We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab”
Review of The Blue Rooms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Blue Rooms
Ranked #24 of 56 Specialty Lodging in York
Reviewed December 29, 2006

We booked a month or so in advance, over the phone, asked for an upstairs room, cos we had read on trip advisor they were better, and because we were booking midweek we got the Foss Room, which is upstairs and it was fab, with its opening doors over the river and enormous bath, lots of candles provided everywhere, it can be as romantic as you want to make it.

We had the full english breakfast which we really enjoyed cooking ourselves rather than sittiing in a formal dining room being akwardly waited on. it was luxury made so much better as there were no maids waiting outside your door or coming in and rearranging your shoes.

We only stayed one night, but every thing we needed was provided, washing up liquid, cleaning things etc if we had been staying longer

Thought the free booze was nice touch, champagne, gin and whiskey, with lots of mixers, chilled water etc in the fridge, didn't have any of the wine from the honesty bar. Also lots of choccies and fruit provided and love the fact that we could have eaten when we got in after our night out, although we were full from our feast at the Blue Bicyle.

At the Blue Bicyle they put us in one of the booths in the cellar, which was fab, although we hadn't requested this. Totally loved the styling of the Blue Bicyle, and we would have been over the moon if the art nouveau theme had been more obvious in the rooms, they were quite neutral with cream walls (boring), but it was so much better than a hotel room experience.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Skipwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 129 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2006

After booking I saw a review for this place on here where people were complaing about the room they got not being the one in the pictures of the rooms on the website. Well if you read the text on the website it explains that not all rooms have four poster beds, river views etc. I booked here for 1 night after looking for something a bit special in York. There are currently 4 rooms available but the guy was telling us that they are refurbishing some more so it appears business is doing well.

The room we booked was on the ground floor, so was not a four poster with river view. However, it was lovely just the same. Luxurious, spacious accomodation that had everything you could possibly need. Free drinks, including booze, beer and mixers, a wine rack you could select from for a tenner a bottle, lots of biccys, chocolates, mints, fruit, tea, posh water, coffee etc for you.Champagne on ice on arrival. We asked for the continental breakfast pack - a whole loaf of homemade bread, croissants, pastries, jams, cereals, lovely! The bathroom was great, Moulton Brown shampoos etc, fluffy towels. Bed very comfy, living room pleasant. All mod cons.

Views were bland but I wasn't there for views, so whats the problem?! The parking space was blocked when we arrived so the nice guy in the bistro (some fella from Newcastle) got in our car and took us to another local free space that they had, as York is a nightmare to navigate round. The bistro looked nice but we went to J Bakers down the street and had a great meal there. The rooms are off a nice central street but are very quiet so you don't get woken by any street noise. The only slight downer was the cleaner knocking on the door at 10.30am in the morning to tell us off for having left yet (we'd been told by Newcastle man that is was 11am) but the reception lady apologies profusely about this when I went to pay on checkout. all in all, very pleasant, would go again.

5  Thank mandyflyme2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2006

I have just returned from a stay at the blue rooms and what a quality place to stay. the fixtures and fittings are the best no expence is spared you get a good bottle of chilled champagne on arrival fruit basket and a bottle of gin and whisky including a vast array of mixers in the fridge all complimentary. there is also the choice of a continental or english breakfast, i opted for the english which is uncooked and in your fridge on arrival again all top quality. I advise you stay in the top rooms as these are the best with four poster bed and vaulted oak beam ceilings. there are also patio doors which open up to a juliet balcony where the river fosse is and a constant supply of ducks swimming past. The location is perfect very close to central york but very peacefull and relaxing and cosidering for the price parking is provided free. I believe the whole package excellent value for money and i have stayed in york several times over the past few years and this place is a different class. i admit at £150 per night it is not cheap but it is well worth paying that bit extra. york is not a cheap place to stay and i have paid this amount before when staying in other accomodation and have been very dissapointed. you will pay around £90 for a reasonable b&b which does not include parking. Also may i recommend you book a table at the blue bicycle which is the same owners as the blue rooms and ask for a booth in the basement very romantic and out of this world food!

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank palmfitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2006

Went for a christmas weeknd and only just got to writing this up!. Hired out both rooms, Myself and Hubby stayed 2 nights, and our friends arrived the next day and had the other room booked out. When I made the reservation, I made a point as I always do of asking which room had what in it - as I know that pics on internet can be very misleading. As we hired both rooms I know what both rooms look like. I agree that the downstairs room is quite small, has no view, (well a wheely bin!) and no poster bed nor that lovely roll top bath big enough for two with molton brown bath bubbles and a shelf for your champagne glasses etc , and i think it should be a little cheaper to rent out because of this. However, it was comfortable and it s great to cook your brekkie when its all laid out in the refrigerator. I stayed in the Fosse room and with its vaulted ceilings and four poster and roll top, it was most fantastic. River view and breakfast, free juices, bottled water and mixers.....oh and the bottle of whisky and gin with all mixers was free too for your evening aperatif.........yeah, this room was nicer by about ten times than the other room, .....if you book the Fosse room and its avail then stay here - you will not be dissapointed, you feel pretty special we have stayed in some very nice places and this was done well ........if the other room downstairs is the only one free and you want romatic luxury dont bother. As for the restaurant....well was hoping for something special,,,but i think its hit and miss from the reviews I see.....and for us it wasnt that great..if you get it on a good night I imagine its cool....they brought out veg that was raw and cold...when I sent it back they said it wouldnt cook any more????? (PS I likve veg crunchy! so i wasnt being a wuss) bit of a shame really.....and pricey for a poor meal. would still go again but probably at lunch

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2006

So, looks good on the website but straight away we were disappointed that our room had neither a four poster bed, roll top bath nor view of anything but the car park. We were greeted with complementary champagne but this had been in the over-warm room for so long that the ice in the ice-bucket had melted and the champange was warm. The fresh fruit basket contained fruit that was far from fresh and had strawberies which were actually mouldy and rotten!!!!

One of the two champagne glasses left out for us was dirty as were the wine glasses we got from the cupboard (having to do washing up before cracking open the bubbly doesn't enhance the romantic mood!)

As I mentioned, the rooms were far too warm but as we were on the ground floor next to the front door we didn't feel that we wanted to leave our windows open all night and so just turned off the heater ignoring the DO NOT TURN OFF THE HEATER notices.

Additionally the coffee and tea storage jars were greasy obviously having been missed by the cleaners and the over door was broken. There didn't seem to be anyone around to report these concerns too as the restaurant wasn't open when we checked in and nobody came round to make sure everything was ok.

The location is great and with a good deal more attention to detail this place would be great too but until it improves we won't be going back and would advise you not to either.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dingwam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2005

I had booked tickets to go to the races as a surprise for my husband and was struggling to find a decent hotel to stay in. They seemed to be very basic for £90-£150 (ie no breakfast) with no parking nearby or £150+ for what would be a bog standard room with breakfast and then have to pay an extra £15+ for the privilege of using the hotels car park. I am so glad that I persevered and found the Blue Rooms as they give you the advantages of staying literally in a top class suite but all for the reasonable price of £150 including parking. Included in this was a welcome bottle of champagne on ice, a beautiful fruit bowl, there was complimentary whisky and gin, and also a vast selection of mixers in the room. For an extra £10 you could help yourself to one of the 30 bottles of wine which was in the rack. We had the Fosse room which was open plan and had a lovely view onto the river. The room/bathroom is decorated and furnished to a very high standard, and we had a fantastic time. We ordered full english breakfast, and some people might think that it is a downside to have to cook it yourself, but my husband makes a great breakfast and it was great to be able to lounge about in the bathrobes reading the papers, having breakfast at our leisure. I had also booked the adjacent restaurant "The Blue Bicycle" for a meal on the saturday and we were not disappointed. So all in all. I thoroughly recommend it highly and will definately be coming back.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sovereignbooking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2005

The Blue Rooms are two rooms situated behind the Blue Bicycle restaurant in York. We stayed in the 'Fosse Room' which had a fantastic vaulted ceiling, 4 poster bed, full working kitchen, dining table for 2 and a lounger area - all very modern and open plan so a wonderful spacious feel. There is also a small juliet balcony which overlooks the river and from which you can feed the ducks as they pass below. This is NOT a hotel but 2 rooms owned by the restaurant so there is no reception, room service etc - its a real home from home and has a TV and CD player . Included is breakfast which is either continental or full English, which ever you choose is in a basket or fridge on arrival for you to prepare at your leisure the next day. There is also parking at the rooms included in the cost which is well worth bearing in mind. Add to this the fact that the Blue Bicycle restaurant is only a 2 minute walk away and the centre of York not much further and you're onto a winner. If you choose to eat at the restaurant, I would recommend that you ask for a booth in the cellar - very romantic! The only down side to this accommodation is that the room was VERY hot so not much to complain about!

6  Thank Mops88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
6.2 mi away
The Judges Lodging
The Judges Lodging
#11 of 47 in York
1,091 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
659 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,434 reviews
6.8 mi away
Poplar House Serviced Apartments
6.4 mi away
Saint George's Keep
Saint George's Keep
#17 of 56 in York
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blue Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Rooms

Address: 4 Franklins Yard, York YO1 9TN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 56 Specialty Lodging in York
Hotel Class:5 star — The Blue Rooms 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The Blue Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blue Rooms Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing