We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st Time in York”
Review of Dairy Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dairy Guest House
Ranked #61 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle u Lyme
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“1st Time in York”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

How sad, writing this just a day back home. I must get out more.....
Found and booked this guest house on the net and then checked it out on Trip.

Not disappointed.
Not on a budget but, for a couple of nights we can manage (used to camping in a tent).
Room small (Room No 1) but comfy. (Bed very comfy luv it). Shower/toilet tiny, sorry folks. Im 6ft.2 and just managed but it is small.
Apart from that I would/will go back (if they let me, I have a wicked SOH). Maybe another room next time.
That aside I cannot fault it, parking over the road approx 30 mtrs away, good breakfast, friendly.
All in all very nice and thankyou (do I get discount?).
Quite a nice selection of shops close by too, but we did not have time to try, chip shop, deli, indian, chinese, cafe, sainsburys,

Anyway, close to town maybe 10 - 15 mins walk to clifford tower area, another 10-15 stroll through the shambles and town to the minster.

Mondays, we found alot of restaurents are closed, pubs do meals but quite expensive i thought.
I dont think £11.95 for a lamb shank in a pastry top some mash and beans is worth that.
Alot of the oldy world pubs nice as they are seem to be empty aswell!. i think they rely too much on the passing tourist.
Railway museum is great, missed the jorvick viking museum as it was £16 / person!!!!.....come on please be sensible.

So, Cheers, Dairy guest house, Thankyou.very nice. Highly recommended.

TIP. Anyone using that stupid A1(M) beware.....3 lane, down to 2 lane, run off and getting back on is soooo dangerous, vertually no slip road.
TIP 2. Knaresborough, approx 20 miles away, very nice riverside walk, old mother Shipton attraction and nice town.

Room Tip: Room 1 has a very small annexed bathroom, but heh, if your under 5 foot like my wife...great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    52
    12
    5
    5
See reviews for
30
74
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Couldn't swing a cat in the room ! So small and fixtures and bedding very very basic.
The bathroom was more like a walk in wardrobe.
Don't expect luxury in a B@B but do expect better value for money.
Breakfast is served in a forty five min slot! Never come across that before.
Proprietors very pleasant and welcoming ,however it certainly s not four star standard.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 24conway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

York is expensive to visit & many hotels are overpriced but this B&B, a 5 min walk from the Castle Museum/Clifford's Tower area, is great value. It's at the top of a cute little street lined with cafes & lovely shops. We had the spacious family room, comfy beds & a very thoughtful hospitality tray with bottled water, tea/coffee, hot choc , wine glasses, chocs & plenty of biccies! Ken, the very friendly & helpful owner, provided me with a flask of cold milk for my cuppas when I asked :) Lovely cooked breakfast. The shower room is very compact, but why do we feel we need big bathrooms anyway?! We'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keriza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Location was very good, value for money accommodation. A very comfortable experience. Good host, great breakfast and parking was not an issue. Within walking distance of al main sites within the walls of York city.

Room Tip: Front room on first floor with bay window was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjmortons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deganwy, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights with my mum and a family friend in a family room and we were all very impressed! good value for money, comfy rooms, delicious breakfast, good location! owners were very friendly and helpfull aswell! would definitely stay here again. location was perfect, nice and quiet with parking access and only a 10min walk into york center.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

My mum and I stayed here for a long weekend. We shopped till we dropped! York has great shops!! Location of guest house is excellent. Owners are absolutely lovely people. Veggie breakfast yumm! We stayed in twin ensuite room, clean & comfortable. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmalouhan31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights.
10 minutes walk to the City centre.
The rooms were ok, the double bed not very big, plenty of Tea, coffee and Hot chocolate.
The bathroom in our bedroom were very small, but for 2 nights it was ok.
The Breakfast was good, though only served between 8.30-9.15am, could have done with a lie in...
Be aware that the Guest House is on a busy Road and next door to a Sainsbury , which gets deliveries every morning.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HWW63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.2 mi away
Farthings Guest House
Farthings Guest House
#50 of 192 in York
197 reviews
0.0 mi away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#47 of 192 in York
263 reviews
0.9 mi away
23 St. Mary's
23 St. Mary's
#13 of 192 in York
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Warrens
Warrens
#90 of 192 in York
216 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ashley House
Ashley House
#16 of 192 in York
356 reviews
1.0 mi away
Queen Annes Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dairy Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dairy Guest House

Property: Dairy Guest House
Address: 3 Scarcroft Road, York YO23 1ND, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dairy Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dairy Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dairy Guest House Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing