We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
York

“Lovely pub, ideal for families”
Review of The Old White Swan

The Old White Swan
Reserve a Table
DesignMyNight
Ranked #236 of 1,036 Restaurants in York
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: You will find The Old White Swan in Goodramgate York within a short stroll of York Minster, Parliament Square and Deangate - however you won't find another like it.Step in to discover a traditional pub of unique character, revered for its eclectic range of real ales and its quality pub food, which are served, as they should be, with a generous measure of famous British hospitality.The Old White Swan is one of many rare gems in the Nicholson's collection of great British pubs, reputed for their distinctive buildings, intriguing history and vibrant atmosphere.The pub has an external, covered courtyard which is very dog friendly. There is also an external smoking area at the back.
Reviewed January 20, 2020

We were there for lunch, seven adults and two young toddlers. The pub is beautiful, old and cozy, the fire was blazing in the fireplaces (there is also a lovely area outside if the weather is good). We had delicious pies and good beer and children could move without anybody bothering. A very pleasant meal.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lauramtorino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerAA, Owner at The Old White Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Laura,

It is fantastic to hear you had such a lovely time, we pride ourselves on our aesthetic and child-friendly atmosphere so this is great to hear.

Thank you very much for your kind words, and we hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards,
The OWS Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,023)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 1,023 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2020

I’ve often popped into The Old White Swan for a drink, but for once I decided to eat. I ordered soup and as I have coeliac disease they server double checked it was gluten free for me. When it arrived they had put gluten free bread on the plate as well, all in its wrapping so no cross contamination. It was a great surprise, so I’d definitely recommend them!

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank CarlaR1930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerAA, Owner at The Old White Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi,

Its fantastic to read this great review, I am pleased to see that my team have delivereda good experience for you. We hope to see you again soon.

Many Thanks
The OWS team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2020

The Old White Swan remains a personal favourite of ours and I definitely recommend this as a ' MUST ' visit pub whilst staying in York. The building has lots of history, character and atmosphere, sells a great selection of beers Including my favourite of Hop House 13. Good bar service.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2020 via mobile

Shocking service from a miserable, arrogant guy serving drinks. Rude and obnoxious. Could barely open his mouth to speak never mind crack a smile. Should not be allowed front of house. Doubt I’ll be back

Date of visit: January 2020
1  Thank 112annemariem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2020

Popped in for a drink, didn't stay for food but the staff were lovely, the pub was warm and we loved the age and decor of the building. Made ourselves comfy and stayed for a few rounds. Lovely way to spend a chilly afternoon.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank JaneL2294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old White Swan also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Old White Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing