We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“our second wonderful stay”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of 4 Talbot Court

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
86 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 86 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
gg0161
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“our second wonderful stay”
Reviewed November 7, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

this was our second stay at christine and stephens lovely flat, and we enjoyed it just as much as our first! if you want a quiet, cosy flat yet with a central location for the sights, shops and restaurants, you can't beat this place - especially considering the fact it has a convenient, secure parking spot within a few minutes walk. stephen will even meet you at the car park and help carry your bags! we hope to make it a third visit in the not-too-distant future!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We hope to see you again soon on your third visit ! Best Wishes from Stephen & Christine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 6, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owners thoughtfulness who made it very special
Liked least: The bed, a bit hard for me but others have no complaint
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 11, 2014
What an amazing review! We are so thrilled that you liked the apartment & had an enjoyable stay. Thank you for your generous comments, the 'thankyou' card and the biccies.We look forward to seeing you again very soon! Best wishes from Stephen & Christine.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 6, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 11, 2014
We are so pleased that you liked the apartment & enjoyed your stay in York. Thank you for your generous comments and we hope to see you again in the very near future. Best wishes from Stephen & Christine.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Holly W
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect city-centre stay”
Reviewed October 12, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

A brilliant little flat in the very centre of York - you really are right by the Minster - but which is quiet and relaxing too. Neat, bright and modern, it's very well kitted out, with a comfortable double bed and sofas and a really powerful shower. There was real care in all the little extras too: a bottle of fizz and scones waiting for you; mini toiletries and soft dressing gowns. Stephen was very friendly when he met us, and given the reasonable rates we'd certainly go back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 15, 2014
Thank you for posting a review. We're delighted that you liked our apartment and the little personal touches.We hope it all helped to make your re-union weekend an extra special occasion. We hope to see you again soon. Best Wishes from Stephen & Christine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill K
Great Falls, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A First-Rate Oasis at the heart of York's Medieval Paradise”
Reviewed October 7, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Look no further; THIS is the perfect home-base for enjoying and exploring all York has to offer. The location puts you right in the center of medieval paradise—a short walk from King’s Square, the Minster, the Shambles, grocery store and a number of excellent restaurants. Yet even when the streets around the flat are bustling 4 Talbot court is an oasis of calm, with beautiful views of the private garden and Holy Trinity Church. Crack the windows to hear the children practice at the chorister’s school or the marvelous bells of the Minister, or shut them to hear absolutely nothing.

Stephen and Christine have gone to great lengths to make sure that the interior of the flat is comfortable and lacks nothing a traveler might need. They go the extra mile with tips, maps, etc and exude a genuine warmth that makes it clear they enjoy hosting travelers and introducing them to the city. If you are parking a car, you will find the walk to the garage both easy and pleasant.

There isn't a thing we would have changed except the length of our stay--we stayed ten days and honestly wish it had been twice as long.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A cozy private space at the heart of the bustling medieval pedestrian area
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 9, 2014
Thank you for your fantastic review ! We're delighted that you liked our apartment and enjoyed your stay in York.We're so pleased that you appreciated the personal touch and look forward to seeing you again ( or your other half )very soon. Best Wishes from Stephen & Christine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynchy15
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“perfect location”
Reviewed September 9, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

The apartment was absolutely superb. We were welcomed on our arrival by Stephen and Christine, and had a fantastic experience from the very start. The apartment is beautifully appointed and in a great position. To be able to walk in from the hustle and bustle of York to an oasis of calm only yards away was simply awesome. When we come to York again we will certainly book the apartment again. A huge thank you to Stephen and Christine for the unexpected treats on arrival.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Minster bells in the morning
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 9, 2014
We appreciate your positive comments and would like to take the opportunity of thanking you for the card & gifts you left for us on leaving - it was such a nice touch ! We're so pleased that we could make your stay in York a memorable experience. We hope to see you again soon. Best Wishes Stephen & Christine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hancoll81
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning! Amazing! Fantastic! Unique!”
Reviewed August 31, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Words cannot describe how amazing this place is, not to mention how incredibly attentive the hosts were, nothing was to much trouble and the little personal touches really do make you feel very welcome and overwhelmed at the kindness of Stephen and Christine, the decor is like something out of a show home, just amazing! The location is perfect! We are planning our next trip and we have only just left! :-)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 9, 2014
We are delighted that you liked the apartment & enjoyed your stay . Thank you for your generous comments and the 'thankyou' card.We look forward to seeing you again in the very near future. Best wishes from Stephen & Christine.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;