We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic break!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gregory's Guest House
Ranked #20 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic break!!!!”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We have just returned from a 2 night stay in Wales and stopped in York on our way home to visit friends. We booked at the last minute through Laterooms and so glad we found this place. The b&b was perfectly situated a 10 minute stroll along the beautiful river bank into York. We didn't move the car from the moment we got there.

The b&b itself was spotlessly clean and very accommodating Bev and Martin were on hand to meet your every need with homemade biscuits and tea as soon as you walked through the door. The breakfast was amazing, really good quality food (local sausages and homemade bread, jams and cakes) and lots of it. We had a young baby with us and when we went down for breakfast we found the table set with his high chair already in place, instead of the usual scramble to find a high chair and move chairs away to accomodate the high chair. This small attention to detail demonstrates the level of customer service at this b&b. Breakfast was an enjoyable experience unlike at home!

What we loved was when we got back to the b&b quite late, after a day in York sight seeing, and having a very tired baby, we had hot water bottles in the bed, curtains drawn with a lamp on and the warm heated these small attention to detail was priceless and was like home from home but without the faffin!

We had a fantastic spacious and clean room, we have stayed in rooms as nice as this for double the price! Towels, toiletries and tea and coffee making facilities which were refreshed daily. We have already recommended Gregory's to friends and family. We will definitely be back. Loved it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosanna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beatles, Owner at Gregory's Guest House, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Oh wow your review spoke volumes about your stay here with us thanks for your very kind comments. We are so pleased we could make your stay an enjoyable one especially as you are now both Parents to the most gorgeous baby ! You really enjoyed your walk into York along the riverside walk and it's only 10 mins. We thought the homemade shortbread and cuppa was just what you both needed after a long journey we are glad it hit the spot. Our locally sourced breakfast produce and our homemade jams marmalde and breads 'are great' you said so thanks for that. We are so pleased you loved our homemade biscuits in your room and to cuddle up with a hot water bottle was just perfect for you both. So thanks again for your kind comments we look forward to the next time bye for now Martin & Bev x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    39
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
53
247
10
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Enjoyed a one night stay with Bev and Martyn, friendly and welcoming hosts of Gregory's, Bishopthorpe Rd, York. Great location within 10 minutes walking distance of centre. Clean and comfortable guest house with lots packed in. Home cooking and baking, warm welcome and great breakfast. Our son was moving out of York and we were helping, hence our stay, but if we do visit York again, Gregory's will be our b&b of choice. Very helpful hosts keen to do all they can to make your stay a pleasant one.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann_G55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beatles, Owner at Gregory's Guest House, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your very kind comments. You packed a lot into your 1 night stay here with us and by all accounts a very busy one - moving your son. You loved the walk into York along the riverside walk we must say it is very pretty ! Our 'home cooking baking and our breakfast' was just what you both needed to recharge your batteries.! We look forward to seeing you again next time where you can take in the sights and enjoy what York has to offer. See you soon and bye for now. Martin & Bev xxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 10, 2013

It's been a while since I stayed in a B&B as I usually don't have time to plan and play it safe with hotel chains, so the hospitality I was greeted with from Martin and Bev came as a bit of a shock to the system! We were given tea and delicious homemade biscuits and help with our sightseeing itinerary and when we returned in the evening there were hot water bottles in our bed! The breakfast menu catered for all appetites and our Full English was of good quality (none of those cheap thin sausages!) and well cooked. I'm glad I spent the time to hunt this little gem out. Why can't every place just put that little bit more effort in like this B&B has?

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GH-1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beatles, Owner at Gregory's Guest House, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
We are so pleased you both enjoyed your stay here with in our home and great to learn you loved our hospitality 'a shock to the system.' After a long journey you welcomed our homeade shortbread and a good cuppa just to recharge your batteries ready for sightseeing. Our tips on sightseeing came in handy as you were able to get the most out of your day. Our breakfast really hit the spot and you loved the fact that all our ingredients were sourced locally. Thanks again for your very kind comments we look forward to the next time but for now take care. Martin & Bev xxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

A return visit to Gregory's Guest House and met with an extremely warm welcome. Bev and Martin are excellent hosts and nothing is too much trouble. Home made bread, biscuits and preserves and even a hot water bottle at bed time. If you're looking for home comforts a warm welcome and excellent value for money you can't go wrong with Gregorys. Will definately be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janfturner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beatles, Owner at Gregory's Guest House, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your very kind words as always it was a pleasure having you stay with us. You really love our homemade bread and biscuits and our cosy hotwater bottle. We like to think we are great value for money as you also mentioned. Anyhow bye for now but until next time take care and we hope to see you soon. Martin & Bev xxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Level Contributor
60 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed for two nights whilst on a sightseeing/shopping break in the lovely city of York.
This was a return visit and we certainly weren't disappointed. As other reviewers have noted, Martin and Bev are brilliant hosts, so thoughtful - nothing is too much trouble. We were greeted with coffee and delicious home-made shortcake (still warm) - thankyou!
The rooms are very comfortable with lots of lovely little touches.
The breakfast is delicious! A full English is available with locally sourced ingredients. There's also fresh fruit-salad, cereals, home-made preserves . . .
York city centre is easily accessible on foot. We walked into York along the riverside route, and back along Bishopthorpe Road through a small parade of shops (calling into the greengrocers, bakers and antique shop on the way!).
Gregorys certainly deserves its Tripadvisor rating as one of the most highly rated guest houses in York.
We'll definitely stay here on our next visit to the city.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DurhamGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beatles, Owner at Gregory's Guest House, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
What a lovely review from you both we are so pleased you continue to enjoy your stay here with us we must say that you are truly lovely people. You always say nice things about our shortbread and our breakfasts which you both thoroughly enjoy. We would just like to thank you both for your kind comments about our hospitality and how were are 'great hosts' and 'thoughtful.' You always love staying here with us and the walk into York along the riverside path its your favourite and as you say you can 'walk on foot.' You are both right about our little shops up the road from us Deli Italian and Indian are great places to eat and for more energetic types there is Cycle Heaven a cycle shop. We look forward to the next time but from us both here take care and bye for now. Martin & Bev xxxxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed February 21, 2013

This was our first time in York was made to feel welcome straight away from Martin and Bev we were greeted with tea and the best homemade shortbread I've ever had (sorry nan), Followed by a card on the bed for my girlfriends birthday. its all the little things that add up and thats definitely what you get from staying here with martin and Bev. It was also the first time I had ever stayed in a guest house being young we didn't know what to expect it had to be one of the best places I've stayed at Bev gave us advice as soon as we got there on what to do where to eat. The accommodation itself i could not fault at all it was clean,spacious, quiet and warm all that I wanted. The breakfast set you up for the day with a great choice but I recommend the full English beautiful. The location is ideal shop next door if need be Indian over the road which was very nice as well, and only a short but nice walk into the city of York. Thanks to Martin and Bev who made lauras 20th a great weekend

Craig & Laura

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Craig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beatles, Owner at Gregory's Guest House, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you to you both for such a lovely review we cannot begin to tell you how pleased we were to learn that you both had a great weekend. We were also pleased that we were your first B&B that you had stayed at and by accounts you really enjoyed the experience. We must say that your very comments about our food and homeade shortbread was very well received and thanks for taking the time whilst you were here to say that. We just wish we were both 20 again !! and by all accounts you had an amazing time we are so pleased that we were able to make your stay very special. You are right about the walk into York it is lovely and a ' nice walk.' For now take care and thanks again for your very lovely comments and we look forward to seeing you on your 21st bye for now. Martin & Bev xxxxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Lovely stay here, Bev and Martin made us feel welcome instantly. The rooms were cosy and there were hot water bottles in the bed in the evenings which was a nice touch. Nice breakfasts and a good location, being about 15 mins walk into the centre of York. We didnt drive but there seemed to be plenty of street parking which is handy for York. Thanks for a great weekend!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neha_shah_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beatles, Owner at Gregory's Guest House, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
It's lovely to hear that you will both be back we look forward to it the pleasure was all ours. We are so pleased you liked the welcome sight of a hot water bottle in your bed after returning from a night out something to cuddle up too !! Thanks for your nice comments about our breakfasts and our cosy room. You were right there are plenty of places to park your car and best of all it's free and only a 15 minute walk into York. So bye for now thanks again and we look forward to the next time. Martin & Bev xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.8 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
610 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
0.6 mi away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#7 of 192 in York
1,354 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#4 of 192 in York
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gregory's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gregory's Guest House

Property: Gregory's Guest House
Address: 160 Bishopthorpe Road, York YO23 1LF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gregory's Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small & friendly Bed & Breakfast located on the award winning 'Best High Street In The UK''Bishyrd' here on Bishopthorpe Road in York. We have two breakfast awards and a four star and silver award from VisitEngland. All our rooms are en suite with all the essentials towels, shaving point, hairdryer, trouser press, TV, DVD player, free wifi, books maps and tea and coffee making facilities. We offer various options from our Deliciously Yorkshire Breakfast including our full English or other options from our extensive breakfast menu,we also offer a vegetarian,dairy free,and gluten free breakfast. Ample free on-street parking means you can leave your car here at our bed and breakfast and walk along the riverside walk into York.Take care for now and see you soon. Martin & Bev gregorysofyork ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Gregory's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gregory`s Guest House Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing