We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Boutique Style B&B With Helpful and Friendly Staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crook Lodge Of York

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in York
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crook Lodge Of York
Ranked #71 of 205 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Beautiful Boutique Style B&B With Helpful and Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed at Crook Lodge for 2 nights as we were attending an event in the area on the second day, we arrived by train and had directions which had been supplied at the time of booking to hand which we used to take the short walk to Crook Lodge (very good directions)
We arrived and Brian was very accommodating and gave us a map of the surrounding area telling us where to eat and the fastest ways to town.
We went up to the room and they are beautifully done and very cosy, a little small for the price in my opinion but I would rather have a nicely done smaller room than stay somewhere larger and it not be of a good standard, the tv was a little hit and miss but we didn't really watch it anyway. The facilities were good and the shower was wonderful.
We didn't make breakfast on either day as we ate out for one and were up and out too early for the other so I cannot comment on the food. The sleep quality was very good as the mattress was comfortable but my partner is 6ft 5 didn't quite fit in the bed and the fire alarm went off twice in the early hours disturbing sleep.
In all the good outweighed the bad here and I would happily stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank littlepoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    32
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
12
88
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

We arrived as part of a group on a cycling holiday, so the owners had to deal with a big party all turning up together, needing to lock bikes securely and all wanting to get into rooms ASAP - and none of that was a problem.

Rooms were comfortable and quiet, breakfast was organised early so that we could get on the road, and our washing was even done!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RVW1603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

We stayed here for two days of a three day visit to York. Our host was energetic, cheerful and helpful. The breakfast was good and came to the table with amazing speed. The location was a convenient and pleasant walk from the sights around the Minster.

We were in one of two attic rooms. The window was small, and the warm weather made the room uncomfortably warm. The sloped ceiling made it unwise to sit up suddenly in bed: easy to bang the noggin. No shower in our room and it took half an hour to draw a three inch "bath."

Room Tip: Avoid the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JPepper_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown Square, PA
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

My friend and I spent three lovely days in York, and stayed at the Crook Lodge. It is a charming guest house and Brian Aiken is an extremely accomodating host. The breakfast is delicious, and everything about the guest house is just perfect.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NewtownSqGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

Everything about Crook Lodge is excellent....from the minute we arrived until we left we were made to feel really welcome. The breakfast is the best we had ever had. We had previously lived in York for a number of years so knew the area and we wanted somewhere we could leave the car and not have to use it again during our stay so the location is ideal. We had a room on the ground floor which although small was lovely and comfortable. We didn't experience any noise from passers-by or from the railway line. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would love to go back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leathleylynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2012

Lovely house in a superb location for walking to York (5 mins) and the station (5 mins). Also handy having the car park. Brian is very welcoming and helpful and his breakfasts are the best we've experienced.

We were in the kingsize bed in room 4 - lovely and comfortable although rather a small room and bathroom. Unlike a previous reviewer, I liked the view across to the York Wheel. I also didn't find the trains (which do pass very close) a problem.

However, unfortunately the one disadvantage is that there is considerable noise into the early hours, from passers-by who have been drinking in York. As a light sleeper, this spoilt it for me. However, if you sleep like a log you wont worry!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LHM_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2011

Brian the host most welcoming and accommodating. Car parking not large but,what the heck, you cannot have everything! Well located for the town with a pleasant stroll thro' nice gardens to centre of York (10 mins). Room good, bathroom small but adequate (and how long do you stay in a bathroom?). Breakfast excellent. Brian is a wealth of knowledge on the area. Room was alongside railway into York station but it is not a main line route so didn't disturb us at all.
We stayed from 18th to 22nd Oct and thoroughly enjoyed it and will be using Crook Lodge again.
Many thanks Brian

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tonyb43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.0 mi away
Airden House
Airden House
#62 of 205 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.1 mi away
23 St. Mary's
23 St. Mary's
#14 of 205 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Mary's Guest House
St. Mary's Guest House
#48 of 205 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
St. Raphael Guest House
0.1 mi away
No. 21 York
No. 21 York
#11 of 205 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Hazelwood
The Hazelwood
#33 of 205 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crook Lodge Of York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crook Lodge Of York

Property: Crook Lodge Of York
Address: 26 St Marys Bootham, York YO30 7DD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 205 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crook Lodge Of York 4*
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing