We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A most enjoyable stay.”
Review of Bowen House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bowen House
Ranked #42 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“A most enjoyable stay.”
Reviewed May 6, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here at the beginning of may 2012 and thoroughly enjoyed it. Big thanks to Diane for a warm welcome, clean rooms and a great breakfast, she couldn't do enough for us (and she was full of the cold). I don't know why people leave negative comments - maybe some people just like to moan!. Would stay again if visiting York. Thanks, Stuart & Pam.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stupam66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    36
    4
    6
    1
See reviews for
18
131
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Had a very enjoyable stay here, couldn't fault anything.

Very friendly welcome, the room was of good size, cosy with a great shower!

Diane was so helpfull and accommodating, we arranged for early breakfast which was no problem atall!

Private parking was good and location excellent, only 5 min walk to the shambles!

Thanks for a lovely stay

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T3col
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We stayed here 3 nights and no issues at all, stayed in room 3 and it had a very nice ensuite bathroom.

Breakfast was superb and the family very friendly

Room Tip: Room 3 on 1st floor has ensuite bathroom. We are both fairly large though ( 110 kg each ) and bed an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolybourneToto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Great location, minutes into the centre of York. Room was great but an attic room was just not for my 6ft 3 husband! Tea, coffee available in the room and a nice touch with the biscuits!
Fab shower and nice bathroom.
Diane is very friendly and helpful ( a bit like Victoria Wood in a sketch!). Breakfast room was lovely, bright and breezy, like the young man that helped with the breakfast, what a sweetie! And breakfast.....- wow amazing and huge!!!
I would highly recommend The Bowen House!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pye72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Bowen House was a lovely bed and breakfast just a short walk from York city centre. It is set back into a side street so is quiet and not disturbed by passing traffic. The owner Diane, was very accommodating, friendly and very helpful. The room was lovely and clean with a lot of personal touches which made it stand out from the usual chain hotels. Breakfast was great and varied with something for everyone. I would recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone and we will definitely be booking with the Bowen House for our future visits to York.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KNWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

This is a 5min walk to york central. Rooms are small but your are only sleeping there. The food in the morning was great and so are the owners. They are very helpfull with what to see. Price is very reasonable.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJG1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

I have stayed here twice and had a wonderful time on both occasions. The location is very good - a short, easy walk from the town centre - and the welcome is lovely.

I was so impressed by the attention to detail throughout, which touched everything from the furnishings to sweets and a fascinating book on the city. The breakfast was excellent (and generous enough for me to skip lunch), and Dianne offered helpful advice which really helped me make the most of my visits.

I'm so happy to have discovered Bowen House, which offers excellent value. I hesitated to write a review only because I don't want it to be full next time I'm visiting York!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolineLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
1.3 mi away
Ibis York Centre
Ibis York Centre
#38 of 46 in York
1,860 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Hazelwood
The Hazelwood
#34 of 192 in York
384 reviews
7.5 mi away
Harmony House
Harmony House
#1 of 1 in Stillingfleet
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#4 of 192 in York
353 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sleepers Guest House
Sleepers Guest House
#24 of 192 in York
188 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Gillygate
The Gillygate
#45 of 192 in York
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bowen House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bowen House

Property: Bowen House
Address: Huntington Road | Huntington Road, York YO31 8RF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bowen House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Diane and Peter offer a warm Yorkshire welcome at Bowen House. It’s a 10 minute stroll from the famous Shambles and York Minster. We offer five comfortable rooms, each has a TV, radio, tea and coffee making facilities, towels and toiletries. Free Wi-Fi and private off-street parking are available. Start your day with a hearty breakfast in the bright and airy conservatory. The extensive menu includes a traditional full English breakfast. Special and vegetarian diets can be catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bowen House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing