We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well presented museum.”

National Railway Museum
Ranked #85 of 874 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Well presented museum.”
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

Great museum & we were on our last place before home so we were shattered ! The museum was approx 30min from closing but the guy on the desk was very friendly & happy. It was a bonus as there is no admission fee, only a donation request. The cafe was unfortunately closed so I can't comment on this. The museum was very well displayed with the added exhibitions as well as the trains.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank janeknighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    67
    21
    11
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Day out with trains”
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

The National Railway Museum at York, (not forgetting the extension at Shildon, Co Durham) is well worth spending a 1/2 day for anyone, a train buff may actually wish to spend the day. No fee. There is parking at the site for £9 for the full day, which means you can easily also go into York City and the attractions there. Plenty of explanations of steam, with a full size cut out train to demonstrate the workings of steam engines. Great staff, answering questions, several cafe areas along with a research area on a mesenine floor. Highly recommended, for all the family and today being Easter it was still well visited but still plenty of space to get around. If your in the north east, you should visit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

I have 2 girls aged 6 and 4. You do not need to have boys to go here. It is interesting, exciting and educational. There is a miniature railway at £1 a ticket. Inside there is normally some activity going on. There is also a demonstration going on in the room near miniature railway. Amazing. In the great hall you can sit on the bullet train. Even the Harry potter train is here. My girls would come here every weekend if we could.

Helpful?
1 Thank anirtakremitrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Something for Everyone”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Well you can look at the old now polished steam trains but this location has a wondrous collection, that will keep you and your kids interested all day. A fantastic whole day out, it'll take all day.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Can't believe it's free”
Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely day out with our 7 year old Grandson. The weather wasn't very good and we wondered where we could go and enjoy a full day and learn. We couldn't have chose better and because we went by train the nrm York is at the train station!. We got him a book full of facts and figures with stickers to use as and when we found the facts of interest. We road on the 'Rocket' saw all the royal carriages, visited the science lesson, touched the trains in the main hall, played on the outdoor park and saw a BMX display team and our Grandson had his picture taken with Ben Savage. It was an action packed day enjoyed by us all.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank glynrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Railway Museum also viewed

 

Been to National Railway Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing