We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful host and hostess.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gregory's Guest House
Ranked #26 of 195 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Chose Gregory's based on photos from website and trip adviser reviews. As others we were met at the door by Martin and taken to our room up at the top of the house. We needed a twin room and I suppose this was the only one they had. The staircase was very narrow and steep and the room, although spotlessly clean with all the amenities, was terribly small. The breakfast was fresh and delicious but the decor could use a bit of updating. Info on where to go and what to see was an added bonus. Kitchen was spotless which sold me.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Kris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beatles, Owner at Gregory's Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

We feel it is important to respond to reviews about our home so that we can maintain and improve our level of customer satisfaction. It was lovely to hear from the Guests that we were wonderful hosts and that the information about where to go in York during their stay here with us was 'an added bonus.' The Guests felt that our home was clean even the kitchen 'the kitchen was spotless which sold me.' 'The breakfast the Guests felt was 'delicious' we believe that going that extra mile for good quality ingredients is well worth it. Our meat products are sourced locally from our Butcher and even our honey from the local Bee Keeper. The Guests loved our homemade jams marmalade and freshly baked breads which we remember from their stay here with us. All the information about what we offer is available on our website in the access statement section. This information includes where the rooms are located and other essential information so that Guests can make an informed decision about whether the rooms are suitable for their needs. Our modern decor we feel is important to make everyone who stays with us relaxed with that home from home experience. We can only feel that this particular Guest's taste in decor is more on the traditional side and we understand that it would not be for everyones tastes to be the same.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (405)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 405 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

My wife and I were visiting from the US as tourists and chose Gregory's based on their website and many excellent reviews. We were met at the door as our cab arrived from the train station by Martin who showed us to our room and brought tea and coffee and short bread which was so welcome after being on a plane then train for 11 hours. The facility was so cozy and absolutely spotless. Our stay was 4 nights with 4 of Bev's marvelous breakfasts with a wide choice and fresh from the kitchen. Most of all their tips on what to do and WHEN to do it were invaluable and saved us a lot of time. They pointed out the free walking tour of the city each day at in the morning and afternoon that none of the guide material mentioned. Easy walking distance from city center on a pretty promenade along the river. The tours were outstanding. If going to York don't miss Gregory's guest House for a great experience.

Room Tip: Room 2 is up only one flight and good for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Nice comfortable stay. Bev and Martin are friendly and helpful making us feel very welcome. Room was clean and tidy but a little on the small side, with some modern features but, negatively, some rather rustic & unattractive ones like the hardboard doors. Tea and coffee making facilities in the room and a lovely flat screen TV with lots of channels. The bed for me was a little springy & a little squeaky and not as comfortable as I would have preferred. The house is not a modern property so you have to be forgiving of creaks and squeaks. Breakfast was good, although served within only a 30 minute time slot. Great location and lovely 15 minute walk into town along the river. Plenty of street parking with no restrictions.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

My partner and i stayed at gregorys guest house for 3 nights on the 10th of August 2012. We both can not speak highly enough of our hosts Bev and martin, once we had arrived we were taken to our room and were then given coffee and warm homemade shortbread.....delicious! The room was perfect, very clean and tidy with a lovely shower. The breakfasts were amazing with a fantastic choice....nothing is too much trouble. Whilst staying my partner and i got engaged and when we returned to the guest house to our surprise bev and martin had left a card, chocs and a balloon in our room.....so thoughtful. Thankyou Bev and martin for a wonderful stay, we will definately be back. Matthew and Lorraine

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorraine b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Stayed in the twin room for one night. Bev & Martin were great hosts and made us feel more than welcome. The attic room was bigger than I expected after I had read previous reviews. We certainly didn’t feel cramped. Considering it was the attic room the bathroom facilities were also adequate and the shower pressure good. Regarding the comments some people had previously made regarding the Lshaped dining area, we were expecting to be eating in some cramped space. This wasn’t the case. The dining area to us was light and airy and there was an outside view onto a patio area. It more than a pleasant place to eat as far as we were concerned. Breakfast was great with a choice of options and dietary issues are taken into consideration. The place was clean and welcoming and Bev was more than helpful with giving information on where to eat. Martin was a hero with helping us upstairs with our cases on arrival and helping us get them down on leaving. Cheers! Even booking a taxi for us wasn’t too much trouble. On visiting York previously we had stayed at a guesthouse with a higher rating on trip adviser. We were intending to stay there again but no rooms were available. However, after visiting Gregory’s this would now be our preferred choice in future as we felt the service offered was much better. It really made a difference that they had time for us and didn’t appear to be hidden away. Thanks to them both for their hospitality! As far as we were concerned this place is great value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teresa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We chose Gregory's after reading all the excellent reviews on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed! We stayed for three nights and had such a lovely time, we are already planning to stay again. The room was of an excellent standard, and cleaned/tidied everyday. Breakfast was delicious and there was plenty of choice. Finally, Bev and Martin were an absolute delight! Such lovely people, very welcoming, helpful and overall great hosts. We would strongly recommend that anybody staying in York visit Gregory's!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RobTess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed for two nights, and were very impressed with Gregory's. We were met with homemade shortbread and a luxurious room. Martin and especially Bev had lots of good advice about restaurants to go to, and sites to see. Breakfast was delicious and we were well looked after.
It is an attractive 15 minute walk to the City Center and a 5 minute taxi ride to the station.
If I were to return to York, I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Matthew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.6 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#6 of 195 in York
365 reviews
0.6 mi away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#7 of 195 in York
1,460 reviews
1.2 mi away
Alcuin Lodge
Alcuin Lodge
#3 of 195 in York
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Apple House Guest Accommodation
1.3 mi away
City Guest House
City Guest House
#39 of 195 in York
181 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#2 of 195 in York
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gregory's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gregory's Guest House

Address: 160 Bishopthorpe Road, York YO23 1LF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 195 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: $104 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gregory's Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small & friendly Bed & Breakfast located on the award winning 'Best High Street In The UK''Bishyrd' here on Bishopthorpe Road in York. We have two breakfast awards and a four star and silver award from VisitEngland. All our rooms are en suite with all the essentials towels, shaving point, hairdryer, trouser press, TV, DVD player, free wifi, books maps and tea and coffee making facilities. We offer various options from our Deliciously Yorkshire Breakfast including our full English or other options from our extensive breakfast menu,we also offer a vegetarian,dairy free,and gluten free breakfast. Ample free on-street parking means you can leave your car here at our bed and breakfast and walk along the riverside walk into York.Take care for now and see you soon. Martin & Bev gregorysofyork ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gregory`s Guest House Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing