We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”
Review of Dairy Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dairy Guest House
Ranked #56 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Couldn't swing a cat in the room ! So small and fixtures and bedding very very basic.
The bathroom was more like a walk in wardrobe.
Don't expect luxury in a B@B but do expect better value for money.
Breakfast is served in a forty five min slot! Never come across that before.
Proprietors very pleasant and welcoming ,however it certainly s not four star standard.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 24conway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
There are newer reviews for Dairy Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 184 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

York is expensive to visit & many hotels are overpriced but this B&B, a 5 min walk from the Castle Museum/Clifford's Tower area, is great value. It's at the top of a cute little street lined with cafes & lovely shops. We had the spacious family room, comfy beds & a very thoughtful hospitality tray with bottled water, tea/coffee, hot choc , wine glasses, chocs & plenty of biccies! Ken, the very friendly & helpful owner, provided me with a flask of cold milk for my cuppas when I asked :) Lovely cooked breakfast. The shower room is very compact, but why do we feel we need big bathrooms anyway?! We'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keriza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Location was very good, value for money accommodation. A very comfortable experience. Good host, great breakfast and parking was not an issue. Within walking distance of al main sites within the walls of York city.

Room Tip: Front room on first floor with bay window was great
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjmortons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights with my mum and a family friend in a family room and we were all very impressed! good value for money, comfy rooms, delicious breakfast, good location! owners were very friendly and helpfull aswell! would definitely stay here again. location was perfect, nice and quiet with parking access and only a 10min walk into york center.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

My mum and I stayed here for a long weekend. We shopped till we dropped! York has great shops!! Location of guest house is excellent. Owners are absolutely lovely people. Veggie breakfast yumm! We stayed in twin ensuite room, clean & comfortable. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emmalouhan31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights.
10 minutes walk to the City centre.
The rooms were ok, the double bed not very big, plenty of Tea, coffee and Hot chocolate.
The bathroom in our bedroom were very small, but for 2 nights it was ok.
The Breakfast was good, though only served between 8.30-9.15am, could have done with a lie in...
Be aware that the Guest House is on a busy Road and next door to a Sainsbury , which gets deliveries every morning.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HWW63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Lovely clean rooms. About 10-15 minute walk to town centre. We had a four poster bed with ensuite. Lovely room but bed very unstable so every time we moved in bed it creaked and banged lol. Breakfast was lovely. Had iPod docking station alarm click in room. Lovely place

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank relomajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.2 mi away
Farthings Guest House
Farthings Guest House
#49 of 194 in York
203 reviews
0.1 mi away
Warrens
Warrens
#92 of 194 in York
216 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ashley House
Ashley House
#17 of 194 in York
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#51 of 194 in York
270 reviews
0.4 mi away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#7 of 194 in York
1,409 reviews
1.0 mi away
St. Raphael Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dairy Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dairy Guest House

Address: 3 Scarcroft Road, York YO23 1ND, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: $105 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dairy Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Dairy Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dairy Guest House Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing