We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A most enjoyable stay, friendly owners made us welcome”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bowen House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bowen House
Ranked #43 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“A most enjoyable stay, friendly owners made us welcome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2010

We were at the Races at York and this B&B was just what we wanted. Its about averagely priced for York, but its in a Good location, with great hosts, comfortable, clean and with a hearty breakfast. They really do seem to do as much as they can for you, and nothing was a problem. No hesitation in recommending fully

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blueboybrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    35
    4
    6
    1
See reviews for
18
125
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2010

stayed at the bowen house 12-15 june 2010, well what can we say except thankyou to diana and peter for such a lovely break. our room was spotless and had a very relaxing feel to it,i.e. home from home, and after being in york all day it was nice to get back and chill out. this is a wee gem,real value for money ,both of us would agree dont miss this one.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willhay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guildford
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2010

I love York as a place to visit and this trip proved to be equally memorable, Debbie gave me a warm welcome on arrival, nothing was to much trouble over the 4 days. The standard of furnishings , facilities and cleanliness were above my expectations, you even get a bar of chocolate by the bed !!. I enjoyed 3 good nights sleep and ate full and varied breakfasts. The Bowen is a short walk from the Minister , there was nothing better than hearing the bells ringing while drinking your tea and soaking up the summer sunshine. I will certainly be back to stay with Debbie and enjoy the yorkshire hospitality..

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank puskinGuildford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2010

A great guest house, ideally situated near York Minster. We have stayed here twice now since the new owners took over, and once when the previous owners owned the guest house.
The new owners are a delight and are very accomodating to both my partner and I, and my small dog!. The room we had on both occasions were situated at the top of the guest house, and were both immaculate, clean and modern. The bed was very comfortable indeed and the bathrooms have both been an impressive size. It is eveident that the owners, Diane and Peter clearly take great care of the place.
There is parking at the side of the guest house, so this has never been a problem for us, and you can get a permit if there is no room.
The breakfast is just fantastic and is a real bonus to the stay, i think its the best breakfast i have ever had in a guest house!
Overall, i would definetly recommend this hotel to anyone. We are looking forward to visiting York again and hope to book into Bowen House again sometime soon.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiddly_oggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2010

If you are looking for a family run place to stay, this is it. About a 10 minute walk outside York, it is a small B&B, which the owners had just taken over in November 2009.

I was visiting York with my husband and friends. Our rooms were immaculately clean. My only criticism would be that I felt, for me, our en-suite bathroom was just a little too small, so if a larger person was using this room, they would definitely struggle to get in and out of the en-suite. My husband didn't sleep too well, but I think it was a combination of noisy football supporters outside and as it was warm outside, the heat. Myself and our friends slept well in comfortable beds.

Breakfast was terrific. Well cooked food, and nothing seemed to be a problem. No matter what we asked for, we got it.

We wish the owners every success with their venture and I hope we will stay at the Bowen House again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2010

Accompanied by my wife and two teenage children we stayed two nights at Bowen House, occupying a double and a twin bedroom.

Although the surrounding streets are subject to resident parking restrictions and public car parks within York are quite expensive I am pleased to say that the Bowen has car parking facilities at the rear of the property.

Upon arrival we were greeted by Dianne who was very welcoming and keen to ensure everything was satisfactory. In addition to showing us to our first floor rooms and explaning where everything was, she also took the trouble to provide us with a tourist guide including map and pointed out exactly where we were and how to get into the City.A small but much appreciated additional touch.

Our double room was nicely decorated and whilst I was initially concerned as to passing vehicle noise, the room overlooked the main road, this was ill founded. Even with the window open due to the heat the noise was unobtrusive. The ensuite facilities, whilst small were spotless and functional. Bed/bathroom linen etc was clean and fresh whilst ample tea/coffee/hot cholcolate was available.

My teenagers shared a twin room which again was nicely decorated with fresh and clean linen. They had use of a bathroom at the end of the corridor, this being for their sole use. The fact it was not en suite was of no consequence to our family.

Unsuprisingly given the welcome and quality of the rooms the breakfast was of a very high standard. A cheery greeting from Dianne and Peter followed by a quick guide to the selection of fruit juices, cereals and fresh fruit. ample supply of tea and coffee preceded an excellent full cooked breakfast, toast and preserves.

Suitably sustained for a days sighteeing it was out of the front door and within a 10 minute, very gentle stroll, we were in "the Shambles" and next to York Minister. The close proximity meant we were able to pop back to the Bowen for a quick freshen up later in the day before heading again into York for evening dinner.

I would thoroughly recommend the Bowen for anyone wishing to explore York or the surrounding countryside.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aberboyessex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2010

We stayed at Bowen house for 2 nights and were looked after really well by Diane and Peter. Northing was too much trouble, they are a really friendly couple. The room was lovely with really nice extra touches, fresh flowers, chocolates and a beutifully laid tray with tea/coffee/hot chocolate and biscuits. Breakfast was truly amazing, lovely and hot and a great choice. I would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zoeandalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
1.2 mi away
Brentwood Guest House
Brentwood Guest House
#50 of 192 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
1.8 mi away
Barbican House
Barbican House
#37 of 192 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#2 of 192 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Feversham Lodge Guest House
2.7 mi away
Ashbourne House
Ashbourne House
#12 of 192 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
1.5 mi away
Alcuin Lodge
Alcuin Lodge
#4 of 192 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bowen House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bowen House

Property: Bowen House
Address: Huntington Road | Huntington Road, York YO31 8RF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bowen House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Diane and Peter offer a warm Yorkshire welcome at Bowen House. It’s a 10 minute stroll from the famous Shambles and York Minster. We offer five comfortable rooms, each has a TV, radio, tea and coffee making facilities, towels and toiletries. Free Wi-Fi and private off-street parking are available. Start your day with a hearty breakfast in the bright and airy conservatory. The extensive menu includes a traditional full English breakfast. Special and vegetarian diets can be catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bowen House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing