We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would recommend”
Review of The Whippet Inn

The Whippet Inn
Ranked #33 of 882 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Welcome to the Whippet Inn, York's newest Steak and Alehouse.We have now been open for just over a year and very proud to have marked the occasion by by winning 'Best Restaurant ' in the Visit York Tourism Awards 2014. So far we have raised a few eyebrows with our name, and many have said that our interior is certainly quirky if not a little risque, all of which we love as we want to be unique and fun. When it comes to the food and drinks we serve however; we are very serious... When we set about creating The Whippet Inn our main aim was to get the best food produce we could find in Yorkshire and then pair it with real ales, lagers, spirits and wines from around Great Britain. Yorkshire beef is our thing offering you 28 day or 40 day aged beef but we have something for everyone, be it, lunch & a lite bite, dinner or just a drink in our bar.Our bar is an eclectic mix of Real Yorkshire Ales - right through to over 30 bespoke gins- we maybe small but we have used every nook and cranny to ensure we have an amazing range to offer our quests. All this is delivered with down to earth homely Yorkshire hospitality. Another of our aims was to create a place where our guests could enjoy themselves with friends over dinner or to have a relaxing drink in the bar , a kind of home from home
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Would recommend”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

This is a small wee pub/restaurant in York and it's a cracking wee find. Had some lovely food and some great customer service. Child free so was able to relax and eat food in peace and quiet.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank weeyin83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,849 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,306
    332
    127
    53
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“An amazing engagement dinner!”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

Having never been to York before we had no idea how busy all the fabulous restaurants were! Turned up the the Whippet Inn, saw all the tables were full and worried we would be in for a bit of a wait...not at all! They opened up the private dining room and set up the room for us and another couple while we chose drinks at the bar. Brilliant member of bar staff, very knowledgeable and when they didn't have a specific spirit my partner wanted clearly showed their knowledge by recommending something that might suit his taste which he loves, and clearly listen to their patrons and when the didn't have a certain type of Rose, could recommend one that a patron particularly has mentioned tasted just as good, and they were absolutely correct. It has a lovely range of different spirits and different beers which was lovely and refreshing! We were seated quickly and the service and food were fantastic! I had scallops (perfectly cooked), my partner squid which was scrumptious. We both had sirloin steak for the main, without a doubt that was the best steak both of us have had in many many years! Onion rings and sweet potato chips were gorgeous. Service was attentive asking if we wanted additional drinks as soon as the glasses were empty and plates were cleared quickly and promptly. My other half had the gin and apple sorbet for pudding, very yummy and just a bit alcoholic! After paying the bill we had mentioned in passing that we had just gotten engaged and they then asked if we'd like to stay for a glass of bubbly on the house to celebrate! An amazing touch and end to a lovely engagement dinner! A little hidden gem which is clearly loved by many!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chloe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pav”
Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

So beautiful food!!! Definitely worth a any money !!! We had a steak, the meat was just melting in the mouth, best steak ever, worth it drive even from Newcastle for the meal and nice lovely day in york

Helpful?
Thank Pawel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“An excellent addition to the York restaurant scene”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

The Whippet Inn has only been a part of the York restaurant scene for just over a year and already it is attracting acclaim and awards. Marketing itself as a steak and alehouse it succeeds on both counts. A selection of local and regional hand pulled ales, backed by an interesting range of lagers and the expected pressured brands, it offers a good selection of pub style drinks. The food menu is varied, show-casing the very best of local produce in a wide range of meat, fish and vegetarian dishes, which are supplemented by different specials each day. The starters and desserts book end the mains admirably. The wine list, while not excessive, seeks to offer a good cross-section of grape variety and wine styles from producers around the world, and includes and excellent English sparkling range from Nytimber, Sussex. However, an establishment that stands as a steakhouse must live or die by the standards of its steaks. Differing cuts are on offer as are differing ages, but to truly appreciate the quality, one should order the 40 day dry hung steaks. In dry hanging over this timescale the liquids are dried out and flavours enhanced, and also ensures that you are not left with a plate of juice that floods other items on the plate, so often the scourge of pub steaks. My fillet was cooked to perfection, a melt in the mouth delight, full of flavour, with sides that enhanced the main headline. Perhaps, the Whippet Inn could encourage local producers to diversify their stock breeds to widen the choice of steak, thus to further its reputation as one of the best steakhouses in the city. The staff are knowledgeable and friendly working hard to ensure that their service is thoughtful without being overbearing and that you, the customer, enjoy the meal experience.

The Whippet Inn has been transformed from a rundown pub, through the vision and hard work of the new owner, who saw the need for something a little bit different and beyond the numerous franchise outlets and old style pubs that line the river. The Whippet Inn is obviously thriving, if a very busy Monday evening was anything to go by. It is a very welcome addition to the York restaurant scene and one, if the food standard remain high, will go from strength to strength. We will certainly be returning.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank adrian m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, wine and Ben = a top class night”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

We had a night out in York the weather was shocking, some serious rain, but our night was made fantastic by our visit to the Whippet Inn. It is a really great venue with just the right level of formality, relaxed, quaint with a little bit of something different. The food was fantastic as was the service .....special mention goes out to Ben, thanks. We had the 40 day aged steak which was just melt in the mouth, this wasn't gastronomic, but was excellent food cooked well and served with just the right level of seriousness, not too much, but enough to recognise they had someone who knows what they are doing in the kitchen!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NJGBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Whippet Inn also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Whippet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing