We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding weekend went very well thanks to Bowen House”
Review of Bowen House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bowen House
Ranked #40 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Over the weekend, my partner and I got married in York and we stayed at Bowen House, along with friends. Diane and Peter made my partner feel extremely welcomed - assisted where they could and made her wedding preparations go to plan. They really couldn't have done more to help, especially when my car broke down and they took control of the situation and arranged a local garage to do the repairs. We booked all 5 rooms for the wedding party and all guests agreed that they would stay again in the future, we are even thinking of arranging a small group weekend away in the coming months.

Both my partner and I would highly recommend Bowen House if you are looking for somewhere clean, comfortable, welcoming, convenient to York City Centre, fantastic hosts, great food, homely facilities and with car parking.

Room Tip: Room 3 is a very good size with en suite bathroom - all of the rooms have a lot of character so any...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hudson_pa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
There are newer reviews for Bowen House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 197 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2013

We took advantage of the 3 nights for the price of 2 offer and were not disappointed. We stayed in room 3 which I would highly recommend. We had plenty of space and a nice en suite bathroom which has shower, sink and toilet. The bathroom is entered by going down 2 or 3 stairs in the room but not a problem for us and part of the character of this kind of property. The mattress was a very soft one. Nothing was too much trouble for Diane who provided a lovely breakfast each morning and booked us a taxi at the end of our stay. We have stayed in many B&Bs and this is in my top 3.

Room Tip: Room 3 based on other travellers reviews of the other rooms
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuffolkEngineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed at the Bowen House for a weekend (15-17th March) and really found it to be a lovely b&b, probably one of the cleanest b&b's we've ever stayed in. We rented two rooms, room1 which is the twin room and yes I would agree with other members that this room is not suitable for two adults as it is vey small and cramped and you have a separate bathroom down a few stairs on a short landing at the top of the main stairway.
Room 2 was our other room, and although this was much better as far as space is concerned and facilities were very good the only let down,especially if your tall & well built, is the ensuite, it is tiny to the extent that you are virtually sitting under the sink when your on the toilet.
Please do not take these view of the rooms as someone moaning they are simply the facts and everything else we experienced at the Bowen was superb, Peter & Diane run a great b&b a breakfast was a treat,and for us it is located just right a 10 min walk into the city.

Room Tip: Try to stay away from the twin room if possible if your adults,great for the kids though
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StvP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Our 3rd stay at bowen house,as aways Peter and Diane do every thing possible to make your stay perfect.Rooms lovely and clean,Breakfast choice is excellent .
location is also perfect for york centre ,and visiting surrounding areas,whitby ect .
We will be returning soon

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ginotti31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

My husband booked us in to Bowen House for 3 nights, as a surprise, to celebrate my brithday. We've had a fabulous time. Lovely comfortable room, fantastic breakfasts and friendly service.

We felt that Diane couldn't do enough for us. She even booked me a hair appointment ready for my big birthday dinner.

We stayed in room 3. We found it very comfortable, with plenty of space. We slept well our whole visit, and woke up refreshed ready for our tasty breakfast. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ju1234_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Booked the bowen house for a couple of days for my birthday, from arriving to leaving everything perfect. Nothing too much trouble lovely clean room excellent breakfast and fantastic hosts, will definately return. Thanks..

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carl1766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I have just returned from my third annual trip to York and my third stay at Bowen House. I would not want to stay anywhere else and the reason for this is simple. Everything about Bowen House and the service makes my stay there special and memorable. The location is perfect for wandering into York . The facilities in the room are great, the breakfast is incredible -being vege I have a slightly different breakfast and this is never too much trouble, in fact the hosts remembered year on year that I don't eat meat, no need to remind them! The menu is comprehensive and the coffee and toast are flowing!

I have stayed in many B&Bs and what sets Bowen House apart is the friendly and approachable hosts. I will be going again next year and I cannot wait!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhill52000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.3 mi away
City Guest House
City Guest House
#44 of 194 in York
175 reviews
0.9 mi away
Burton Stone Inn
Burton Stone Inn
#21 of 194 in York
196 reviews
0.7 mi away
Airden House
Airden House
#52 of 194 in York
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Barbican House
Barbican House
#33 of 194 in York
415 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#2 of 194 in York
871 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ashbourne House
Ashbourne House
#12 of 194 in York
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bowen House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bowen House

Address: Huntington Road | Huntington Road, York YO31 8RF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: $98 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bowen House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Diane and Peter offer a warm Yorkshire welcome at Bowen House. It’s a 10 minute stroll from the famous Shambles and York Minster. We offer five comfortable rooms, each has a TV, radio, tea and coffee making facilities, towels and toiletries. Free Wi-Fi and private off-street parking are available. Start your day with a hearty breakfast in the bright and airy conservatory. The extensive menu includes a traditional full English breakfast. Special and vegetarian diets can be catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bowen House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing