We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Couldn't ask for anything better”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge into Kitchen The Historic frontage of County House and car park area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
72 reviews
Lounge into Kitchen
The Historic frontage of County House and car park area
Communal entrance hall
Lounge
Lounge
Kitchen
Dining room
Mezzanine looking into Dining room
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 72 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
DaisyMay1...
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Couldn't ask for anything better”
Reviewed March 23, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

This is a really great place to stay with a 'home from home' feel. It has everything you could possibly want or need. There is even a washing machine! It was very clean and very well decorated with comfortable furniture throughout. It even had little extras, such as DVDs, games, magazines and umbrellas. The location is excellent; a very short walk from the Minster, just through the city walls at Monkbar.

Date of stay: March 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodsey66
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A comfortable place”
Reviewed March 8, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Although I was in York to work , I found this place clean, comfortable, good parking, very close to the centre and all round brilliant value , will definitely be rebooking for a holiday soon .

Date of stay: March 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ADP55
Otley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic location with everything we needed for our stay.”
Reviewed January 15, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

My partner and I enjoyed a 3-night stay in January. We found all communication from initial enquiry to our warm welcome first-class and without any hassles. We were met on arrival at the security gate and shown to our allocated parking spot. We didn't have to move the car during our stay as the apartment is so conveniently located that it is only a 2 minute walk to Monk Bar and we were able to walk all over the city with ease. The secure car park was a huge bonus and one of the reasons we selected the apartment.
We were shown to the apartment and everything was explained to us.. The apartment was spotlessly clean and the kitchen well-equipped although we dined out in local restaurants on each of the 3 nights as our stay was a special celebration.
The bed was extremely comfortable, and there was plenty of hot water for my bubble bath!
The apartment was so quiet that we felt like we had the place to ourselves. The apartment is on the 2nd floor, but we found we used the lift to go up and the stairs to come down.
I can't think of anything negative to say about the apartment, other than the workings of the radiators remain a mystery to me, but we were nice and warm all weekend, so it wasn't an issue for us. I would recommend this apartment to anyone (with a reminder that the bedrooms are up a short flight of stairs) as we would certainly choose to stay there again when visiting York in the future.

Date of stay: January 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashir...
Whalley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Lovely Apartment”
Reviewed January 1, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Nice apartment, very we'll equipped, comfy beds, a little small for my very tall husband who ended up on the floor downstairs ! The mezzanine floor for bedrooms means you can't really watch tv when people are trying to sleep so might not be ideal for younger families and the water heater arrangement meant when 3 of you wanted baths or showers you had to plan in advance. But a great alternative to a cramped hotel room which gave our pre teen a bit of space to chill and us somewhere comfy to curl up and watch tv. Arrangements for key pick up we're easy and apart from having to top up tea bags and loo roll we didn't need anything. Sainsbury right next door so if you need anything it is right there

Date of stay: December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teresaw54...
London
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful apartment, great location.”
Reviewed December 4, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

The purpose of our trip was to celebrate my husbands birthday and the apartment certainly did not disappoint. The whole family found it quite lovely. The apartment was furnished and decorated to a high standard. It was a great retreat from the cold, busy streets after a day of sightseeing.

We enjoyed wandering Yorks pretty streets. We recommend the Viking Centre and for fun York Dungeon!

Date of stay: November 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The layout and high spec of the apartment
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HindleyGr...
Wigan
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Superb modern apartment, 2 mins walk from monkgate.”
Reviewed October 4, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Me, my wife and my 2 daughters, aged 7 and 18 months stayed for 2 nights over a weekend. The apartment is situated in a converted victorian hospital, and is a charming building. You get the use a dedicated parking space in the secure gated car park.

From the start the communication with Bev from Mint Move who run the property was excellent. Bev was very friendly and was a great welcome to York. We exchanged phone calls on the way and met at the gates where she let us into the car park and showed us around the apartment.

The apartment itself is superb. It was spotlessly clean, very modern, and presented to a very high standard. There are 2 bedrooms, a dining room, sitting room , kitchen and bathroom. One thing to note is that the apartment is on 2 levels, with the 2 bedrooms having balconies overlooking the sitting and dining room. With the property being very modern and "open plan" there are no doors, so noise can travel quite easily throughout all the rooms. This turned out to not be much of a problem for us, but could possibly have issues if you put the children to bed and are being noisy in the sitting room.

We utilised the dining room as pretty much a 3rd bedroom by putting our travel cot in there. It was easily big enough to put the cot in and still eat a meal around the table.

The apartment is decked out with pretty much every facility you could wish for. It seemed like someone had really thought about what people would want on a stay on holiday. Everything from a bottle of milk in the fridge, to a selection of family DVDs in the TV cabinet. The apartment has it's own wifi, with the password next to the router in the hall (Bev showed us this when she showed us around).
The beds were very comfy and everybody slept well.

It is ideally located, it is just outside Monkgate, so you are a 4 or 5 minute walk from the Minster. It also has a large Sainsburys just behind the block of flats for anything you may need. (We actually cooked and ate in the apartment one night because it seemed less effort and the apartment was such a nice place to be).

I couldn't recommend this place more highly. It probably cost less than a couple of hotel rooms, and you get so much more for your money.

We will always try to book in here whenever we are visiting York in future.

Date of stay: September 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The general standard of cleanliness and appearance. Luxury!
Liked least: No doors. Although it didn't bother us that much.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesil
Rome
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“no doubt: it's perfect”
Reviewed August 26, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

we spent 3 nights at the end of July. 2 adults and a 9 years old child.
We stayed in 6 different apartments during our travelling this summer and with no doubt this was the best of all. The flat is much better than it looks on photos. We loved the location, the building, the secured parking lot, the Sainsbury around the corner, etc.. and really a 3 nights stay is the minimum stay you need to visit York. The flat is on the top floor but there's a lift. It's difficult we will go back as we like to visit different places but for sure I would miss it. A tip: don't put "50 county house" on google maps but only "county house monkgate york" to have the correct position.

Date of stay: July 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing