We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, friendly and excellent value for money.”
Review of Bowen House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bowen House
Ranked #39 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Bowen House was a lovely bed and breakfast just a short walk from York city centre. It is set back into a side street so is quiet and not disturbed by passing traffic. The owner Diane, was very accommodating, friendly and very helpful. The room was lovely and clean with a lot of personal touches which made it stand out from the usual chain hotels. Breakfast was great and varied with something for everyone. I would recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone and we will definitely be booking with the Bowen House for our future visits to York.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KNWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (199)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 199 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2012

This is a 5min walk to york central. Rooms are small but your are only sleeping there. The food in the morning was great and so are the owners. They are very helpfull with what to see. Price is very reasonable.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TJG1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

I have stayed here twice and had a wonderful time on both occasions. The location is very good - a short, easy walk from the town centre - and the welcome is lovely.

I was so impressed by the attention to detail throughout, which touched everything from the furnishings to sweets and a fascinating book on the city. The breakfast was excellent (and generous enough for me to skip lunch), and Dianne offered helpful advice which really helped me make the most of my visits.

I'm so happy to have discovered Bowen House, which offers excellent value. I hesitated to write a review only because I don't want it to be full next time I'm visiting York!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolineLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2012

We came back from York yesterday after spending a lovely couple of days there. The bed and breakfast was excellent, The owner was very welcoming and the room was very comfortable , and well equipped. The full english breakfast was great and there was a large selection of cereals too. Peter was very helpul and would give you tips on where to visit, eat etc. The bed and breakfast was within only a ten minute wall of the centre of city. Would definetly visit York and when we do, we would definetly stay at Bowen house again.

Room Tip: Room three on second floor where we stayed was great :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue1982a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

My partner and i stayed at Bowen House in York for 3 nights in December, Peter and Dianne could have not been more welcoming!
This little find is in a perfect location to the city, just a short 5-10 min walk to the centre, parked the car in the space provided free of charge and didn't move it again until the day we left! Ideal!
Our room was a attic room, it was lovely decorated, spacious, very large ensuite. It had all the little touches you wanted!
And the bed was so comfortable i didn't want to leave it behind!
The breakfast is to die for! Full English really does mean FULL.. Very good portions and extremely tasty!
I would recommend this place 10 times over!
I know we will be staying there again next time we visit York!
Dianne, Peter, thank you for a fabulous stay!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WONGOOLY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Went for a few days prior to christmas 2011. Enjoyed every aspect of the trip . York is fab , loads to do and see......great pubs all of which seem to do good value food . Bowen House was the find of the trip ....5 -6 minutes walk to the centre of the city with the hotels facilities " as it says on the can " , very good and a fab breakfast . Many thanks to all at Bowen House and we will definately go back..........go on try it.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pittyjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2011

We have been a few times to stay with Diane and Peter and have enjoyed our stay every time. They are both very accommodating and nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are modest but very nicely presented and the conservatory is a lovely setting for your breakfast. The breakfasts are really very nice - lots of choice including cereals, yoghurts, fruit juice, fresh fruit and a full english menu which you can choose from and everything is done to your liking. The guest house is an excellent base and is positioned just outside the walls. There are lots of restaurants and a few pubs close-by but the beauty about it all is that you can just park up at the rear and everything is within a few minutes walking distance. We really like it there and highly recommend this to anyone wanting a nice relaxing time with easy access to the historic York city.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AJCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
1.1 mi away
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#2 of 194 in York
885 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tower Guest House
Tower Guest House
#5 of 194 in York
684 reviews
0.8 mi away
23 St. Mary's
23 St. Mary's
#13 of 194 in York
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Burton Stone Inn
Burton Stone Inn
#21 of 194 in York
209 reviews
0.9 mi away
Alcuin Lodge
Alcuin Lodge
#3 of 194 in York
402 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#9 of 194 in York
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bowen House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bowen House

Address: Huntington Road | Huntington Road, York YO31 8RF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: $100 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bowen House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Diane and Peter offer a warm Yorkshire welcome at Bowen House. It’s a 10 minute stroll from the famous Shambles and York Minster. We offer five comfortable rooms, each has a TV, radio, tea and coffee making facilities, towels and toiletries. Free Wi-Fi and private off-street parking are available. Start your day with a hearty breakfast in the bright and airy conservatory. The extensive menu includes a traditional full English breakfast. Special and vegetarian diets can be catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bowen House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing