We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely home from home”

Review of Waverley

A cottagey look to a townhouse close the the city centre
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A cottagey look to a townhouse close the the city centre
The living room The living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
59 reviews
A cottagey look to a townhouse close the the city centre
The living room
The living room
The dining area
The newly fitted bathroom
Front bedroom
Front bedroom
Back Bedroom
Attic Bedroom
Attic en suite
Patio
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 59 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Karen J
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely home from home”
Reviewed December 23, 2015 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for 2 nights with our 3 children in this lovely home, which is full of character. There were no problems with collecting the keys and parking pass, we also got a sheet of information about the house and nearby supermarkets/takeaways before we arrived. We appreciated that there was milk in the fridge, and the house was decorated for Christmas. The house is close to York Minster and the Christmas Markets were in walking distance, which was the reason for our visit

Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 24, 2015
Pleased you liked the house and you enjoyed your stay in York which we think is especially lovely at Christmas time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malcolm...
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“VERY ENJOYABLE TIME IN THIS LOVELY QUIET COTTAGE”
Reviewed December 13, 2015 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This lovely town cottage in a quiet part of York 5 minutes walk from the Minster. We all enjoyed our visit and have booked again for next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 24, 2015
We'll look forward to seeing you again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterSOL1...
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great property”
Reviewed December 10, 2015 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have had 3 fabulous days in York made all the more special by staying in your very comfortable property. The location is perfect for walking into the city and enjoying all York has to offer. The property has all you could possibly need,it's warm cosy,very comfortable beds ,in fact the owners have thought of everything to make your stay as memorable as possible.. Would highly recommend and hope to return in the not too distant future

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 11, 2015
Thank you Peter. We'll look forward to welcoming you back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nic-Billy...
London, England
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed November 30, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Great house, so close to the city. The house has everything you could possibly need. The wood burning stove was delightful. The parking permit provided saves a small fortune on parking!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Working the heating
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 1, 2015
Pleased everything was ok. As traffic is a problem in York we supply a permit to relieve guests of the headache of finding somewhere to park.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela R
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Charming Characterful Cottage”
Reviewed November 14, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

This welcoming cottage is everything you could hope for. We can only reiterate the previous good comments. We loved our stay and would certainly book the cottage again should we return to York.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 16, 2015
You would be very welcome if you came to York again. Thank you for leaving the house so clean.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra T
Witham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely house with homely feel minutes away from city centre”
Reviewed November 11, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Mary was a perfect hostess fresh milk and homemade brownies on our arrival. Key collection very easy great to park the car outside and be able to walk to any of the many sights of York. We used it as a base for a family wedding like a home from home very comfortable and enough space for 6 adults

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 12, 2015
I'm pleased you liked the house and enjoyed your stay in York (in spite of poor weather). Thank you for your review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca G
Essex, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely house and very quiet.”
Reviewed August 8, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Love the location of the house,it was really homely and Mary baked us some cakes when we first arrived.Our stay was for 2 weeks,our daughter loved the room at the top of the house,so much that she did not want to come home.Thank you Mary for renting out this little jem.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 9, 2015
I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay so much. Thank you for a lovely review and also for leaving the house spotlessly clean.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing