We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location with a real york experience”
Review of Guy Fawkes Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Guy Fawkes Inn
Ranked #43 of 192 York B&B and Inns
S of Wales
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Superb location with a real york experience”
Reviewed March 3, 2011

We stayed in Room 3 for 4 nights during the Jorvik Viking Festival. The Inn has a great location, quiet street at night and a view of York Minster which is just at the street corner. Our room was very warm and a welcoming cosy return on a cold Northern Night. The staff were very helpful and there was no ceremony - you felt like a guest in a home rather than an impersonal hotel. Room 3 has a four poster with 3 huge Georgian windows, wood panelling and a nice walk in wardrobe. Facilities very good and always cleaned well.
We ate twice in the restaurant and felt it was the best value and quality we had during our stay. Our only caution would be that there are street cleaners at about 6am passing the inn which can make a noise. Overall this would be my first choice on a return visit - for atmosphere, ease of location and a great atmosphere.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StellarSofWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    590
    427
    208
    106
    54
See reviews for
163
899
27
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
united kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2011

my friend booked this inn for a get together for us for shopping and a relaxing time drinking and eating . we arrived on monday afternoon (28th feb ) an was shown to the top floor .We got a spotless room with a clean modern bed an good sized shower an wash basin wc . we booked for the evening meal which was excellent .We opted for the soup of the day which was carrot an coriander delicious ! My friend had the roast beef and i had the pie served by friendly staff . the breakfast the next day was equally as good with full english an toast , choice of cereals and juices . plenty of tea and coffee . we cant wait to re book for a few months time as one night was not enough time . Its very close to all the little girt shops on stony gate etc. its very much like stepping back in time with all wood flooring , open fireplaces and old gas lamps . really worth a look

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bomberslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IRELAND
Level Contributor
158 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2011

Absolutely loved this place, went in for lunch and had the most delicious fish pie I have ever eaten. My husband had the steak and ale pie, which was also top class. Everything is home cooked, so you know that you are getting quality. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Also has a lovely range of real ales on offer. The place itself is steeped in history, so it was a really nice experience. Would definitely return without hesitation!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OSCAR11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2011

Stayed here with my husband and extended family (50, 45, 27, 21, and 2 x 19 year olds) in the Belfry Suite which accomodates 6 people. We were recommended the Guy Fawkes Inn by my daughters partner who has stayed here on a previous occasion. Friendly welcome and pleased with first appearances, location was excellent and we were all looking forward to celebrating my husbands birthday. We were showed to our suite, which is situated at the very top of the building up very steep steps but aware of this before booking so this didnt pose any problems. The Belfry suite is very quaint with very low ceiling heights, by husband bumped is head on more than one occasion, much to the amusement of the rest of the family. Breakfast was very good and plentiful and also catered well for my daughter who is vegetarian. After having a lovely birthday meal at the Dean Court Hotel and seeing the sights of York we arrived back quite late, Paul the night porter was very attentive and provided entertainment (ghost stories) whilst having a night cap, however he was also very aware of any noise so as not to disturb sleeping guests.

Now for the bad points: Unfortunately we were very disappointed with the Belfry Suite, 1. Stains on the carpets
2. Toilet seat completely broken (ended up placing it on floor, the annoying thing is that the staff were aware that it was broken because the screws were neatly placed ontop of the cistern!!!)
3. Bath tap handle came away in my sons hand. (husband managed to get it back on)
4. Only 2 cups, and one of the glasses was filthy
5. Bed Settees are very small, not comfortable for two adults
6. One of the duvets on the bed settee was actually a single in a double cover!
7. Very poor lighting, had to move bedside lights to be able to put make-up on.
8. 2 spot lights in bathroom not working.
9. Iron available on request, however my son had to go and collect it himself in the end as we couldnt wait any longer or we would have been late for our evening meal reservation.

Surely this is not acceptable for a 4 Star Rating!

On the morning of our departure we were able to see into one of the double four poster rooms at the front of the hotel, and i must admit these did seem far superior, and alot cleaner. My daughters partner was disappointed with the quality of the Belfry Suite as he had expected the same standards as on his previous stay.

We brought these points to their attention on the evening and expected some acknowledgement of this at check out, however i had to mention it again and just received an apology which i feel is not acceptable.

When all is said and done, we still had a very enjoyable weekend and the location was great. We would possibly stay again but not in the Belfry. They really do need to sort out the finer points otherwise i do feel it shouldnt have a 4 star rating.

I would recommend this hotel to friends for location and ambience, but wouldnt recommend the Belfry Suite and certainly not for a party of 6 adults.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie-n-Mart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2010

We have just returned from a post christmas break staying in the Belfry suite,which was much bigger than we expected with a landing connecting the bedroom,living room(with two double sofa beds) and bathroom which were all of good size. As the suite is within the eaves of roof I had to stoop quite a lot . I was happy to find the central heating working well when it was so cold outside and found the need to turn the stats down. From the living room window there is great views of the minster.Downstairs the public rooms are wood panelled and gas lit with breakfast served in the rear dining room. There was a wide choice for breakfast which was all good quality and all the staff were helpful with a positive friendly attitude. The only drawbacks I would say would be the numerous steps to the bedrooms and the car parking being a fair distance away but both of these issues are a trade off for staying in a 400 year old inn set right in the middle of York.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andystaffs10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alli007
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2010

Positives:- Great location, Hotel steeped with history,Staff friendly and efficient, great breakfast, Decor and furniture in keeping with interesting and historic building. Food looked great though we only had breakfast.
Negatives:- Had to move rooms as 1st room (rm 10) was dingy and smelled damp. 2nd room was very small but nothing else was available. Overpowering smell of bleach from the toilets at the bottom of the stairs, I have read other comments on this so it's not just me! Staff said they had a problem with the plumbing. The courtyard of the hotel could really do with a spruce up as was a bit like a back yard, bin area for smokers and given that several rooms lead off this area it was a bit off putting. Also cleanliness was ok on visible areas but I found a thick pile of dust, fluff and hair clinging to my coat which has fallen under the bed - nice.
If I was to stay at this hotel again I would book a different room as I had a peak around the door and those on the 1st floor (except petite double) looked lovely, airy and spacious (everything the 2 rooms offered to us were not!). Oh and don't forget that this hotel is a pub so will be noisy until closing time.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alli007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2010

Literally just walked through the door on return from Guy Fawkes, can't rate it enough. After months of researching on the internet this jumped out at me. I wanted somewhere authentic, with a real fire (being December I was aiming for cosy!), a fab location, good food, service and lots of atmosphere, This checked every single box. If you are after, ultra modern, shiney new swish hotels with no character, then please listen to the other reviews and go elsewhere, this is a fab traditional olde wold inn! The room (room 7) was beautiful, a huge 4 poster (sooooo comfy!) with modern touches such as the flat screen TV, kettle (plenty of tea/coffee/hot choc), hair dryer etc. Bathroom was a little on the small side, but didn't exactly spend a lot of time in there. Location is amazing - we watched the bell ringers at the Minster through the window, everything is on the doorstep. Service was brill too - only ate breakfast there as they dont serve evening meals on a Sunday. Breakfast was lovely, fresh juice, tea, coffee, pastries, fruit and cereal and a lovely full Yorkshire! In the evening the pub was packed and had a lovely atmosphere. There is no reception, you check in at the bar which was really quirky - I liked it. Make sure you go to the hotel first to get your car parking pass, its about a 5 minute walk back to the hotel from Marygate carpark. Tons of shops, restraunts, bars etc on the doorstep. It also had free wi-fi, just ask at the bar for the passcode. I really can't speak highly enough of this hotel it's fab!!! Can't wait to return!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natb82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.0 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
The Judges Lodging
The Judges Lodging
#12 of 46 in York
1,018 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lamb & Lion Inn
Lamb & Lion Inn
#33 of 192 in York
896 reviews
0.2 mi away
Judges Court Hotel
Judges Court Hotel
#46 of 192 in York
461 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Fort Boutique Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guy Fawkes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guy Fawkes Inn

Property: Guy Fawkes Inn
Address: 25 High Petergate, York YO1 7HP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Guy Fawkes Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing next to York Minster, the Guy Fawkes Inn was the birthplace of the notorious plotter, Guido Fawkes. The Inn offers en-suite rooms with free Wi-Fi, flat-screen TV’s and AA Rosette Food. Each of the thirteen rooms have been decorated individually, feature antique feature, tea/coffee making facilities and complimentary toiletries. Many of the rooms also enjoy a landmark view. The inn retains many of its original features including gas lighting, real log fires and the timber staircase. You can also dine by candlelight in the restaurant, which serves classic pub-food from locally sourced ingredients and the bar stocks a range of real ales. The York Ghost Walk Experience leaves from York Minster each Saturday at 19:00 and both York Theatre Royal and the National Railway Museum are just a 5-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Guy Fawkes Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guy Fawkes York
Guy Fawkes Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing