We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Perfect Holiday Experience”
other travelers have booked this property
Open plan living area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Open plan living area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
Open plan living area
Room 1
En-Suite
Room 1
Your kitchen
Your kitchen
Room 2
The Annex from neighbouring field
Your private entrance
View from your patio
The Surrounding fields
Your ample parking
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
NeilCGB
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Perfect Holiday Experience”
Reviewed March 20, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Having stayed in many holiday properties over the past 15 years, it is very rare to find such a special property that offers a home-from-home feel where you actually look forward to returning and relaxing after a day out. The peaceful rural location means that you are away from the hustle and bustle of city and town living, but you're only a short car journey away from the shops at Tadcaster and the visitor attractions in the City of York. The owners have thought about everything to cater for needs of their guests and the property has been tastefully planned with a simple layout that makes it easy to keep an eye on younger children. The complimentary bottle of wine and chocolates was a nice personal touch for our arrival, and our 2-year old son was absolutely thrilled to find a box of toys and books waiting for him. There are so many good points about The Annex that it's impossible to mention them all: the standard of cleanliness was excellent; the cot was full size with a lovely selection of soft toys; the TV, DVD library and games console were top notch; the underfloor heating kept us comfy and warm throughout the cold weather; the bed mattresses were great quality; the bathrooms were spotless with lovely hot showers; nice big comfy sofa. The Annex rates as one of our all-time favourite holiday properties and is highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Property layout is appealing to adults, but also very child-friendly.
Liked least: No potato masher!!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chloe M
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Quirky, fun and well just awesome!!”
Reviewed March 12, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Just got from our 3 night stay and I would 100% recommend this place. The owners are lovely and should be proud of the little retreat they have created :) there are plenty of local pubs, it's a short drive to york city centre and the designer outlet so you won't run out of things to do but even if you did there's plenty of films, games and even a wii to keep you entertained inside the annex. If your looking for some were to stay near York then book here and you won't regret it. It even has heated flooring!!

We got this stay as a gift so not sure on the exact price but looking at the rates it's well with every penny and I will be staying again.

Thank you for a great stay and next time we will tackle the climbing wall!!

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday20...
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great”
Reviewed November 17, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Excellent accommodation. Quiet lovely countryside location, spacious and very friendly owners. Nice personal touches with chocolates for the kids etc. We all loved the climbing wall! Convenient for York.
Kitchen area fine for light meals but Gordon Ramsey would struggle.
Will be back!

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“just perfect for a get-away with friends”
Reviewed November 6, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Such a lovely location at the edge of the village. Clean ,smart, comfy furnishings. Plenty of information on places to visit, lots of dvd's; books; games and such if the weather turned against us (which it didn't, couldn't have been more perfect for Autumn!) Lovely welcome, made even better by a nice bottle of wine, Thanks!! Only small criticism was a tiny fridge, but already Rob and Ruth have upgraded!! That's what I call listening to the customer! Return visit booked for next Spring what better recommendation could you have?

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steph2139...
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
“Relaxing in luxury!”
Reviewed November 6, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Oliver farm is beautiful, well appointed and ideal for travellers who want luxury and comfort!
We travelled with our two young children and felt very welcomed by our hosts! Lovely people!
We will definitely be back!

Glorious rural location and only a short drive from York for city fun.

We enjoyed the local pubs. People at the crown were very kind and the old sun offered delicious food!

Loved our three nights :)

Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan R
Hereford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wow, What a beautiful cottage.”
Reviewed September 30, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

This was a beautiful cottage attached to the farmhouse. The accommodation was well presented with two well proportioned bedrooms. The cottage had everything you need, the area is in an area of outstanding beauty. The local public houses were welcoming and the food was delicious. This was a good place to stay with easy access to the city of York.

An enjoyable place to stay and we would love to stay again a high recommendation from us. (4 adults from Wales)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful place all very recently decorated to a high standard
Liked least: Would like to be able to walk to a paper shop for a daily newspaper.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VicD45
Stafford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Amazing accommodation”
Reviewed September 28, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We stayed at the Annex while visiting our daughter in Barwick-in-Elmet. It has been built and furnished to a very high standard and situated in a lovely quiet rural village of Bolton Percy. The owners Ruth and Rob were very friendly and made us most welcome. We had an excellent break and look forward to returning again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Winding lane from Tadcaster
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing