We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Wheel of York - CLOSED
Save
Review Highlights
Amazing

Went here in August it was amazing. I love heights but my dad doesn't so he shut his eyes all of... read more

Reviewed January 5, 2016
Simonebonyrose
via mobile
Brilliant hour

This was a total surprise for my birthday and what a lovely gift. It was not particularly cold... read more

Reviewed December 3, 2015
JS1960UnitedKingdom
,
Selby, United Kingdom
Read all 15 reviews
  
Reviews (15)
Filter reviews
15 results
Traveler rating
8
4
3
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8
4
3
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 15 reviews
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We were in York for the day sites seeing and shopping. The wheel has fabulous views and amazingly comfortable seats and very nice staff. We did not book a pod and they were still able to fit us in! Would defiantly go again.

Date of experience: August 2013
Thank ruth n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

The wheel has now gone !!! But there is still plenty of other places to visit here in york.but if you come in car avoid lendal bridge between the hours of 10-30am till 5pm everyday, you will get fined £30 if you use it between these hours !!!

5  Thank 201PaulH201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Well worth a trip on this slow moving 'Big Wheel' to have a fabulous view of the City and its surroundings. Audio is provided in the enclosed cabins to give local information to enhance your ride. You'll have to be quick though as it is not a permanent fixture in York.

Date of experience: September 2013
1  Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed at the Royal York Hotel recently and the Wheel of York is situated in the Gardens behind the hotel. When staying at the Royal York Hotel you get 50% off which makes the wheel really great value for money. You get spectacular views as you go around and we got to go around 5 times.

At the beginning of the trip they take a photo of you and then try to sell you a photo package ranging from £15 to £20. A bit over priced but you are on holiday and just have to take the photo even if the photo was not the best quality.

Will definitely go back on it next time I am in York

Date of experience: August 2013
1  Thank Jas0n1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We visited York over the Easter break and it was extremely busy. However, the York eye was very quiet with no queues.

For £8.50 per adult and £5 for children, you get to go around about 4 times.

You can have your photo taken just before you get in the pod; which you have to yourself. There is also an audio commentarty that was very good, pointing out the main sites of York.

Although it is nowhere near as big as the London eye, the views are amazing, especially when we were there as the sun was shining and the skies clear.

When we got off we were able to purchase our photo. It came in a booklet that had a key ring and fridge magnet. Bit pricey though.

All in all, the staff were helpful and friendly and the views great.

Worth doing just the once.

Date of experience: March 2013
4  Thank pecanpie2205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews