We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Queen Annes Guest House - York England B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Queen Annes Guest House
Ranked #58 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mount Dora, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Queen Annes Guest House - York England B&B”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

A "poor" rating (2 dots) really isn't fair, because the room was clean but cramped for space. An 'average' rating isn't fair either, because there are many average B&B's in York and across the United Kingdom, which surpass this one, but there is neither a 3- or a 2+ rating, So I give it a 3. The room was clean and we were looking for a place to sleep, not a luxury hotel. However, the room was small, the en-suite bathroom was equally small. The shower trickled the first night, and didn't work at all the second day - I had to use the communal bath room which is not what I paid for, nor what I prefer. Breakfast was good, can't complain but then again it's hard to ruin eggs, bacon and toast. HOWEVER, they could have had fresh brewed coffee - it wasn't - it was instant. That's in poor taste IMHO.
If you'r looking traveling solo and only want a place to sleep, don't care if a shower is available or not, and aren't a coffee drinker, this B&B is as good as any and you'll be ok. However, for the money, I'd look farther.

Room Tip: Queen Annes isn't bad - but it isn't average either...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BGDG2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    70
    30
    13
    8
See reviews for
38
146
23
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed for only one night and it was excellent! We got there in the late afternoon after a long traveling day and we felt so comfortable that we didn't leave the room until the next day. The room was nice and clean and the bathroom, even if small was very nice, new and super clean. The wireless internet didn't work in the room (room 9 in the last floor), which was the only downside.
Friendly girls served us at breakfast, they even bought soya milk for me as I requested the evening before!! It would have been nice if they had other options for breakfast for people that are not used to heavy British egg, bacon and beans and are not such fans of cereal, such as fruit and cake for example.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patcapanema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
Reviewed May 1, 2012

I stayed in April when it rained got back to b &b no heating i was wet threw heating came on at night. Was at the front of building traffic used the road has a short cut in the morning. Had a sink in my room inside plug dirty and plug hole rusty so could not use. It's about 10mins from city centre and 10mins from train station so location not bad if you o
Are on the train. The food I must say was good

Room Tip: I don't want to sound negative but I wished I had spent that little bit more and stayed somewher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josephine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 9, 2012

stayed recently, only thing going for it is location to the town centre about 5-10 mins walk. the room we stayed in was drab, dated, very basic and in dire need of decorating.bathroom and shower cleaniness was well under par.
there was also a musty smell in the premises.
if ever i return to york , its definately not a place i would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shagroot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunderland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

we stayed here for a weekend in york,it is located at the minster end of york,lots of the olde pubs in york close as you walk into york,about 5-10mins into town centre.Our room was very basic,small with en-suite abit grubby we didnt us e it no shampoo,shower gel etc.Breakfast was good,all in all good value for money but not sure id stay again,it wasnt inviting enough for me, i prefer pubs,or hotels.

Room Tip: ask for a room upstairs,stopped downstairs in heard the breakfast being made early in the morning an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kazsafc2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruckersville, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed December 24, 2011

Have stayed before and will again in February. This place is in a quiet neighborhood and you get to feel like a part of the community atmosphere here when you spend several days. While not every room is ensuite, that isn't a problem. Am not too worried about the heating as I've had colder B&Bs in Edinburgh. It is an easy walk to and from the train station and downtown, so if you don't have a car, no problem.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford UK
Level Contributor
83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2011

I expected a lot from this guest house based on its website and the reviews on here, and indeed there are a lot of positives - it's only 10 minutes walk from York Minster. Parking on-street is no problem and permits are provided for the full length of the stay. Staff are polite and friendly, although the teenage boy serving at breakfast on Saturday morning was incapable of getting even the most basic of orders correct. There is free wi-fi, which is always a bonus. We were provided with a key for the front door so we could come and go as we wished.

However, I was disappointed with the overall quality of our room. It was very small (much smaller than the photos on the website make it seem) and being on the top floor, the eaves of the roof made the ceiling quite low in places. The washbasin was in the bedroom - the novelty of this kind of facility wore off when I was a student in digs. The bedroom had very dated decor but was very clean. Sadly the shower room, which was genuinely tiny, was a bit grubby with rather a lot of black mould on the wallpaper at the top of the wall and also inside the shower tray. It was easy to see why though - there was an extractor fan it made a lot of noise but was pretty much ineffective otherwise.

On top of all of this, the room was extremely cold. The heating in the room was not on when we arrived and despite several members of our party asking at various times of day why it was not on, they were told 'it might be on later'. It was 3 celsius and very windy outside in York that day, so it was very unpleasant to return to a cold room to get changed and to then return again after an evening out to a still-cold room. Luckily the bed was comfortable and the duvet was very warm but it is not pleasant to sleep in a cold room. The heating finally came on at 4am on Saturday morning, but even so the radiator in our room was only lukewarm even when on full so it was really only warm right next to it - certainly no heat reached the shower room and because the shower itself was pretty lukewarm despite being run for a while it made for a very chilly morning routine.

Breakfast was OK for a B&B, although it would have been nice if the toast had actually been toast rather than merely vaguely warm bread.

Overall, this is an OK guest house for those on a budget, and it's in an excellent location. However it is in need of updating to bring it into the 21st century - a cold house is not a welcoming and homely house.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beckysimms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.2 mi away
Number 34 Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
No. 21 York
No. 21 York
#12 of 192 in York
754 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alcuin Lodge
Alcuin Lodge
#3 of 192 in York
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
St. Raphael Guest House
0.1 mi away
23 St. Mary's
23 St. Mary's
#13 of 192 in York
207 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Sycamore Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen Annes Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Annes Guest House

Property: Queen Annes Guest House
Address: 24 Queen Annes Road | Bootham, York YO30 7AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Queen Annes Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Queen Annes Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Annes Guest House Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing