We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly”
Review of Bowen House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bowen House
Ranked #40 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We arrived on Sunday for a one night stay.As my wife had a bad knee and had one crutch the owner got her son to take us into York and gave us details of a taxi company so we could get back.The room was very nice and the bed very comfortable it also had a fantastic shower.We came done for breakfast on Monday morning and was greated by a very pleasant girl who was surving .The breakfast which was on offer was fantastic.I would certainly stay there again if I was on the area.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
There are newer reviews for Bowen House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 196 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

Since I have done a fair bit of travel in Europe of late, it is to be expected that rooms will not be large. However, my room with two single beds was difficult to even move around in. The pie shaped room which was the size of a walk in closet, was meant for one not two by anyones standards! The bathroom located down the hall, was tricky too. One had to remember to flip the shower switch outside the bathroom before entering. Then you were either scalded or frozen with the lightest touch of the dial. Even the toilet was not always willing to flush! Most important BowenHouse is clean and in a safe area, ten minutes walk into town. Owners were pleasant and helpful. Breakfast is made to order and served in a lovely room. However, overall just an average rating.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rileyboy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

A great find a short distance walk from centre of York. This was actually our 2nd stay in room 1 the twin room. While it is small it has very comfy beds, a good sized wardrobe, chest of drawers, bed side table and a chair as well as tea making facilities. The private bathroom for this room is a good size and spotlessly clean and is a few steps from the room. Breakfast was lovely and plentiful. Serving staff very helpful and Diane the host made a point of chatting with us about our plans for the day which was nice. Couldn't find fault and wouldn't hesitate to recommend to friends. Will certainly return.

Room Tip: Don't think there would be a problem with any room as lovely and clean throughout
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sgribbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Great little guesthouse set in an impressive Victorian (I guess!) property.

Room 3 was very good, clean, comfortable with a good bathroom. Breakfast was also very good.

Best thing is the location though - 10 mins walk and you are through Monk Bar at almost at the minster.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank c33kay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Good location, an easy 10 minute walk into York and a good price. Small but comfortable room with all necessary amenities although the free wifi couldn't quite reach up to our room on the top floor. Breakfast was ok. Wasn't blown away but equally wasn't disappointed and it was well priced for what you got and we had everything that we needed for our stay. Hosts were pleasant people and helpful. We could hear the room next door but luckily they went to bed and rose at a similar time to us. There is parking but it is a squeeze and some car rotation was required at breakfast time to ensure that no-one was blocking you in. Overall would happily recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rmdbfn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Located just outside the wall's of York this B&B is a must stay when visiting the area. Its central location means all attractions are within walking distance. The furthest away being the railway museum. This is roughly half an hours walk. The room in which we stayed was immaculate (cleaned each day) and perfectly kitted out for our stay. On arrival Diane was kind enough to provide us with a local map and numerous vouchers for local attractions. The breakfast service was exceptional offering a full English breakfast with great quality local produce. There was also a choice of cereals, fruit, croissants, yogurts, brown or white toast and several jams. If this didn't take your fancy at breakfast Diane was also more than happy to make poached eggs on toast and other special requests.
We thoroughly enjoyed are stay and hope to have the pleasure of visiting in the near future.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickandAmyWXM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We arrived a little early one Friday lunchtime, to be greeted by Peter, and as we had two cars for one room, which they were not expecting, and I didn't think to mention previously, Peter very kindly assisted us in parking up the cars, and moving theirs to accomodate ours!

The house was spotless, we had room 4, as there was 3 of us. It was lovely adn airy and has a good view. The breakfast was superb, very tasty adn filled us up all morning!

Peter was so helpful in recommending places to visit, restaurants and taxi firms.

I would definately stay here again, excellent!

Room Tip: We had room 4, right at the top of the house, overlooking the main road, but it did not disturb us...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank birch22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.3 mi away
City Guest House
City Guest House
#44 of 194 in York
175 reviews
0.9 mi away
Burton Stone Inn
Burton Stone Inn
#22 of 194 in York
196 reviews
0.7 mi away
Airden House
Airden House
#52 of 194 in York
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Barbican House
Barbican House
#29 of 194 in York
415 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#2 of 194 in York
871 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ashbourne House
Ashbourne House
#12 of 194 in York
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bowen House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bowen House

Address: Huntington Road | Huntington Road, York YO31 8RF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: $98 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bowen House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Diane and Peter offer a warm Yorkshire welcome at Bowen House. It’s a 10 minute stroll from the famous Shambles and York Minster. We offer five comfortable rooms, each has a TV, radio, tea and coffee making facilities, towels and toiletries. Free Wi-Fi and private off-street parking are available. Start your day with a hearty breakfast in the bright and airy conservatory. The extensive menu includes a traditional full English breakfast. Special and vegetarian diets can be catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bowen House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing