We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in York
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crook Lodge Of York
Ranked #77 of 195 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2013

This accommodation was spotless and excellent welcome .Brian was very helpful due to us supposed to be staying else where Brian accommodated us at short notice we were getting married on 6th June which we had a fab day with friends and family coming to York .
Breakfast was excellent as well nothing was any trouble to Brian.

On our arrival there was flowers and champagne which was a lovely thought
Our room no 7 was lovely and homely and spotless

Room Tip: No 7 was fab room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 143 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. We had asked for and received a ground floor room which was very comfortable. The breakfast was wonderful. We were given good tips and directions. Our host even provided breakfast to go on our last morning and called a cab for us since we were leaving early. Parking is available, but we returned our car in York and Enterprise gave us a ride to the Crook Lodge.

Room Tip: We were happy with the ground floor room and the wifi worked very well from there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dfplum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We've just got back from a weekend in York and our accommodation made it! A fantastic location, 5-10 minute walk into the City. Brian was very welcoming, the rooms clean, warm and comfortable and to top it a lovely breakfast to get up for. Will definitely visit again!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Had my family visiting from South Africa & managed to get them in to Crook Lodge just before Christmas. From the outset Brian was exceptionally friendly & welcoming, happy to show me round the rooms & sort out the booking for me. First impressions were of a very neat & clean property with very comfortable looking rooms & all the amenities you could ask for. When my family arrived they were very warmly welcomed & made to feel at home, Brian was very friendly & knowlegable offering loads of suggestions for places to visit - with us being relatively new to York this was much appreciated. The family said that the rooms vere spotless & the beds very comfortable. Brian also offered my wife & I the opportunity to join my family for breakfast during their stay which we took up on a Sunday morning, the selection was great & the cooked breakfast superb - and we were not charged. Way to go Brian !! Thank so much for your hospitality & making my folks feel at home. Anytime we have more visitors we will definately be calling on you again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed at crook lodge in November the lodge itself was just where you would want it to be just ten minute walk from York minster and close to the shambles and all the many shops which York has to offer. The lodge itself was clean warm and served a fantastic full English if that's what you like the hosts were very welcoming and helpful York was great but be warned they were charging 9 pound just to enter York minster also York is quite expensive but all in all a great weekend

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pat t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We chose Crook Lodge over other establishments because the rooms looked very nice on the website and the reviews were good. On the positive side the host was really friendly and the breakfast was very nice. The onsite parking was good and Brian allowed us to leave the car for a couple of hours on the morning of departure so we could have another look around the city. Unfortunately both rooms 5 and 6 were so small 2 people couldn't move around at the same time. The wardrobes were too shallow to hang clothes properly. The decor was tired with peeling wallpaper and room six was a bath only with a jug for hair washing. Will not be going back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed here with friends and it was simply wonderful. The location was perfect. The rooms were lovely with comfortable beds. And as for the breakfast well they were lovely. Brian was very friendly and just the perfect host. It was so good to be able to park our car on site rather than on the road.

Room Tip: Room 3 was beautiful the bed was very comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cheryl g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,141 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Churchill Hotel
0.4 mi away
Grange Lodge
Grange Lodge
#80 of 195 in York
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
23 St. Mary's
23 St. Mary's
#13 of 195 in York
249 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alcuin Lodge
Alcuin Lodge
#3 of 195 in York
402 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bishops Guest Accomodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crook Lodge Of York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crook Lodge Of York

Address: 26 St Marys Bootham, York YO30 7DD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 195 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: $80 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crook Lodge Of York 4*
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing