We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find!!”
Review of Bowen House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bowen House
Ranked #38 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Derbyshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a find!!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We arrived a little early one Friday lunchtime, to be greeted by Peter, and as we had two cars for one room, which they were not expecting, and I didn't think to mention previously, Peter very kindly assisted us in parking up the cars, and moving theirs to accomodate ours!

The house was spotless, we had room 4, as there was 3 of us. It was lovely adn airy and has a good view. The breakfast was superb, very tasty adn filled us up all morning!

Peter was so helpful in recommending places to visit, restaurants and taxi firms.

I would definately stay here again, excellent!

Room Tip: We had room 4, right at the top of the house, overlooking the main road, but it did not disturb us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank birch22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    36
    4
    6
    1
See reviews for
18
136
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 18, 2013

As a family who visit York regularly my biggest disappointment is we did not discover Bowen House sooner!! On arrival we were greeted by Diane. We were booked into rooms 4 and 5,4 being the larger of the two but both were spotless. Both en suites were of good proportion and also spotless. Breakfast at Bowen House is something else, my mum is vegetarian and was catered for without issue and the portion size and quality of ingredients used in all food served here is second to none. At breakfast Diane took an interest in what our plans were,where we were going and offered suggestions to make our stay even more pleasurable. Having now discovered Bowen House i would make this my go to B&B in York the location ,the cleanliness ,the breakfast,the service make it hard not to and Diane and Peter are great hosts .

Room Tip: Rooms 4 and 5 are at top of house ,quiet and homely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Over the weekend, my partner and I got married in York and we stayed at Bowen House, along with friends. Diane and Peter made my partner feel extremely welcomed - assisted where they could and made her wedding preparations go to plan. They really couldn't have done more to help, especially when my car broke down and they took control of the situation and arranged a local garage to do the repairs. We booked all 5 rooms for the wedding party and all guests agreed that they would stay again in the future, we are even thinking of arranging a small group weekend away in the coming months.

Both my partner and I would highly recommend Bowen House if you are looking for somewhere clean, comfortable, welcoming, convenient to York City Centre, fantastic hosts, great food, homely facilities and with car parking.

Room Tip: Room 3 is a very good size with en suite bathroom - all of the rooms have a lot of character so any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hudson_pa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We took advantage of the 3 nights for the price of 2 offer and were not disappointed. We stayed in room 3 which I would highly recommend. We had plenty of space and a nice en suite bathroom which has shower, sink and toilet. The bathroom is entered by going down 2 or 3 stairs in the room but not a problem for us and part of the character of this kind of property. The mattress was a very soft one. Nothing was too much trouble for Diane who provided a lovely breakfast each morning and booked us a taxi at the end of our stay. We have stayed in many B&Bs and this is in my top 3.

Room Tip: Room 3 based on other travellers reviews of the other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuffolkEngineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffs
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed at the Bowen House for a weekend (15-17th March) and really found it to be a lovely b&b, probably one of the cleanest b&b's we've ever stayed in. We rented two rooms, room1 which is the twin room and yes I would agree with other members that this room is not suitable for two adults as it is vey small and cramped and you have a separate bathroom down a few stairs on a short landing at the top of the main stairway.
Room 2 was our other room, and although this was much better as far as space is concerned and facilities were very good the only let down,especially if your tall & well built, is the ensuite, it is tiny to the extent that you are virtually sitting under the sink when your on the toilet.
Please do not take these view of the rooms as someone moaning they are simply the facts and everything else we experienced at the Bowen was superb, Peter & Diane run a great b&b a breakfast was a treat,and for us it is located just right a 10 min walk into the city.

Room Tip: Try to stay away from the twin room if possible if your adults,great for the kids though
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StvP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rotherham
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Our 3rd stay at bowen house,as aways Peter and Diane do every thing possible to make your stay perfect.Rooms lovely and clean,Breakfast choice is excellent .
location is also perfect for york centre ,and visiting surrounding areas,whitby ect .
We will be returning soon

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ginotti31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

My husband booked us in to Bowen House for 3 nights, as a surprise, to celebrate my brithday. We've had a fabulous time. Lovely comfortable room, fantastic breakfasts and friendly service.

We felt that Diane couldn't do enough for us. She even booked me a hair appointment ready for my big birthday dinner.

We stayed in room 3. We found it very comfortable, with plenty of space. We slept well our whole visit, and woke up refreshed ready for our tasty breakfast. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ju1234_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.3 mi away
City Guest House
City Guest House
#43 of 192 in York
171 reviews
0.5 mi away
Heworth Guest House
Heworth Guest House
#40 of 192 in York
320 reviews
1.0 mi away
Barbican House
Barbican House
#30 of 192 in York
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Monkgate Guest House
Monkgate Guest House
#69 of 192 in York
138 reviews
1.4 mi away
Farthings Guest House
Farthings Guest House
#50 of 192 in York
197 reviews
0.9 mi away
Waggon & Horses
Waggon & Horses
#33 of 192 in York
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bowen House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bowen House

Property: Bowen House
Address: Huntington Road | Huntington Road, York YO31 8RF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bowen House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Diane and Peter offer a warm Yorkshire welcome at Bowen House. It’s a 10 minute stroll from the famous Shambles and York Minster. We offer five comfortable rooms, each has a TV, radio, tea and coffee making facilities, towels and toiletries. Free Wi-Fi and private off-street parking are available. Start your day with a hearty breakfast in the bright and airy conservatory. The extensive menu includes a traditional full English breakfast. Special and vegetarian diets can be catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bowen House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing