We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bowen House
Nearby Hotels
Hotel 53(York)(Great Value!)
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$108
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hilton York(York)
$130
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$111
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Express York(York)(Great Value!)
$67
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
York Marriott Hotel(York)(Great Value!)
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$254
$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$130
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$168
$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
$95
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (202)
Filter reviews
202 results
Traveler rating
154
37
4
6
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
154
37
4
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bfull englishminute walkcooked breakfast with toastnight trip to yorkcity centreguest housetea and coffeenice furnishingsmonk barbody washbed and breakfastdouble ensuite roomlittle extra touchesyogurtfurnished to a high standardgreat place to stay in york
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
148 - 153 of 202 reviews
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Great location, minutes into the centre of York. Room was great but an attic room was just not for my 6ft 3 husband! Tea, coffee available in the room and a nice touch with the biscuits!
Fab shower and nice bathroom.
Diane is very friendly and helpful ( a bit like Victoria Wood in a sketch!). Breakfast room was lovely, bright and breezy, like the young man that helped with the breakfast, what a sweetie! And breakfast.....- wow amazing and huge!!!
I would highly recommend The Bowen House!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pye72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Bowen House was a lovely bed and breakfast just a short walk from York city centre. It is set back into a side street so is quiet and not disturbed by passing traffic. The owner Diane, was very accommodating, friendly and very helpful. The room was lovely and clean with a lot of personal touches which made it stand out from the usual chain hotels. Breakfast was great and varied with something for everyone. I would recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone and we will definitely be booking with the Bowen House for our future visits to York.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KNWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

This is a 5min walk to york central. Rooms are small but your are only sleeping there. The food in the morning was great and so are the owners. They are very helpfull with what to see. Price is very reasonable.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TJG1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

I have stayed here twice and had a wonderful time on both occasions. The location is very good - a short, easy walk from the town centre - and the welcome is lovely.

I was so impressed by the attention to detail throughout, which touched everything from the furnishings to sweets and a fascinating book on the city. The breakfast was excellent (and generous enough for me to skip lunch), and Dianne offered helpful advice which really helped me make the most of my visits.

I'm so happy to have discovered Bowen House, which offers excellent value. I hesitated to write a review only because I don't want it to be full next time I'm visiting York!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolineLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2012

We came back from York yesterday after spending a lovely couple of days there. The bed and breakfast was excellent, The owner was very welcoming and the room was very comfortable , and well equipped. The full english breakfast was great and there was a large selection of cereals too. Peter was very helpul and would give you tips on where to visit, eat etc. The bed and breakfast was within only a ten minute wall of the centre of city. Would definetly visit York and when we do, we would definetly stay at Bowen house again.

Room Tip: Room three on second floor where we stayed was great :)
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue1982a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews