We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice B&B for our 1 night stopover”
Review of The Saxon House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Saxon House
Ranked #117 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We booked The Saxon House for a 1 night stopover to watch snooker at The Barbican. Very helpful lady and nice room. A large old converted house, so don't expect all mod-cons. Comfy bed, tea and coffee and a lovely breakfast ... possibly the best bacon I've tasted for a long while. Lady owner gave us map, expert directions to the Barbican and suggested we eat that evening at the Masons Arms (lovely pub grub ... try it). Also very helpful with directions to the National Railway Museum via the river footpath. We enjoyed our short stay there and would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back of the house so no traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grumpyg49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (231)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 231 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Booked a short stay as a surprise for our cousins from Ireland. We wanted it to be special for a number of reasons & The Saxon House did not disappoint. Check in was smooth, the apartment was spotless, lovely & warm, beautifully fitted out (modern contemporary style), great sized bedrooms, breakfast pack, fizz & chocs (for b'day). Had a fantastic time in York itself, so many amazing places to visit & the accommodation was the icing on the cake.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed four nights in October in the self catering flat. It was perfect, lovely decor, clean and modern and a great place to stay if you want to be independent. No rushing up for breakfast and you can just stay in all day and relax if you want! Food provided for breakfast was good and lasted all four days, cereal, bread, yoghurts, juice etc. we did cook a couple if times in the evening which made a nice change to having to eat out every night and we proved the smoke alarms work very effectively! A great location too just by a bus stop, but also walkable into the city. I think people should note most of the negative reviews on here are very old, so I guess can be ignored ! I would recommend!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob-Watk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

Booked into the Saxon house 22/10/2013 for an overnight stay. On booking in we was greeted by the owner/ lady who was great, friendly and very helpful. We confirmed this booking was for our honeymoon and was given a nice bottle of red wine. We was also given pamphlets on what we could do whilst in York. Our room was at the top (3rd floor) and was great. Parking to the rear of the building can be rather tight but if you think about it these buildings were built in the 1800's so don't have a go at the owners they can't add anymore land. It's ample enough!! We had a brilliant overnight stay here and chatting with the lady over breakfast she told us the history of the property (it's huge inside) breakfast is just what you need. Full English and a cup of tea or coffee. As well as cereal if you want. Once we'd finished our full English we was asked if we'd like anything else. Nice touch that. Didn't feel like we had to eat and move on like so many B&Bs around the UK. We will be staying here again next year. First time in York for my wife & I and we loved everything about it. We will be booking back into the Saxon again. Take it from me. Forget reading reviews they can put you off. Try it and make your own mind up its what we use to do before "Trip advisor"

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Holophyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Good points - Great location just a few minutes walk into York. Our room was at the back so not too noisy, and we had a parking space without problems.
Bad points - The bed was very uncomfortable, the top sheet was torn, the bathroom sink despite not being obviously blocked was giving out a permanent bad odour, the land lady was quite jolly with us but we did witness her obvious irritation with another guest and in front of all other breakfast diners too. Breakfast table a bit grubby even before we had eaten. Would not go back and would not recommend. Sorry.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spinach25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed here for two nights and was more than satisfied. Friendly and efficient staff, a good room cleaned to a good standard with plenty of free parking available and enjoyable breakfasts all contributed to a very good stay. The Saxon is in a great location and is very good value for money. I would recommend the place to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theboyem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Good room, very clean. Comfortable bed. Friendly staff. Great breakfast. Good location within walking distance of the town centre. If you're looking for a reasonably priced place to stay in York then the Saxon House is the place for you.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Brandersnatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
3.8 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
1.6 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,161 reviews
6.2 mi away
Harmony House
Harmony House
#1 of 1 in Stillingfleet
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
7.1 mi away
Claxton Hall Cottage B&B
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Saxon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Saxon House

Address: 71/73 Fulford Road | Fishergate, York YO10 4BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: $80 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Saxon House 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Saxon House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Saxon House Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing