We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice meal”
Review of The Postern Gate

The Postern Gate
Ranked #255 of 946 Restaurants in York
Price range: $4 - $20
Cuisines: International, Pub
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Four of us went here for a meal on a day trip to York, waiting staff and bar staff very helpful and pleasant did not have to wait long for our food which was very nice, would come here again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank djgriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
p1845, Manager at The Postern Gate, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit to the postern gate and to york.
We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (720)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

598 - 602 of 720 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2014

A typical weatherspoons pub which is popular with stag and hen groups as they are staying in nearby travelodge.
Ordered a burger and as usual in these pubs it took ages to arrive and when it did it was the wrong one. I was then questioned by staff if I had eaten someone else!!
After all that food was ok!!

Thank bugalugs86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
p1845, Manager at The Postern Gate, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

I am sorry to hear that you had a less than perfect experiance. We will look into this and why this happened and to try and make sure that this doesn't happen in the future.
We am pleased that the food you ate was tasty even though it wasnt what you ordered...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

This Wetherspoons is attached to the York Central Travelodge, an ideal place to eat and drink if you are staying in the Travelodge. Good service, lovely food and all for a very good price.

Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
p1845, Manager at The Postern Gate, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Thank you for your response, we are glad you found the venue to your liking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Whilst we were in York for a couple of days decided to visit this restaurant last night and ordered 2 rumps steaks and a bottle of wine for £17.99. Steaks were tender and tasty, chips were cooked just right - perfect meal at a perfect price. Only downside - hubby split a glass of wine all over me!!!! Anyway we returned this morning for breakfast and were not disappointed. Would definitely re-visit next time we are in York.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 696susanh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
p1845, Manager at The Postern Gate, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2014

We are glad that you found one of our Steak Club deals value for money and tasty.
Glad we managed to set you up for the day with the breakfast too. Look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

we were staying at Hotel 53 opposite and had breakfast there the first morning - good choice and prices acceptable. Likewise, had dinner there on first night, the service is reasonably quick and the food okay

Thank WorldwideAtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
p1845, Manager at The Postern Gate, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

We are sorry to hear that you were not impressed with our establishment.
If you have any feed back to help improve it please feel free to get in touch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Postern Gate also viewed

 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Postern Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing