We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Postern Gate

The Postern Gate
Ranked #127 of 860 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $18
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Nelson, Lancashire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

We stayed two nights at the adjoining Travelodge. We ate at Wetherspoons the first night and both had the Burger and Chips. The burger was very tasty and not at all fatty. The next morning we went for breakfast and I had the full english.!At £5 I was quite disappointed. It was barely warm and the fried egg was stone cold. We used the bar on the second night (Monday) and I found Ruddles the cheapest pint at £1.99p. It was fabulous. Tasty and kept its head all the way down the glass. Sandra my wife had several glasses of Pino which she found delicious.Definitely will visit Wetherspoons again on our next visit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank keswickman22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    247
    74
    32
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, England
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good value for simple food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

If you are wanting a value snack this is the place. The place lacks atmosphere and seemed very busy when we visited on a Tuesday afternoon. You get what you pay for and if you want a reasonable snack in York go here. Don't expect to be startled but the fayre is ok and does the job.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ferg64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Little disappointed.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Was a little disappointed with this Wetherspoons.

The family area we were sat in was too dark to see what we were eating, and food could have been warmer.

Customer service could have been better too.

Helpful?
Thank LRC_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
232 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
“Friendly service from vibrant youthful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

I spent 6 hours in this extremely busy pub this Sunday afternoon. I'm not saying the food is 'cordon bleu' or anything, but as pub grub it was perfectly satisfactory. I had the gourmet burger for lunch which was served promptly and was excellent value as was the beer. You order at the bar and the food is delivered to your numbered table. The staff were vibrant and friendly and I was especially impressed with Beth and Emma.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PaulU561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Rude staff. Badly cooked food. Need I go on. ”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Exceptionally rude staff arguing behind the bar and being very snappy to me and other customers. Very slow service despite not being very busy. Tables left uncleared for over 30 minutes even though over half the restaurant was empty. To top it off the duty manager shouting at the staff behind the bar threatening to close the pub.
The meals when we finally got them were dreadful. A steak ordered "rare" would have been less cooked in a crematorium and a chicken burger somehow still bleeding but exceptionally dry.
Probably won't be visiting again soon. It's just a shame I couldn't rate this place worse than terrible.

Helpful?
Thank Adam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Postern Gate also viewed

 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Postern Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing