We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Whippet Inn

The Whippet Inn
Ranked #33 of 860 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse, British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Welcome to the Whippet Inn, York's newest Steak and Alehouse.We have now been open for just over a year and very proud to have marked the occasion by by winning 'Best Restaurant ' in the Visit York Tourism Awards 2014. So far we have raised a few eyebrows with our name, and many have said that our interior is certainly quirky if not a little risque, all of which we love as we want to be unique and fun. When it comes to the food and drinks we serve however; we are very serious... When we set about creating The Whippet Inn our main aim was to get the best food produce we could find in Yorkshire and then pair it with real ales, lagers, spirits and wines from around Great Britain. Yorkshire beef is our thing offering you 28 day or 40 day aged beef but we have something for everyone, be it, lunch & a lite bite, dinner or just a drink in our bar.Our bar is an eclectic mix of Real Yorkshire Ales - right through to over 30 bespoke gins- we maybe small but we have used every nook and cranny to ensure we have an amazing range to offer our quests. All this is delivered with down to earth homely Yorkshire hospitality. Another of our aims was to create a place where our guests could enjoy themselves with friends over dinner or to have a relaxing drink in the bar , a kind of home from home
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Went to the whippet for lunch with a friend, food was amazing and our waiter Matt was a great laugh and very knowledgable!

Helpful?
1 Thank Chris0110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,756 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,248
    306
    123
    48
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Once again great food and great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

Another lovely evening at the Whippet Inn, from the fantastic welcome from Morgan on arrival we enjoyed his own cocktail recipe a Thai Cosmo a great start! Sat promptly at our seats by server Dickie, who was very attentive and provided great service throughout. The food was at its usual high standard having eaten here lots before you can always guarantee a delicious meal that is just the right portion size, steaks are a must here with meat that just melts in your mouth. I would recommend to anybody looking for a night out with guaranteed great food and service.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahByrne_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kazan, Russia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Aspiring menu and overall, bordering on good!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

Myself, wife and two children, took a chance to try somewhere which was recommended by someone in the restaurant business, and new to us.

Checked the menu on-line, and it seemed tempting, with some unusual looking choices.

Upon arrival, I was pleasantly surprised by what I would describe as an ambiance of 'polished spit and sawdust', which is a compliment, as the decor and fittings are stylish and quirky, which gives a feeling of relaxation and intrigue.

Staff were polite and knowledgeable, but seemed a little bit disinterested, as if 'going through the motions', but still providing reasonable interaction.

Food portions were adequate and tasty. Steak was good, however the T Bone was VERY fatty, bordering on being sent back! 48 day aged fillet steak was great, and side dishes were again, adequate.

Overall, we would probably visit again, but one major draw back for me, was the fact that the restaurant has adopted a policy of having two fixed sittings for dinner, which definitely imposed an element of pressure on our group, which was a little off putting.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steven K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great service great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

Thanks Morgan for looking after our party this evening .we booked the private room which comfortably seats 8 . Most of my friends were from outside York on their first visit to the Whippet Inn and were highly complementary about the excellent service and the attention to detail
The aged Steaks were as tasty and well presented as they always are to me as as regular visitor
Well done on making this a special evening for us all

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing food, just let down by service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

We went here for an anniversary meal as my husband loves steak and real ale! We were there early so it was very quiet and we were seated quickly. The food was served quickly and we had no complaints, everything was delicious. After eating our plates were taken away from us and we not asked if we required deserts or anything, we were just left sitting on an empty table. Eventually someone noticed and asked if we would like desert but instead we just asked for the bill. We waited a while and still no bill appeared. I could understand if the restaurant was busy but it wasn't the staff were just milling around. Eventually my husband just went up and paid at the bar. Another thing that I was a bit disappointed with was that when two other tables were seated whilst we were there, both were offered sparkling or still water. We were not offered this which was a shame as not drinking alcohol I would have enjoyed with my meal.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mercede5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Whippet Inn also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Whippet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing