We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gem of a pub with a proper choice of draught real beers”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pivni

Pivni
Ranked #160 of 859 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol
County Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Gem of a pub with a proper choice of draught real beers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

What a delight to discover by chance. Tucked away just off the Shambles this medieval timbered building, small but perfectly formed, has an amazing selection of quality real ales. York has so many nice drinking places it has always been difficult to decide where to start. Set over three small and creaky floors this quirky little establishment has great choice with very friendly, knowledgable staff and a nice atmosphere. A great place for a short visit but better to linger; try the draught raspberry beer while you can, it is superb..

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jan a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    59
    10
    0
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Pivni - the place to head to for real ale”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

A great place to visit for real ale lovers. The staff were friendly and very helpful when making choices. The ale was so good that two of our group are now real ale converts. The ground floor where the bar is, is quite small but there are a further two floors above with a plenty of seating. When the bar was quiet there was table service, which was great. The only downside that I could see to this great bar was that the toilets where on the top floor.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaserine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great old world real ale pub..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

This pub is truly outstanding. Great selection of real ales on tap. 12 different varieties at our time of visit. Very reasonably priced as well. The Maisel's Weisse is a stunning wheat beer on tap really tasty. Wife had a really good Pinot Grigio very nice as well. Gets very busy. 3 floors so quite a few places to sit down. Building is simply stunning, must be 300 yers old. Give it try you will not be disappointed. We went in twice in the space of 2 hours....

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulNedeljkovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best real ale in York”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

For quality of beer and sheer choice this place is peerless. We came in with a group and made to feel very special with the bar staff taking time to explain the beer styles to help us choose.

The top floor was a bit of a trek but once we were there we were pleasantly surprised to get table service. Topped off a great night...

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Highly recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

Found this place by accident when wandering around looking for somewhere to get a drink on our first trip to York. We were drawn in by the "world of beers" sign outside, they certainly weren't lying. This place has a fantastic range of beers and local ales to choose from and the staff are helpful and knowledgeable, helping you pick and taste something you will enjoy. Not being a beer drinker myself I went for wine and they have a really good quality selection of reds on offer. We did not eat here so cant comment on the food. The place has a lovely character and nice atmosphere, we even went back later in the evening because we had enjoyed it so much. It seems small at first but upstairs there are another 2 levels with plenty of cosy seating. Really nice place I will be looking up if I ever get to back to York.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pivni also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Pivni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing