We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would stay again in a heartbeat”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Barbican House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Barbican House
Ranked #36 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Would stay again in a heartbeat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2009

Barbican House was a lovely place to stay. My friend and I debated whether staying near the Minster or on the far opposite side at the Barbican. Despite being far from the more popular inn area, we were very close to the wall and there were plenty enough restaurants and pubs to enjoy without all the hassle of crowds and pedestrian noise. We didn't meet the current proprietors, but we met the former proprietors Juliet and Michael, who were playing host while the current owners were on holiday. They were lovely people and very accommodating. The place was beautiful, the breakfast was delicious, towels were huge and fluffy, tons of amenities in the room, and we enjoyed our stay immensely. One note: while it didn't bother us at all, if traffic noise irritates you, ask for a room on the highest floor or facing the back.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scotslassmimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    57
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
52
255
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sheffield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2009

Me and my wife ran the york 10k on sunday 2nd August. We booked the Barbican as we had used it before. We had enjoyed it the first time. Again the cleanliness was to a very high standard, breakfast again was superb again with not only a good english breakfast but a wide variaty of fresh fruit and cereals. The owners were away on holiday but left a lovely couple running the b&b who were really nice and nothing was too much trouble. When i visit York again I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank runnersSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2009

Just had a few days stay at Barbican House and it IS a lovely place, however, if you are a light sleeper avoid room 7.
The head of the bed is underneath the window which faces on to a busy traffic light junction. We experienced a dreadful lack of sleep due to the traffic noise, especially motorbikes revving up while waiting for the lights to change. We felt as though we were trying to sleep with our heads on the pavement, and that was with the window closed at all times.
Also, if someone knocked on the front door, it made us jump as it sounded as if it was our room door and conversations in the hallway drowned out the sound of the t.v. when we had it on.
Another disappointment was the "scenic view" which was a view of the city walls through the traffic and that was if you could get near the window as the bed blocked it off.

Otherwise it is a great place, take a room at the back and I'm sure all would be fine.
The food is of a high standard, as are a lot of things in this hotel. I, personally, was a little disappointed at not getting to meet Adrian and Ann as they were on holiday, but there replacements (Juliet and her husband, never did get his name, told to call him Romeo) were very nice and used to own the place so knew what was what.
Oh, and do go for a meal in the Mason's Arms, a few minutes walk away, pub meals not to be missed if you like huge portions cooked superbly.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cloudyjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2009

This was our second time to stay at Barbican House, and we were just as pleased as the first time. While it is outside the city wall, the B&B is still within walking distance to all the major York sites. The owners are quite helpful, especially with directions, and they make a lovely breakfast. The rooms are clean and comfortable. I would recommend staying here if you are traveling to York!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drheard18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, CO
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2009

We felt comfortable from the start in this lovely B and B. Adrian and Ann are great hosts, so knowledgeable and helpful with information. They even let us come by and drop our luggage off very early and did not seem inconvenienced by anything. On the contrary, they went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable! We stayed here twice during our trip since we were visiting our daughter at University of York and so had two different rooms. I think the first was # 3, up the stairs in back. It was a quiet room and we left the windows open at night. It was so extremely comfortable, immaculately clean and very spacious with a nice bed and everything needed for hot drinks and snacks. The bathroom was easily the best I have ever seen in a British B and B with a fabulous shower that was absolutely perfect! Our second stay was in the annex across the street. It had a little sitting room in the front and bedroom for three in back. It was very nice, comfortable and clean but I liked Room 3 better. It was a tad noisy in the sitting room, but with the door closed it was no problem for sleeping. Still extremely comfortable. The WiFi did not work quite as well in the annex but it did work and we were invited to use the house sitting room or dining area for better reception so no problem. Barbican had great WiFi for free, which was awesome!

Another big plus is the location right across from the old city wall. We could go in at walm gate or fisher gate in a matter of minutes. A B and B with parking so close is hard to find! The parking area may look small but Adrian can get 7 or 8 cars in and even in the annex he saved us a place right at our door for parking. It was like free valet parking for those who needed any help getting in or out and he made sure no one was ever inconvenienced or without a spot. What incredible service with a smile and a friendly conversation.
Last but not least, the breakfasts were awesome! Every morning we were greeted by a platter of fresh, quality fruit! A plethora of berries, kiwi, melon, banana along with a variety of cereal and yogurts before we even got to the delicious eggs and meats! I loved breakfast here and really appreciated the helpful friendliness of the hosts! The location was fabulous, the rooms were clean and comfortable and the baths were wonderful! What a perfect place to stay in York

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeniseB_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, VA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2009

We could not have asked for a better place to stay. Adrian and Ann are amazing hosts ans spare no expense in ensuring or stay was memorable. Upon arrival we were greeted and given many pointers for our visit to York, to include map reviewing and dining reccomendations. The house was conviently located to everything. The room was beautiful and very comfortable. Parking was provided in a private on site parking lot that was well lit and off street. Breakfast was delicious and portions were very adequate. The black pudding is a must try.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mphillip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2009

The room we had was right at the front and on the lower ground floor, we were worried about the possible noise from the traffic, but it was not a problem whatsoever. The breakfast was outstanding and the little goodies with the tea/coffee in the room were very welcome. The wifi internet access was great, much better than the so called 'high class' hotels that you had to pay extra. The room was roomy, comfortable and very clean.

The minster was a short walk and the wall could be seen outside our window. Staff were always very helpful and there was a folder in the room with information about restaurants, sights etc. As we stayed during the height of summer we were not use to the 'twilight' of the northern hemisphere, but delighted that we could still walk around and see the sights late at night.

Close to the minster, shops, restaurants etc. ideal. Would visit again without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
1.6 mi away
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#2 of 192 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Hazelwood
The Hazelwood
#33 of 192 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
1.1 mi away
Alcuin Lodge
Alcuin Lodge
#4 of 192 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The York Priory
The York Priory
#40 of 192 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.1 mi away
Waggon & Horses
Waggon & Horses
#34 of 192 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ashbourne House
Ashbourne House
#12 of 192 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barbican House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barbican House

Property: Barbican House
Address: 20 Barbican Road, York YO10 5AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Barbican House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Family run Victorian Guest House overlooking the famous medieval City Walls of York. All our rooms are individually decorated to compliment the charm and character of the Victorian period but with but with luxury bathroom facilities. Our rooms are en-suite and have double glazing, central heating, ceiling fans, radio/alarm, Wide screen TV/DVD, tea and coffee making facilities and chocolate biscuits with a complimentary decanter of Sherry, 500 meters to City Centre and 800 to York University. We have 4 King size en-suite rooms, 1 twin en-suite rooms, 2 double en-suite rooms and 1 suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Barbican House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barbican House Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing