We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money”
Review of The Saxon House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Saxon House
Ranked #117 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Normally when we go to York we stay at a pub down the road, but this time I thought I would try something different, and I'm glad I did.

We got there ridiculously early, they were still cleaning the rooms, but the guys were perfectly OK with it. Obviously we couldn't get our bags and stuff in the room till later, but we were shown where we were going to be and directed to the free car park at the rear of the hotel. That in itself makes it a worthy choice as parking is at a premium in York.

The room itself was clean - with a clever idea for making the most of the room size - a folding bathroom door. Everything needed for a stay was there as well as free wifi - when I eventually worked out which connection to use. The instructions on display in the room were slightly wrong, but that is a VERY minor quibble.

Breakfast was lovely - and served very quickly and pleasantly. My personal hate in a breakfast area is some places have abject silence in them - thankfully this wasn't one - they had the local radion station on. Why other places can't do this is beyond me.

All in all, a top value place. Worth a £59 price for a night - would definitely go again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank owen222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (226)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 226 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2012

Just got back from a 2 night stay at The Saxon House.What can a say the owner is a really nice lady nice and down to earth. She gave my fiance an i a free upgrade to the four poster bedroom which was a nice suprise.Our room was nice and clean the bed sheets smelt lovely and fresh.Breakfast was gorgeous grilled not fried which is what i like. We will 100% be returning to this b and b next year.Dont understand why anyone who write a bad review on The Saxon. Must have something wrong with them!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachtommo m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed at Saxon house for 2 nights at end of October with my husband daughter son in law and 3 year old grandson. We had two rooms on the top floor. Quite a few stairs to get to the rooms but we were not disapointed as both rooms were very big and well equipped. The Saxon is situated about 10 mins walk from the main attractions. Our days started with a good full English breakfast which set us up for the day. After spending the day in own it was nice to go back to the Saxon with a bottle of wine and sit in the visitors lounge and watch TV. We were made very welcome and nothing was of too much trouble. Nearby is a pub called the masons arm just turn right out of the Saxon and walk about 100 yds for a lovely meal. Can't wait to return to York and will certainly stay at the Saxon house gain

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimhilary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

My friend and I stayed at the Saxon House in York for one night. We were in town to see a concert at the York Barbican and this property was only a (less than) five minute walk away from the venue.

We arrived around 3pm for check-in. The front door was locked, but after ringing the bell three times a friendly young man came to greet us and check us in. He explained that we would have access to the inner and outer doors of the property as well as our own room (three keys), so as the reception desk was unmanned, we’d never have any problems getting into the hotel.

We had room number 7, which was on the ground floor and literally just down the hall from the reception desk. It was quite a good size, with both a double bed and a single bed, work desk, and a gorgeous old fireplace. We had a kettle with instant coffee and teabags.
The en suite bathroom was just to the front of the room, down two small stairs. (I was very concerned that I might trip/fall during the night, but thankfully, this didn’t happen). Basic amenities such as clean towels, soap, shampoo all provided.

At check in, we were given the Wifi access information and code (included in the price of our room) , which worked perfectly during our visit.

Despite my initial concern about our room being right by reception (and potentially noisy), it was quite the contrary. After entering the room, there is a secondary, heavy door to close which significantly blocks any noises from coming in off the corridor. The window looks out onto a courtyard/parking lot, so again, not much noise.
The ladies cooking/serving breakfast were also lovely. They served a cooked-to-order full English (vegetarian option as well), but also had a variety of dried cereals and yogurt on hand.

I couldn’t have asked for much more from the Saxon House. I have been to York numerous times and have stayed at different properties, but this was my first time at this hotel. I would certainly look to return upon a future trip to York.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

just enjoyed a great night at this lovely B and B. The staff were really lovely,friendly and very helpful with directions and local information. The rooms were huge,bathrooms clean and modern. Breakfast was excellent. The Saxon House is situated just a short walk to the old town. Would recommend this place to any traveller.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amanda m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Would happily recommend this B&B to anyone looking for reasonably priced accommodation in York: location is good, rooms clean, breakfast worth getting up for.
Would be good if they had a proper table in the room and the decor is a bit tired, but that is a minor quibble.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mouth_of_flowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed in a 4 poster bedroom which was lovely, we had a warm welcome on arrival. Staff were so nice even when we managed to lock ourselves out of our room . The full Engish breakfast in the morning was excellent, Saxon House is well placed, just a short riverside walk to Cliffords Tower and The Castle Museum and the onsite parking is an added bonus. We would highly recommend it and would love to come back again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Holly Lodge
The Holly Lodge
#144 of 194 in York
70 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lighthorseman
Lighthorseman
#84 of 194 in York
195 reviews
0.0 mi away
Moorgarth Guest House
Moorgarth Guest House
#47 of 194 in York
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Diamonds Guest House
Diamonds Guest House
#118 of 194 in York
113 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holmlea Guest House
Holmlea Guest House
#63 of 194 in York
166 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Limes
The Limes
#26 of 194 in York
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Saxon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Saxon House

Address: 71/73 Fulford Road | Fishergate, York YO10 4BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: $77 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Saxon House 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Saxon House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Saxon House Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing