you ever return to York you both felt that 'you would be sure to stay with us again.' It was such a pleasure having you both stay with us in our home and we too look forward to seeing you both again. But for now take care a Happy New Year to you both and thanks again for your very kind review. Martin & Bev xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

We spent 3 days at this lovely guest house 8-10th December 2013. This is the 8th year on the trot that we have stayed with Martin & Bev because they make you feel so welcome from start to finish of your break. The rooms are as advertised and more. The breakfast sets you up for the day.The added bonus is the free parking, with a lovely walk into York via Rowntree park by the riverside.

Room Tip: Take the lovely riverside walk into York via Rowntree Park
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barnsley2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beatles, Owner at Gregory's Guest House, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
It was so nice to see you both again for the 8th time wow ! We just love having you both to stay in our home you always enjoy the walk into York along the river it is as you say very lovely. As always it is a pleasure it's so nice to keep seeing our repeat customers and what makes it extra special is that you are both such a lovely couple. Well for now take care have a great 2014 and all the very best and we look forward to seeing you for the 9th time lol ! Martin & Bev xxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

I have just returned from a wonderful two night stay at Gregory's Guest House. Wow, the room (#1) was just as described and pictured on the website. Very warm and comfortable with plenty of extras including scrummy homemade biscuits. As for the breakfast, definitely a must and worthy of all the reviews and awards. On the second morning Bev offered me a lighter option ......... as I said, No thanks, I'm on my holidays, full English every time!! Bev and Martin are excellent hosts, helpful and not overbearing. From booking to the welcoming texts prior to arrival, nothing is too much trouble. Will definitely be back, hopefully before not too long. Thank you again, Martin and Bev :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LancasterMeech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beatles, Owner at Gregory's Guest House, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Wow !! thanks so much for your great review we are so pleased we good make your stay a special one. You found us to be very welcoming and you loved our home as much as we do. Our homemade biscults and breakfasts really hit spot with you especially our full English it is a real treat on your hols as you said and why not !! It was such a pleasure meeting you and we look forward to the next time but for now take care. Martin & Bev xxxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

Just returned from a fabulous two night stay at Gregory's guest house. What a find! And it's all credit to Bev and Martin, the welcoming owners! After being shown to our beautifully appointed room, homemade shortbread and coffee were brought for us whilst we settled in and unpacked. Also, lovely extra touches around the bedroom made us think, 'Wow, so glad we chose this establishment!' Breakfast was fantastic! As a vegetarian myself, I certainly wasn't disappointed! So much choice and all lovingly prepared! And homemade bread and preserves too! Fabulous! We also found Bev and Martin to be so knowledgeable about the city and its environs! They were happy to spend time with us recommending walks and restaurants and Martin even booked a time at a local golf course for my husband and golfing partner to play at. We will most definitely be back soon!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pamela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beatles, Owner at Gregory's Guest House, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thanks so much for your very kind review by all accounts you had such a great time. You stayed with us on our special offer which you found on our website 2 nights for £128.00 Sun -Thurs until the 22nd of Dec 2013. You loved our home as much as we do and upon arrival you found us both to be very welcoming. Our shortbread you said was so good along with our homemade breads jams and biscuits you also loved our breakfasts. Whilst you were here Martin was able to put you in touch with the local golf course so that you could book your game of golf. But not all of you went golfing the other half of your party went shopping it sounds good to me !!! Anyhow until the next time take care for now and have a great Christmas and New Year. Martin & Bev xxxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

We stayed here for a few nights back in June and still have such good memories that I wanted to write a review. Martin & Bev were very welcoming, friendly and helpful. The rooms are exactly as advertised and didn't disappoint, provided with everything you could need or want. Upon arrival, welcomed with the most delicous shortbread. The breakfast was AMAZING - cooked to perfection as requested. Think i'd visit again just to have that breakfast again. The walk into York along the river was lovely for my husband and I, but father-in-law did struggle, so just a note of caution. Free on street parking just outside. Really can't fault it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bronwen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beatles, Owner at Gregory's Guest House, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
We are so pleased from reading your review that you had such a good time when you stayed here with us in June. You loved our homemade shortbread and a good cuppa upon arrival which we must say is scummy You found us to be very welcoming hosts and our breakfasts really hit the spot for you all and as you said you 'will be back just for the breakfast's.' The riverside walk as you said is just so pretty and an easy 15/20 minute all on a flat level which is why it's enjoyed by so many people from walkers joggers cyclists and dog walkers. You also found the free on street parking an added bonus. We look forward to seeing you all on your next visit to York but for now take care and bye for now. Martin & Bev xxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.6 mi away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#8 of 192 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,326 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#3 of 192 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bentham Lodge Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ashley House
Ashley House
#16 of 192 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
1.8 mi away
Tower Guest House
Tower Guest House
#5 of 192 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ashbourne House
Ashbourne House
#12 of 192 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gregory's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gregory's Guest House

Property: Gregory's Guest House
Address: 160 Bishopthorpe Road, York YO23 1LF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gregory's Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small & friendly Bed & Breakfast located on the award winning 'Best High Street In The UK''Bishyrd' here on Bishopthorpe Road in York. We have two breakfast awards and a four star and silver award from VisitEngland. All our rooms are en suite with all the essentials towels, shaving point, hairdryer, trouser press, TV, DVD player, free wifi, books maps and tea and coffee making facilities. We offer various options from our Deliciously Yorkshire Breakfast including our full English or other options from our extensive breakfast menu,we also offer a vegetarian,dairy free,and gluten free breakfast. Ample free on-street parking means you can leave your car here at our bed and breakfast and walk along the riverside walk into York.Take care for now and see you soon. Martin & Bev gregorysofyork ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Gregory's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gregory`s Guest House Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing