We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favourite place for camping”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in York
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Hideaway at Baxby Manor
Ranked #4 of 55 Specialty Lodging in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This was our 2nd time camping here, it's just as nice and clean as it was when we came last year. Barney is so friendly and helpful. There is plenty to do at just a short drive away. Unfortunately there was one group who spoilt one night by playing music until 3am (which it states clearly on notices, no noise after 11pm) but it was dealt with and normal tranquility resumed. We will definitely be back again and would highly recommend to anyone.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (218)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 218 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2013

The Hideaway made my 1st time experience of camping a good one. The pitches are well spaced apart from each other, the site is clean and tidy, the facilities block is well maintained, the fire pits are a big bonus as you don't find them on many sites over the Country, the setting is fab and Barney a pleasure to deal with. I was dreading camping but The Hideaway has persuaded me to go again, I just hope, fingers crossed, that the next site lives up to The Hideaway, it has big boots to fill.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laura51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

As a family of four, we all had a really lovely two night stay, owner very helpful, it was exceptionally clean. This meant the children didn't want to leave the campsite to visit anywhere else, which meant we hardly spent any money which is always a bonus… Cannot wait to go again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HellsBells77UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

A great campsite. We stayed here on two pitches as a family group, aged 4 to 47. Nothing was too much trouble when booking. We had pitches together, with lots of space. The campfire was an added bonus to an idyllic setting. The shower block is lovely, clean and newly built, no complaints. No noise after 11 is a rule but don't be put off, chatting around the campfire is not a problem. It is more rowdy behaviour they are looking to stop. We really enjoyed our holiday, the campsite and Yorkshire really impressed me on every level. We will return.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Shazzer1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Liked: The hideaway was beautiful, peaceful, and the facilities were incredible, better than any other campsites I've stated on. And all for a ridiculously reasonable price too! Barney was so friendly and helpful. All the other campers were nice, not that we were near anyone else, having a corner of a beautiful field all to ourselves! The best selling point has got to be the fire pit outside your tent. Lots of campsites shout all over the place about no bbqs, no campfires, but here, it's been set up for you! Buying firewood from barney or bringing your own, there is no better way to spend the evenings than chatting round a campfire toasting marshmallows and looking at the stars. The toilets, showers, pot washroom, warm drying room, freezers, book swap, everything is incredibly clean and well working. The atmosphere is friendly. It's well placed for a drive into York, or a bimble up into the the moors. Or just a stroll down to the local pub for tea. I cannot recommend this place enough! We'll be back :)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becci D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Just returned from another great stay at this lovely campsite. Perfect for a relaxing break as this is a quiet, family friendly site in the middle of beautiful countryside. Lots of room around pitches and no cars next to tents; this together with the fire pits really make this a special place where you will want to return again and again. Going back in September and looking forward to it already.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed333H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Stayed in an Eco pod for 2 nights at the start of August! Loved the site, showers spotless and modern, bed comfy, and we will be back with friends! Loved parking away from pod kept the site safe and though we don't have children those that did clearly loved it! My favourite part was making a fire in the fire pit, romantic at night to see everyone sat round chilling out! Stay away if you are a rowdy camper!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near York
16.4 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
15.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,390 reviews
13.4 mi away
Camp Katur
Camp Katur
#1 of 2 in Kirklington
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Naburn Lock Caravan Park
22.2 mi away
Yapham Holds Farmhouse
Yapham Holds Farmhouse
#3 of 6 in Pocklington
132 reviews
17.8 mi away
Rocklands Lodges
Rocklands Lodges
#1 of 29 in Pickering
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hideaway at Baxby Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hideaway at Baxby Manor

Address: Baxby Manor Low Street | Husthwaite, York YO61 4PW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 55 Specialty Lodging in York
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camping and Glamping site ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing