We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (129)
Filter reviews
129 results
Traveler rating
106
17
2
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
106
17
2
3
1
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 129 reviews
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Stayed in Apartment 5 for 3 nights and everything was perfect. Fully fitted with everything you need and was spotless. Julian balcony opens onto the river where the geese will keep you entertained. Only down side is if you stay for more than one night you lose out on the champagne, fruit and yogurts for the rest of your stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RONNIE A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We stayed one night in room 3 and it wasn't long enough! After reading reviews previously on trip advisor, we had high expectations ! although when we arrived our expectations were exceeded. The apartment was spotless and the free champagne and fruit hamper was a lovely touch. I would also recommend trying the blue bicycle for a meal, amazing food and service!!

Room Tip: Room 3 has great views of the river
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cloe4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We had a one night stay here- wish it had been longer. Apartment is better than it looks on website and that's fabulous. Lots of nice touches to make it that little bit more luxurious. Great location as near to centre and right by the river. Will be back to stay again!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Sarah252525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We stayed in the Blue Room 4 and also had an amazing meal at The Blue Bicycle last weekend.

The room was just out of this world and the pictures do not do it justice. The bed was large and comfortable, the room clean and the bathroom was just wow with Molton Brown products. It was pure luxury and worth the price as the location was just amazing.

This was a romantic break and the fresh baked bread on both mornings was lovely, the ducks enjoyed it too as we were able to throw it to them from the windows as our room hung over the water.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Perrie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Blue Rooms sells itself as luxury self-catering and makes much of the champagne on arrival, complimentary whisky and gin, and daily breakfast. The location is great and the rooms are very nice, but they are hugely overpriced. If you want to pay £165 a night to cook your own breakfast and clean up after yourself while drinking catering packs of tetley tea and nescafe instant coffee identical to what you'd get in a budget hotel chain, you'll love it. Even East Coast trains serves Yorkshire tea! If you don't fancy a full English every morning, your only option is a multipack box of kelloggs cereal. The whisky, gin and champagne may be complimentary, but they've gone for the cheapest option despite the premium price tag.
We found a wealth of fantastic local products in York, but you'd never know it from your stay at the Blue Rooms. Personally I'll be paying similar prices for one of the many four star hotels in York in future, or paying considerably less for self catering in similar accommodation via Air BnB. Had I been paying less, I would have been quite happy, but given their prices I'm left feeling a bit ripped off. I emailed them following our stay to offer some constructive criticism (without asking for any refund) and was met with indifference. I can't see their service changing any time soon and would strongly recommend booking elsewhere.

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs if you're in any of the rooms overlooking the river - we were woken at 6am daily by a dawn chorus of geese.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DLVLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews