We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B - Definitely Reccomended”
Review of Barbican House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Barbican House
Ranked #29 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great B&B - Definitely Reccomended”
Reviewed April 16, 2008

I currently live in the south and am preparing to move up to York for university. Both times I have visited York (last November and again this month), I have opted to stay at Barbican House. Both times, I and my parents have been more than impressed with the quality of the accomodation. The rooms are immaculately clean and very comfortable (a "home from home" kind of thing), the owners absoloutely lovely, and the breakfasts tailored to exactly what you want in the morning. We stayed in room 8 which is accross the road from the main building and absoloutely lovely. It used to be a flat - so you can get a good idea of just how much space there is in there - definitely not what you come accross at most B&Bs!

The area is perfect - a 10/15 minute walk from the University and also 10 minutes from the city centre. The road to the city centre (Walmgate) is very typical of York, and is host to an array of restaurants, of a variety of different kitchens. The first time we stayed we were reccomended by the owners to go to an Italian restaurant called Toto's which is just down the road, about 5 minutes away. We liked it so much - none of that fake Italian English-ness - that we visited again during our second stay.

I have a friend who is already studying here, and the location of Barbican House also proved to be perfect for going on a night out - a short walk, or if you're too tired - only a cheap taxi ride home. A previous comment suggests that perhaps Bootham would be a better area to stay in in York. I looked at B&Bs in this area as well and was completely disauded by my friend - apparently this area is higher in crime and a lot more limited in terms of restaurants and things to do in general.

Overall - a big thank you to Adrian and Ann for two absoloutely lovely stays in York. Will definitely reccomend Barbican House to all those who come to visit me when I'm at University :)

  • Liked — Gorgeous room, gorgeous breakfast, great location and lovely owners
  • Disliked — Not being able to stay there every night!
  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank prinny18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    61
    11
    3
    3
See reviews for
53
274
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2008

My husband and I would like to thank Adrian and Ann for the very warm and friendly stay at their Hotel in York. We have travelled to many destinations in England, but our recent short break at The Barbican House has surpassed our expectations.
In particular the rooms were immaculate and the English breakfasts were the best we have tried.
We will definately be back and will also recommend this hotel to all our friends.

  • Liked — Great service and very hospitable.
  • Disliked — Alfie.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank VictoriaandTheresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia/Yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2008

After hearing about how good the Barbican House had been to friends of ours, we stayed with them as soon as we could visit York,and had the most wonderful time.
Anne & Adrian are just the best and most generous hosts who go out of their way to make your stay the best experience possible. The rooms are superb and of a very high quality with beautiful furnishings (and bedding which my wife really liked)
This Guest House is very handy for what must be the best choice of restaurants in any City in the country. A few minutes walk gets you right into the old part of the city and the choices are just great.
We really enjoyed our stay, and the breakfasts cannot be beaten with superb value for money- try the fruit platter ask for more and you actually get it!!. From what we have experienced elsewhere this is a must place to stay if you are going to York

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank Sailor69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2008

We stayed at the Barbican for three nights and had a wonderful time. We have been coming to York for a number of years now and this is definitely number one for us. The rooms are freshly decorated, a fair size and spotlessly clean; with the en-suite fabulously tiled and roomy. Not the usual box! The sherry is a nice touch, along with the herbal tea selection.

Adrian and Ann were very helpful and gave us a few recommendations for dinner and the routes into the town centre. The centre is a 7 or 8 minute walk, passing our favourite restaurant, the Blue Bicycle; 2 minutes later you hit the Shambles and the Minster shortly thereafter. We have stayed in Bootham several times and I disagree with Honesty4all; the overall distances are about the same, yes the Minster is closer but the good restaurants are further.

Breakfast was first class, with a good selection of fresh fruit, yoghurts, orange juice, cereals and a heavenly cooked breakfast; I have not seen such orange yolks for a long time. Again it is the little things that make your stay, and the hot croissants are a great idea.

We h ad a wonderful time, thanks to Adrian and Ann (and Alfie the dog) for a brilliant time.

  • Liked — Breakfast; large bathroom; sherry and croissants
  • Disliked — having to go home
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheFussyScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2008

We have just returned from a two night stay at Barbican House. Overall we were well looked after. The owners Adrian and Ann were very nice and helpful with local knowledge and recommendations on places to eat in the area. Adrian was more than happy to help with anything, a really nice guy. They suggested we eat at a local Italian called Toto's. We went and thought it was only average. We eat out alot and it was nothing special. Although the staff there were lovely and it was reasonably priced.
The accomoodation itself - it was clean and tidy (in a slightly dated way) its not suitable for young couples. We stayed in room 1 which was ok, again nothing special at all, really limited space, There was no dressing table, so ladies you will stuggle to do your hair and make-up, I did. Plentyful supplies of tea, coffee, milk and hot drinks. Even a little drop of Sherry! The biggest dissapointment for us was the size of the room. We even looked at the nice blue room that you see on the pictures on the internet, again very small. The location is not great. It was on what we would call the "wrong" side of York, its much nicer and far more convinient to stay on the other side of York, Bootham. Barbican house is on a very major main road and also on a corner, very very busy with traffic and noise. We have stayed in York lots of times and you are much better situated in Bootham. The guest house is a very short walk into town but not to the minster, the shambles or all the other nice attractions. You will need to walk through a very built up residential area, which in all honesty looked a little rough and certaintly does York no favours, In summary Barbican House is not situated in an area you would imagine to be York! Its ok but nothing outstanding. The breakfast to be fair was lovely and well presented. The prices are not the cheapest around and after having been I am struggling to see how they are justified when we have stayed in nicer accommodation that has been cheaper. No doubt you will enjoy York wherever you stay, full of charm, history and lovely buildings. .

  • Liked — THE HOSTS WEE
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank HONESTY4ALL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbicanhouse, Owner at Barbican House, responded to this review, April 10, 2008
To say we are upset about this last review is an understatement; we will try to offer our balanced response to the points we take exception to.
When the lady booked by telephone, we suggested room 6 a double en-suite , this room was refused because she did not like the colour (pale green) and our most modern looking room , we then mentioned room 7 a double en-suite with king size bed, again the room was refused, Gill then booked room 1 a double en-suite, this is our smallest room, this room does not have a dressing table but it does have a mantle piece above the fire with a large mirror for makeup storage.
When they arrived at Barbican House, we could tell she was not happy with room 1, we offered her room 7 (the blue room) a double en-suite with king size bed and dressing table as an upgrade but this was refused, this room is also one of our smaller rooms but it is still 13’2’’ X 12’4” (4.01m X 3.76m)
We have lots of young couples staying at Barbican House so why are we not suitable? Are all young couples looking for accommodation that has lost all its charm and character, we hope not, and how does Gill know it is not suitable for young couples.
Barbican House was built in 1888, we pride ourselves on the retention of the features of a Victorian house, all our double rooms have modern fully tiled bathrooms but we try to keep the bedrooms in character with the house.
Saying the house was dated can mean a lot of things, it may be taken that all the fitting and furniture are old, this room has had all the furniture, bed and soft furnishings replaced in the last 3 years, it was completely redecorated less than 18 months ago, it has a wide screen LCD TV with digital channels so where the dated came from we fail to understand.
Now we come to the location, we are 50 yard outside the Medieval City walls, a 800 yard stroll to the City centre, York Minster is at the far side of town from Barbican House but still only a 15 minute walk away. When you walk into town we suggest walking along Walmgate and Fossgate, these are two of the best streets for quality restaurants in York, to say it is a very built up residential area is correct, all of York in the City centre is, but to say you would be better off in Bootham is totally incorrect.
If you stay in the Bootham area you have to walk along one of the busiest road in York the A19, from the area where most of the accommodation is situated you will have to walk at least 160 yards just to get to the City walls, we are 50 yard away, Barbican House is actually closer to the Shambles than the majority of the accommodation in the Botham area, are also in a safe area with little or no crime.
We are not a budget accommodation, all our furniture, fittings and bedding is of the best quality.
Please just read all the other reviews for a more balanced review of Barbican House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
www.tripadvisor.com
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2008

We were visiting York to attend our son's graduation from the University of York. Unfortunately, we arrived at Barbican House quite weary from travel and exasperated by the saga of lost luggage. Adrian & Ann sensed our frustrations and immediately helped us settle in and then assisted us with sorting out the problems. When the luggage hadn't arrived by the third day, Adrian personally escorted us to the city centre so that proper apparel could be purchased for the event. He and Ann genuinely cared about us.
Each morning was a true delight with a gorgeous full English breakfast prepared to order and accompanied by a wonderful selections of fresh fruits.
The rooms were immaculate, quiet, & very comfortable with all the amenities of a five star hotel.
Since Barbican House is located just outside the city wall, everything is within a leisure walk's distance. Adrian's recommended restaurants are close by and the dining is wonderful!
We left Barbican House with promises to return with all of our grown up children for our next trip to York!

  • Liked — location and wonderful hospitality
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank COteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke on trent
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2008

We thought all the reviews may have been to good to be true for this Bed and Breakfast but I must say they were spot on, Very Very Clean , rooms were very comfortable, wifi internet access if you have a laptop (free) , beds were just like sleeping on a cloud , and the breakfasts were gorgeous,on top of that very friendly hosts, I really would find it difficult to say anything was below 5 star standard

  • Liked — Beds, Breakfast
  • Disliked — We couldnt stay longer
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank maz9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.9 mi away
Minster Walk Accommodation
0.8 mi away
Ashbourne House
Ashbourne House
#12 of 192 in York
732 reviews
0.1 mi away
Waggon & Horses
Waggon & Horses
#36 of 192 in York
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#9 of 192 in York
1,389 reviews
0.4 mi away
Moorgarth Guest House
Moorgarth Guest House
#72 of 192 in York
27 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chelmsford Place Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barbican House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barbican House

Property: Barbican House
Address: 20 Barbican Road, York YO10 5AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Barbican House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Family run Victorian Guest House overlooking the famous medieval City Walls of York. All our rooms are individually decorated to compliment the charm and character of the Victorian period but with but with luxury bathroom facilities. Our rooms are en-suite and have double glazing, central heating, ceiling fans, radio/alarm, Wide screen TV/DVD, tea and coffee making facilities and chocolate biscuits with a complimentary decanter of Sherry, 500 meters to City Centre and 800 to York University. We have 4 King size en-suite rooms, 1 twin en-suite rooms, 2 double en-suite rooms and 1 suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Barbican House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barbican House Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing