We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Next to York Minster”
Review of Guy Fawkes Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Guy Fawkes Inn
Ranked #43 of 193 York B&B and Inns
Doncaster, south yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Next to York Minster”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We were in the 'Belfry' in the attic space. A couple of flights of stairs, with another up to the attic. Spacious room, seperate bathroom and living Room, original features and tastefully decorated. Ceiling very low so if you are over 5ft 4 you will need to bow your head in most places! But as we were pretty much there only for sleeping, this wasn't a problem. It is right next to the minster, next to a few more pubs/bars so can be noisy at night, but this settled once pubs started to close, however, you don't get traffic noise as its not situated on a main thro road. Food wise, we only had breakfast, full English which was ok.
Handy location, clean and spacious, nice food, not bad value for money and staff very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: The suite, in the large attic space, great esp for a treat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    582
    425
    204
    105
    52
See reviews for
161
888
27
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

A friend mentioned this place as it has old style gas lights, we decided to have a look and maybe eat there too. It was busy at 6pm (Friday) and the restaurant was full but we booked a table and came back - we were not disappointed! The food is delicious here, staff are friendly and very quick, cannot fault it. I would highly recommend, even if you just pop in for a beer.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HannahKLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

My husband is from near York and we used to live in York, so were aware of the Guy Fawkes as a very atmospheric place to drink and in a great location. We always said we wanted to stay here, so on 28 October we did! We had booked a couple of months before, and asked for a four poster room, which we got. (Room 4). It was a lovely, comfy room and bed, atmospheric creaky sloping floors and overlooking High Petergate and The Minster.

Bit noisy during the night (road cleaner, taxis) then early morning traffic, but but all in all a lovely stay and a good breakfast. (Sadly no ghosts, though a couple of 'orbs' showed up on photos we took in our room!) Thanks.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jsalmon74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

My husband and I spent 3 nights in an Executive room at the Guy Fawkes inn. when I booked the room it did not show a picture of the executive room so i felt this would be larger than the petite double. It was tiny! I had to keep turning sideways to get to my side of the bed and it was not ideal I felt like a crab walking sideways by the end of our stay.
The view was not brilliant a few roof tops and an extractor fan! The room was very noisy and my heart jumped every time last orders was announced.
Parking was okay because I had read previous reviews and we were prepared for the drop off of bags and the hike to the car park.
We thoroughly recommend the restaurant, the food was outstanding but you must book before you go to the hotel because they soon get booked up.
As we were there on a Sunday night we decided to go along to the Folk evening and it was really relaxed atmosphere and the performers were very good.
We love Historical places and this ticks all the boxes apart from the box room that we stayed in.

Room Tip: Go for the larger rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline4845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Me and my husband stayed at the Inn in room 10 for 4 nights last week whilst staying in York for our honeymoon. The Inn is in a fantastic location and we loved the old fashioned style of the Inn itself and the rooms. However, its the little details that were more of a disappointment.. ie minimum extras in the bedrooms, the internet didnt work in our room, cheap repairs of furniture, tatty curtains and although the staff were ok, no one ever remembered who we were when we came in the bar and we constantly had to say which room we were staying in, there was little small talk or friendly greetings from the staff, maybe because they were busy but even at breakfast we got no more than a request for what we wanted. (I will also mention as a side note, if you want warm croissants in the morning then be prepared to get up early, they are left out and if your later down for breakfast they are hard and cold!)If you want to eat in their restaurant then the food is amazing, but you cant just walk in and order, you'll need to book at least a day in advance as they are popular for their food. (The steak and ale pie was amazing!)
Because we were out all day everyday and spent little time in our room we didnt want to complain..... and maybe im being a little harsh as this is an inn and not a hotel, but seeing as we paid £500 for our 4 night stay and it was our honeymoon i felt a little mislead by their web photos and 4 star rating.... we couldve got somewhere far more plush for not much more money. Great for business trips, short stays, but i wouldnt recommend if you want a romantic experience.

Room Tip: If you need internet access i wouldnt suggest room 10.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Having stayed here before and been delighted with it, we decided to book another night here rather than try elsewhere and risk it not being as lovely. Last time, we booked a petite double and were giving an upstairs courtyard room, which was gorgeous. At the time, we were not told we had been upgraded but having seen what a real petite double is like this time, that must have been the case.
Firstly we arrived at 1:55pm, check in not until 2:00pm so told to wait 5 minutes-fair enough... 20 minutes later, getting slightly impatient but the friendly gentleman helping us made up for it.
He then showed us to our room which was room 5. And petite is probably too kind a word. Why they have this as a room is beyond me. A single room may be somewhat more appropriate but for two people this just is not sufficient.
Firstly, there is about a three foot walk to the bed upon entering. Secondly, the end of the bed is less than a foot away from the wall. So anyone slightly rotund would have serious difficulty getting past to the window without jumping over the bed itself. That's if you want to get to the window to look at the dashing view of rooftop and kitchen extractor fan anyway...
Thirdly, the bathroom smelled very strongly of sewage. No word of a lie, it stank. Now, I'm usually one to make the best of things but having sat in this box for half an hour and assessing how on earth we were both going to get ready that evening without tripping over one another, we decided petite double or not, this was way below our expectations.
Unfortunately there were no other rooms available and being half term we weren't able to get anywhere else, so our trip was cut very short and to say I was disappointed would be an understatement. I'd been looking forward to it for ages, but to us, money is precious, and I'm not willing to squander it on a tiny excuse of a room that reeks of sewage. End of.
Next time, we would certainly go for a larger room knowing what a petite double really is, but more than likely, we will try elsewhere.
Oh- and the staff didn't even confirm why we were leaving, they just apologised. Which makes me think we weren't the first and probably won't be the last.

Room Tip: Stay away from room 5!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Well we only stayed here because our first choice was full, so lucky.... with this place you're staying at an attraction with heart and soul. The staff were brilliant in every way throughout our two 2 night stay, the food is great and is enhanced by the ambience of the place, the rooms and the whole place are not hospital clean, uniform hotel chain fake and shiny and is the better for it, we will go back soon.

Sorry but no photos in gas light.

Room Tip: just say what you're after and they'll do their best for any situation, our room 11 was grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.0 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
The Judges Lodging
The Judges Lodging
#12 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lamb & Lion Inn
Lamb & Lion Inn
#33 of 193 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Fort Boutique Hostel
0.2 mi away
Judges Court Hotel
Judges Court Hotel
#49 of 193 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.3 mi away
Minster Hotel
Minster Hotel
#24 of 193 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guy Fawkes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guy Fawkes Inn

Property: Guy Fawkes Inn
Address: 25 High Petergate, York YO1 7HP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 193 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Guy Fawkes Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing next to York Minster, the Guy Fawkes Inn was the birthplace of the notorious plotter, Guido Fawkes. The Inn offers en-suite rooms with free Wi-Fi, flat-screen TV’s and AA Rosette Food. Each of the thirteen rooms have been decorated individually, feature antique feature, tea/coffee making facilities and complimentary toiletries. Many of the rooms also enjoy a landmark view. The inn retains many of its original features including gas lighting, real log fires and the timber staircase. You can also dine by candlelight in the restaurant, which serves classic pub-food from locally sourced ingredients and the bar stocks a range of real ales. The York Ghost Walk Experience leaves from York Minster each Saturday at 19:00 and both York Theatre Royal and the National Railway Museum are just a 5-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Guy Fawkes Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guy Fawkes York
Guy Fawkes Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing