We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, convenient - what more do you want?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Queen Annes Guest House
Ranked #58 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
198 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Clean, convenient - what more do you want?”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights on a Wowcher deal. Concern this may mean lower standards were totally unfounded as we had a nice bright, clean room (No.8 on 2nd floor in the house next door-No.26) with a very comfortable double bed. The corner shower cubicle was a bit small (but then this is not an hotel) and towels were changed daily and the bed made up. Four Yorkshire tea bags and four Nescafe "tubes" with eight milk "jigger pots" and sugar sachets, replenished each day, was a nice touch- double the amount you get in a Travelodge!. The breakfast (taken at the main house No.28) was perfectly cooked, with cereal beforehand if required, along with orange juice and tea or coffee. The owners, Phil and Teresa were friendly and welcoming and the location is perfect being only 5-10 minutes to Bootham Bar (that's a 14th C. gatehouse not a pub incidentally), passing a Sainsbury's Local halfway if you want sweets etc and then York Minster is a few hundred yards beyond the gateway. Parking on street is free with a permit from the owners, but if you are tempted to take up Phil's offer of off-street parking be sure you are good at reversing and know the width of your car as the lane to the parking area is narrow - or let Phil park it for you - he's done it before!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StuB62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    70
    30
    13
    8
See reviews for
38
146
23
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

We arrived at guest house on 8th April 2014 early afternoon to a nice cheery welcome from young gentleman, he showed us up to our room, explained times for breakfast. Room was immaculate, beds comfortable, bathroom clean, plenty of room for 3 person.
Came for breakfast both mornings of our stay, welcomed by owner, breakfast was excellent, best scrambled eggs ever.
Highly recommend this guest house, ideal location, excellent breakfast, owners very welcoming and helpful.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank kazkb1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We visited Queen Anne guest house in York with some friends over the weekend of 28 to 30 March. Very good guest house. Location excellent. Food good and accommodation very comfortable and clean. Phil and his staff were very hospitable nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hils123_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Stayed here Wednesday 26th and Thursday 27th March. Twin room for my daughter and I. Service was second to none and the owners could not have been more helpful. Separate bathroom was not a problem as it was just at the bottom of the stairs and always lovely and warm and clean. Only a few minutes walk to the Minster so fantastic location. Breakfast was just perfect and all fresh ingredients. Absolutely no complaints and would recommend this to anyone wishing to spend a few days in York.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We had a lovely weekend in york and this was a lovely little place to stay.room was nice and bed lovely & comfy...shower cubicle was a bit small but nice toiletries in the bathroom.Breakfast was gorgeous and perfectly cooked and excellent portion sizes.The owners are very welcoming and friendly,would definately stay here again if we go back to York!!!!

Room Tip: Take warm pyjamas if you go in the winter as it was quite cold.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emma c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

We where in room 8 and stayed two night. The room is perfect with lots of character. Nice to see proper Yorkshire tea bags in the room. Towels changed daily and room turned down. The cleanliness of room was of high standard. The cooked breakfast was brilliant with options of cereal. The location is perfect for exploring York , it's a short walk to centre where everything you could want is on your door step. This is the place you want to stay !!!! Be back again .

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tegan91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We stayed here a few days ago. The room was ok, quite small but adequate for two nights (we stayed in the house next door). The bathroom was small and the shower could have been cleaner (there was mould in the grouting and the shower walls/floor needed a good clean). Unfortunately the room was not cleaned daily, there was a sticker on the bathroom wall to say that if you wanted your towels changed to put them in the shower/bath which we did, but they were still there when we arrived back from a long day out so had to use them again the same night! Someone had been in as the bin had been emptied but that was it.

All that said, the cooked breakfast was lovely (but could have had more choice of cereal or some fresh fruit), the beds were comfy and there was a nice TV in the room along with plenty of tea/coffee etc. The hotel is in a great location for visiting the city center, just a shame that a couple of niggles let it down a bit..

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Johnny_Bravo_987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.2 mi away
Number 34 Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
No. 21 York
No. 21 York
#12 of 192 in York
754 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alcuin Lodge
Alcuin Lodge
#3 of 192 in York
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
St. Raphael Guest House
0.1 mi away
23 St. Mary's
23 St. Mary's
#13 of 192 in York
207 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Sycamore Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen Annes Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Annes Guest House

Property: Queen Annes Guest House
Address: 24 Queen Annes Road | Bootham, York YO30 7AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Queen Annes Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Queen Annes Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Annes Guest House Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing