We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect York experience”
Review of The Blue Rooms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Blue Rooms
Ranked #25 of 57 Specialty Lodging in York
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We've been to a lot of places and stayed in many accommodations but the Maisonette apartment at the Blue Rooms ranks as the most well designed, well thought out and perfect family accommodation's ever. Two stories, two bedrooms, two bathrooms and an incredibly well equipped kitchen served us very well. The master bedroom is about one-and-a-half times the size of your average Deluxe Suite at a Crowne Plaza. The attention to detail is amazing and the service is excellent. The temptation was to stay and enjoy the space but when you are so perfectly located near the Shambles, the Minster, etc. how can you not get up and roam? The icing on the cake was the associated Blue Bicycle restaurant. We were served some of the best food of our 3 week stay in the U.K. Thanks to everyone at the Blue Rooms, you made a wonderful trip even better.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bolasker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 129 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2013

We had big problems trying to find the blue rooms as the satnav takes you to the rear of the property.
I phoned the blue bicycle for directions and bless them they guided us in,the only tip i can give is if the shambles is on your left take the first right and it is on the right.
There was the complimentary Chempers on ice and a frigde full of mixers/jams etc and the full breakfast.the fresh bread was delivered each afternoon.
The apartment number 1 was spotless and there was nothing that you needed that wasnt in the room. The room does not look over the river but that did not bother us we totally enjoyed our stay,thank you to the staff.

Room Tip: If you want peace and quiet room 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kbrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Fantastic stay the Blue Rooms stayed in the large apartment balcony on to the river. Would highly recommend the Blue Rooms to everyone, large rooms, spacious kitchen and bedroom to die for. Right in the heart of the York, within walking distance to the shops and bars/restaurants, worth every penny and wouldnt stay anywhere else when visiting York. Booking at the Blue Bicylce is a must the food is devine. Everything is catered for in the apartment food, wine, even nightcaps, fridge full of drinks...... this has got to be my all time favourite place, the staff cant help you enought and even let you in the apartment early. Dont hesitate just book it!!

Room Tip: All rooms are fabulous right on the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ELJ1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We were "sent" here by the Park Inn after a supposed power cut and what a beautiful room we had. Overlooking the river with a patio door that opens up to look over it, the room is really an apartment with flat screen huge TV, four poster bed, beautiful bathroom complete with fluffy towels and bathrobes, fully stocked kitchen, lounge area and complimentary whiskey gin beers and soft drinks. The breakfast is brought to your room to cook yourself at your leisure which we ate at the table by the open patio window overlooking the river, and I would definitely stay here again when visiting York. We didn't eat in the adjoining Blue Bicycle restaurant but I am told that the food is beautiful.

Room Tip: Room 4 overlooks the river .....beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CherylBlackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Quality is difficult to determine.
Clean? Definitely, the blue room was spotless.
Size of rooms? We were in room 3 and each room, lounge, kitchen, bedroom was significantly larger than we could have anticipated.
Comfort? In every area the comfort level is terrific. The large sofa and chairs and lovely bed with fine linen made our stay wonderful.
Fittings? The quality of the furnishings was way above the standards we have experienced in self catering establishments.
Food? Yes full english breakfast is provided for you to cook at your own convenience and is delicious.
Attention to detail? Exceptional. We told them when we booked that we don't drink so the welcome champagne was replaced with an ample supply of fruit juices. And they even troubled themselves to peel the black pudding to ensure that the unwary don't eat the skin:-).
Location? Well this is York. The most delightful City in the world for a short break and the Blue Rooms are right in the heart of the city.
In every way the Blue Rooms exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

We have been lucky enough to stay in some fabulous places and after staying in Room 3 it is definitely up there at the top. It is spacious, extremely clean and amazing. It is beautifully decorated and has this amazing feeling of warmth. Every piece of furniture is beautiful and the cupboards are stocked with everything you could need. The detail is fabulous. The staff we welcoming and helpful and the location is perfect. The apartment was worth every penny. There was champagne, fruit and fresh bread on the side as you walk in. The fridge is stocked and all free as well as free gin and whisky. There is also an amazing breakfast platter for you to cook yourself a beautiful breakfast. There is free wifi and if you look hard enough you will find a free chocolate or three!! We are already planning two more trips back there this year as you do not get any better in our opinion.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HBLMGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed in Room 6 (twin/double) and it lived up to expectations. As per the other reviews, complimentary champagne, whisky, gin, soft drinks, mixers, delicious artisan bread and a very good breakfast for us to cook. Easily walkable to town centre and Castle Museum and river. Added bonus - as well as the restaurant, Loch Fyne fish restaurant is just over the road. As mentioned before, no checkout instructions (we left our keys with the cleaners), and perhaps an hour longer on weekends would be very welcome, rather than 10.30 am. Small complaint - there was black soap scum along the bottom of the shower screen, which the cleaners could have removed with a soft brush.

Room Tip: Room 6 can be a twin or a double and is a large apartment style room with a sofa, chair and dining t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leamlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
6.2 mi away
The Judges Lodging
The Judges Lodging
#11 of 47 in York
1,101 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
674 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Poplar House Serviced Apartments
6.4 mi away
Saint George's Keep
Saint George's Keep
#17 of 57 in York
53 reviews
6.5 mi away
Reubens Court Apartment
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blue Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Rooms

Address: 4 Franklins Yard, York YO1 9TN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 57 Specialty Lodging in York
Hotel Class:5 star — The Blue Rooms 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your The Blue Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blue Rooms Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing