We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Food”
Review of Krakatoa - CLOSED

Krakatoa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $32
Cuisines: Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Dinner service runs from 5pm, until last orders at 10pm, Tuesday to Saturday. Close at 11pm. Takeaway available during service hours. Reservations welcome. Lunch parties considered for groups of 12+. We are a 55 seat family run restaurant (35 down/ 20 up). Krakatoa Room seats 20+. Available for group hire. We are 5 mins from the railway station and 2 mins from the bus station. Within 5 mins of all major office centres. A secret oasis with beautiful views. Hand painted interior mural, batiks, paintings and photos by artist Tim Potter (all available for sale).Falling distance form Cedar Court Grand Hotel and the Hampton by Hilton Hotel. We are fully licensed from 5pm. We do not serve the seriously intoxicated. All food is scratch made and no msg in any dish. Many vegetarian and gluten free options. Many mild and savoury dishes available. If you like it hot, add your own sambal (secret family recipe chilli paste) until the spice/ heat ratio is right for you. Rica-Rica available for 'heat-seekers.' Incredibly moreish. The kitchen is knocking it out of the park.Hope to see you soon. X
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious Food”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I came with a group of friends and decided to try this restaurant for something different. I've never had Indonesian food and thought it was lovely. There is a nice selection of wines and beers too which the owner has obviously put effort in to choosing. Try to get a seat by the window as you get a gorgeous view of the Cedar Court Hotel. Will definitely go back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

444 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    309
    91
    28
    14
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
North Yorks
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Lovely food but the make over needs to continue upstairs”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We visited this restaurant recently and really enjoyed the expensive food. Three months ago this was a run down poor Indian restaurant, now it's Krakatoa. Unfortunately the chairs are really worn and uncomfortable and the stairs to the toilet have the original horrible worn carpet. The loos were dirty and needed updating, the toilet doors were covered in finger marks from over the years. Yuk! When you are paying top notch prices you expect top notch facilities not just the food sorry. The décor and toilets took it from a 4 (very good) to a 3 (average). We thought they would benefit from a set evening menu. The portions were enormous but often when restaurants open this happens for a while then they revert.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RickersNorthYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakatoa Y, Owner at Krakatoa, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
We are very happy that you enjoyed our 'expensive' food, although at an average cost of £10 for a main and £2.50 for a side dish, I am not convinced that we are expensive - a dominoes pizza would cost you more - without the stuffed crust. The prices are published on FaceBook and Twitter and in the menu box outside the entrance, and in the menu itself, so we would assume that you were aware of the cost before deciding to eat here. We are a little more expensive than some our competitors, in line with others, and substantially cheaper than some, but then you couldn't open a jar of Uncle Ben's sauce and replicate one of our meals at home. We spare no expense in our ingredient selections because we don't want to feed you a tray full of chemicals at takeaway prices, which is how the previous business slid into decline - there is no MSG or E621 in any of our dishes.

The Mogul actually closed last October, not 3 months ago, and after 5 months of very hard work on the renovation of the entire building, on a minuscule budget, we opened in May. So, I would agree, the stair carpet is worn, we simply could not afford to update everything, we just felt that a hygienic, functioning kitchen would serve our guests better than a new stair carpet. And yes, our toilets need updating, but they are not dirty, at least they are not dirty at the start of service.

We do take on board your suggestion for an early bird set menu in the evenings, we already do this for lunch, as well as a £5 takeaway 'lunch in a box' promotion. So as we are just 3 months old and still just getting established, please give us another chance, you know you are going to get an extremely high quality meal consisting of a starter, main, side and a drink for less than £20 quid, in a relaxing atmosphere, if a little rough and ready. We do have spare chairs too, so please don't sit in discomfort and then complain about it afterwards - give us a chance to rectify the situation at the time that you dine.

We had no money left for promotion or advertising after the renovations. We have benefited from our trip advisor reviews, however, having a high position on trip advisor does not mean that everything is going to be perfect or of Michelin star standard. If you keep knocking us with poor or average reviews that push us down the trip advisor list, for things that have nothing to do with our food or service, we'll never get the money in to complete the job. We are committed to a process of constant improvements - but the food comes first at Krakatoa. X
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, slow to deliver”
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Food was great, but they took almost an hour to serve and ran out of beers, I'm not a big drinker but when waiting an hour you get through a couple! Bottom line is the food is great, just need to work on the service and this could go from good to great.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakatoa Y, Owner at Krakatoa, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for the review. I am sorry that your meal was so slow to arrive. When you scratch make everything it can increase food production times especially if we get a rush i.e. lots of 'walk ins' come at the same time, so my apologies. I am a little concerned about the running out of beer comment, as we have not run out of beer since the fourth week. We may have run out of cold beer of the brand you wanted but we have a number of high quality alternatives on offer, so again, my apologies, as there seems to have been some confusion here. Your first beer will be on the house next time you come to dine at Krakatoa. X
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a visit”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We visited on a Friday evening and were surprised how quiet it was. The food was excellent and very tasty. The stuffed tofu starter and beef rendang main course were particularly good. The service was friendly and attentive. Prices were slightly higher than we'd have liked, but overall, we'd recommend this restaurant if you want to try something a little different.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank isaacparkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakatoa Y, Owner at Krakatoa, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you so much for the complimentary review. Basically, we had a choice, the best produce at a fair price, or cheap, out of a jar, for the '10 pints of lager' crowd. Well, there are plenty of restaurants like that in the vicinity, so we plumped for quality. Also, there are ways to make eating with us more affordable, for example, sharing 2 mains, one of meat, one of vegetables, plus a shared side. Our portions are large so there should easily be enough and perhaps leave space for dessert. Please discuss your options with me or any of the waiting staff as we all want you to have the best experience possible. Thanks again. X
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, UK
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“OK - has potential”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

The restaurant is worth finding (it's slightly off the beaten track but still quite central) and trying for something different. Recently refurbished (downstairs anyway) with a good, friendly atmosphere. Food was mixed; plate of mixed starters was way too big and oily (nearly all deep fried), nasi goreng was disappointing but the rendang was excellent. A good selction of beers and a small (but obviously carefully chosen) selection of wines. May try again sometime, but probably won't rush back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DoctorToxic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakatoa Y, Owner at Krakatoa, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thanks for the review. I understand the nasi goreng was too spicy for you. Any dish (except the rica-rica) can be made less spicy. Please make your request for less heat at the time of ordering should you return to dine again, or discuss your choices with me or any of the waiting staff. We all want you to leave satisfied at the very least. Four out of five items on the platter are fried, only the chicken sate is not, this will be the case in almost any Asian restaurant - in my favourite Chinese restaurant (Happy Valley on Goodramgate) even the seaweed is fried on their starter platter, and so are the ribs, the sesame toast and the spring rolls - so perhaps this dish was not for you. Please accept my apologies if the make-up of the dish was not made clear to you. X
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Krakatoa also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing