We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very enjoyable stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Guy Fawkes Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Guy Fawkes Inn
Ranked #41 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

Just what we expected from this old inn. Great food, excellent real ales, good accommodation and very friendly, helpful staff. Would highly recommend and will definately be staying here on our next trip to York.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marmadukes H, General Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
thankyou, your review is greatly appreciated.
hope to see you again in the future.
kind regards from all of us here at The Guy Fawkes Inn.
shane wood
(general manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    576
    423
    202
    103
    51
See reviews for
160
877
26
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

just had a third stay here, had a very nice room in the cottage, really like the cosyness of the place, its very quirky. would ignore some bad reviews, some people dont "get" the place and should stick to the hilton etc.would definatly stay again and would recomend to friends.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SR234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marmadukes H, General Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
thanks for your great review.
i totally agree with what you have said about some people not getting our quirky individuality.
im glad you appreciate what were trying to acheive.
thanks again from all of us here at The Guy Fawkes Inn.
kind regards
shane wopod
(general manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

We knew the building would be listed and old,but that does not account for the uncleanliness of the rooms,around the floors on the shower area were grubby,the mirrors were all smeared with grease,and i dont think the stair carpet had ever been hoovered since guy fawkes birth,breakfast horrible had better at asda and they arnt good,and arrived home to telephone calls from the manager saying we hadnt paid tut!!! we paid cash.....that was the final nail in the coffin.....never again...we spent best part of £170 0n b and b and evening meal id give this place a wide berth...its banking on its location.....muckiest place ive ever stayed in!!!!

Room Tip: dont go for the double deluxe
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marmadukes H, General Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
thankyou for your review.
all the points you have discussed have been noted.
we will continually strive to better ourselves in the future.
kind regards
shane wood
(general manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

When arriving at this fine establishment we were greeted with a friendly welcome. During our stay we were greatly received by all members of staff including the chef!. I must admit, for what we paid, which was a tad over the cost of one night in the Royal York was without a doubt the best value for money we'd EVER had in all our 13 years traveling to York. We've stayed in budget, mediocre and high standard accommodation throughout the years, this was the best....

That was until we had the food....... OMG! My husband remarked on the belly pork dish and how it was the best meal he'd ever eaten. I had the haddock and trust me, it was like a battered whale delivered to me delightfully buy an attentive waitress. Breakfast was fair with tasty food cooked to perfection, and as for top ups, it was only a request away.

The bad reports I've seen on here do not meet what we experienced, to be fair, the establishment is in character for what it's supposed to be, rustic, charming and of the nature it's portrayed to be.

When booking accommodation, AND, knowing it's a pub, the noise level is to be expected. Nevertheless, we had a beaut sleep on the 'antique' bed with lovely made mattresses.

No request was too much. I specified what type of room I wanted in the booking and this was met.

We were NOT asked to pay on arrival and this was our choice to do so. Having read all the reviews on here I have made my own mind up... I love the hotel and having drank in the bar before I have no qualms this was a genuine greeting.

For all those teetering on booking, book this if it meets your costs and make your own mind up. I'll add photo's of the meals when I upload them to the laptop.

Room Tip: Authentic and well described.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelhaseyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marmadukes H, General Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
thankyou very much for you amazing review.
so happy that you enjoyed your stay and we will hope to see you again in the future.
thanks again from myself and all the staff here at The Guy Fawkes Inn.
kind regards
shane wood
(general manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North York Moors National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Having booked the Guy Fawkes Inn for a mid-week, restorative break away I was impressed with the overall look of the Inn and the room we were given, tastefull decor, comfy bed and spaciousness but sadly the basic housekeeping skills really let the Inn down. The glasses and cups on the welcome tray were dirty, the shower head needs de-scaling and more attention to the cleanliness of the shower cubicle would be good, at breakfast there were no teaspoons or side plates and the promised croissants and patries were not replenished while we were there so we had to miss out.
The biggest let down was having specifically asked for a quiet room we were woken well before 8am by decorators above us in a wooden floored room... Not good ! Don't rest on your laurels Guy Fawkes.. Attention to detail is what is needed... Sadly I won't book again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valley_Girl_Mond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marmadukes H, General Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
thankyou for your review,
very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us on this occasion.
procedures have been put in place to make sure this this does not happen again.
kind regards
shane wood
(general manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michellebabs
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Just spent three nights at the guy Fawkes inn, first impressions , cleanliness poor in hall .. Not once did carpets on landings get hovered, looked very shabby , Rooms very cold , had to use heater I found in wardrobe , got charged for room on arrival. Found this very odd, breakfast ok , only one let down , partner given pot of tea and I wanted coffee, had to keep asking for top up, could do with coffee pots also. Apart from that, it is a nice place, a few tweaks could make it better

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichellebabsMichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marmadukes H, General Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
thankyou for your review, we take all comments constructively and strive to continually better ourselves.
hope these few pointers wouldnt put you off returning in the future.
kind regards
shane wood
(general manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arundel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

I ate at the Inn on a Saturday night. First impressions were 'its seriously dark' and lighting only came from candles - thoughts were running through my head about what would be revealed with all the lights on. Went to the loo to see the chef queing to use it to - never great seeing staff use the customer loo and the chap stunk of B.O. - I didnt even want to hang around to see if he washed his hands. I would have left at this point but was with friends who had all ordered. I figured a safe bet was steak and ale pie but was wrong, it had about 90% pastry, 5% gravey and ale and a few slithers of meat. The pastry was really dry and was almost impossible to digest and I felt totally bloated the rest of the night. The service was average. This is prime location for York and I guess they have allowed their standards to slip because due to the location they are guaranteed customers. I would strongly advise finding somewhere else to eat!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Ukbigmac2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marmadukes H, General Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
It is very unusual for us to hear bad reports about our food, especially our pie.
The pie is by far our best selling dish, if you look at our restaurant review page you will see how many great reviews we get for this dish.
we are very proud of our rosette that we have been awarded by the AA and continually strive to maintain and also better this award.
Srry you did not enjoy your visit to The Guy Fawkes Inn on this occasion.
Kind Regards
Shane Wood
(general manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.0 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
The Judges Lodging
The Judges Lodging
#13 of 45 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lamb & Lion Inn
Lamb & Lion Inn
#34 of 192 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Fort Boutique Hostel
0.2 mi away
Judges Court Hotel
Judges Court Hotel
#49 of 192 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
0.3 mi away
Minster Hotel
Minster Hotel
#23 of 192 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guy Fawkes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guy Fawkes Inn

Property: Guy Fawkes Inn
Address: 25 High Petergate, York YO1 7HP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Guy Fawkes Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing next to York Minster, the Guy Fawkes Inn was the birthplace of the notorious plotter, Guido Fawkes. The Inn offers en-suite rooms with free Wi-Fi, flat-screen TV’s and AA Rosette Food. Each of the thirteen rooms have been decorated individually, feature antique feature, tea/coffee making facilities and complimentary toiletries. Many of the rooms also enjoy a landmark view. The inn retains many of its original features including gas lighting, real log fires and the timber staircase. You can also dine by candlelight in the restaurant, which serves classic pub-food from locally sourced ingredients and the bar stocks a range of real ales. The York Ghost Walk Experience leaves from York Minster each Saturday at 19:00 and both York Theatre Royal and the National Railway Museum are just a 5-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Guy Fawkes Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guy Fawkes York
Guy Fawkes Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing