We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old but full of character”
Review of Lighthorseman

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lighthorseman
Ranked #81 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 18, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at The Lighthorseman. The first time was last August for 2 nights, and have just stayed again for one night. It is very very old, but this adds to the character of the place, so if you are looking for plush and modern, this is not the place for you. It has the oldest original Victorian bar in York with many other features still as it was a long time ago. It has got new owners/tenants who are quite young and are putting their own personal touches to the place - a new pool table and new wall-mounted flat screen TV's for a start. The breakfasts are excellent value, and the restaurant is Italian until 9,00pm. Very good it is too. Ample car parking and friendly staff. Reasonable B&B prices too for a major tourist city like York. And it's only a 10 to 15 minute walk along the river to the city attractions. One gripe; the heating was not on in the evening in rooms which made them quite cold. An unnecessary economy?

Room Tip: The cheaper rooms are small, but not in them long enough to worry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (195)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 195 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stayed here this weekend for 2 nights with my partner, we found it to be very noisy both nights, should have gave it more thought saying as its a pub! Not the best place to stay if you are a couple wanting a quiet holiday, would be better for people going to York for a party weekend as you could probably join in the party downstairs!
The room it's self was very basic- clean, nice bed, a tv etc however the plumbing in our room was terrible. The toilet did not flush very well so had to ration on toilet paper and it was very loud for a significant amount of time after flushing. It also made the bathroom smell like a sewer when you flushed which wasn't very pleasant at all.
It is in a very good area, just a lovely short walk along the river front to the main stretch however I think I will stay elsewhere next time I'm in York!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bpattz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We decided to take a chance and go for the Easter Sunday lunch and Easter egg hunt..so pleased we did. This is a beautiful Victorian pub with all the original features and a really warm welcoming atmosphere. The Sunday lunch was great we asked the chef where his beef was from and he sources all his meat and vegetables from local butchers and shops and you could tell!.
Our little girl had spaghetti and at last she got a proper Italian spaghetti with fresh tomatoes and no sign of a Dolmio!.
The owners then had an Easter Egg hunt for the children which they loved... Lindt bunnies everywhere.
If you are visiting York and need a great breakfast to set you on and then a welcoming pub with great food before you go home then you cannot get better than here.
Thank you for making our Easter Sunday a lovely family day.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrissycav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Lighthorseman, York

I am writing this review from my recent visit to York where I stayed at The Lighthorseman. I stayed on Friday the 23rd March 2013, arrived at just after 5pm, was shown on the way to room 5 the dinning & bar area it was explained to me about the parking and was offered to leave my car there for a few hour the next day if I needed to which I thought was good.

Once in the room first impression where that it had just been recently decorated and wallpaper looked clean and new, however on closure inspection of certain areas picture frames top of wardrobe was very dusty and clearly hadn’t been cleaned in a while as it was grey dust and was thick. The dust continued into the bathroom and the small tile ledge above the sink. The bathroom did have a slight smell to it due to the plumbing system being used, a simple air-freshener would have solved that issue.

The bed was clean, room had a TV with freeview channels and free Wi-Fi was available and a small safe was also available. There was also tea and coffee making facilities but the water glass was dirty. The room was warm but the heating was not controllable as there was no thermostat on it to adjust and the bed was right next to it so it was rather cosy.

I decided to have my evening meal there, there was 2 places to eat the bar area and the dining room. There was an extensive menu with starters, mains & desserts with a good selection of choices in each category. I had lasagne and chips was served with a bread basket, the food was piping hot and a good portion for £7.95, chips where a bit disappointing more like French fries thin and greasy £3.00 (8-10 homemade chips per portion would be far better).

I went to my room at about 8.45, was still awake at 12 midnight due to the noise from the bar, music and singing. This continued for another hour and after a 300 mile journey you just want a decent night’s sleep. I tolerated this for as long as I could, I have already decided that I was going to miss breakfast. But at 1.10am I decided enough was enough and got dressed packed my bag went down stairs to leave. On going downstairs there was still people in the bar, music etc I said the member of staff (same person who showed me my room, but maybe after a couple of drinks himself) if I cant get to sleep then I would as well leaving and going somewhere else, his reply was I’ll kill the music. By this time I just wanted to leave, which I did 1.20am went to Travelodge where I got a room peace and quiet.

The main thing I would say is that this location serves 3 different purposes Pub, Restaurant & B&B, individually am sure they would be good places but all 3 together doesn’t work. I think it could work if there was more attention to detail, the pub has to appreciate that there is 8 rooms above it and disruptions like that till that time of the morning shouldn’t happen. The room needs cleaned properly everyday wouldn’t take long to run a damp cloth along the surfaces would only take a few minutes and make such a difference. Overall I scored Average but was close to being poor if being honest due to cleanliness of room and the events that occurred later in the evening.

I would encourage the management to read this review and take action on the points raised, it’s a shame that mu visit ended in this way but under the circumstances I felt it was the best action for me to take. This in my opinion is a fair review of The Lighthorseman and is based on facts of what happened

Room Tip: I was in Room 5 Single bedded room, if attention to detail about cleaning was more it would a nice r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2015, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teadrinker00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank agnesthc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dannyboyyork, Owner at Lighthorseman, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Não tem elevador.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Miguel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Moorgarth Guest House
Moorgarth Guest House
#46 of 194 in York
41 reviews
0.1 mi away
The York Priory
The York Priory
#36 of 194 in York
511 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holgate Bridge Hotel
Holgate Bridge Hotel
#86 of 194 in York
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Farthings Guest House
Farthings Guest House
#51 of 194 in York
204 reviews
0.1 mi away
Friars Rest Guest House
0.1 mi away
The Saxon House
The Saxon House
#115 of 194 in York
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lighthorseman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lighthorseman

Address: 124 Fulford Road, York YO10 4BE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: $69 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lighthorseman 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Lighthorseman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lighthorseman Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing