We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic find”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in York
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
No 71 Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #155 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Oxford
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic find”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I was booked in to No 71 for a business trip. I arrived in the evening from a long train trip. I was made to feel very welcome by the owners. The B&B is a Victorian building which still has some lovely details, like the fireplace- love these touches.

Angie made me a pot of tea which was so welcome after the long trip. The room was so cosy I didn't want to venture out; and didn't! The room was en-suite and supplied with tea and coffee making facilities. The room was spotlessly clean.

I had a very comfortable night and was sorry I had to leave the next day! I had the cooked breakfast which was freshly cooked and piping hot. Great to see granary toast too, small things make a difference.

I would definitely stay here again, if I returned to York. The great hospitality from the owners and the cosy rooms are a must visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerTink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    29
    12
    5
    6
See reviews for
17
45
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dove Holes, null, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed in the dreaded No 5 room but still enjoyed our stay yes the bathroom is tiny but it was functional .On arriving we was greeted by sean who made us feel very welcome and gave us the invaluable map which came in handy so many times and also pointed us in the direction of some lovely little pubs . Should we visit the very pricy city of York again would definatly stay at No 71 again even room 5

Room Tip: If you want better find an hotel remember folks this is a B&B
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We booked into No 71 last minute during the race weekend - it was one of very few offering just one night accommodation over this particular weekend. Good accommodation in what I consider to be a pricey city in terms of places to stay. Warm welcome from Angie - our room was one of the smallest - bit of a struggle in the "bathroom" - more of a shower with toilet in corner but served it's purpose given the amount of time spent in room. Did what said on tin - a bed after day at races and breakfast which was above average and better than the offerings of some of the large hotels I've used in York. Clean and comfortable and very close to all that York has to offer. Friendly helpful proprietors. But if planning on more than one night suggest making sure you have one of the bigger rooms. Would definitely stay here again. Parking on site which is a bonus.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pez01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

This B&B offered excellent value for money and the owners are very nice and helpful. Room clean, bed excellent. Couple of downsides - it's on a busy road so can be a little noisy (but not too bad) and the free wifi was very weak signal. But they do a nice breakfast (though the 8.30 start is quite late, but it's a B&B not a hotel). Would have been good to have a decaff coffee (or something) option in the room too. Would book again without hesitation.

Room Tip: If you are bothered by the noise see if you can get a room at the back - but it's not that bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mouth_of_flowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pukekohe, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

While this B&B is in a convenient location to walk to the old town centre, and the hosts are very pleasant, our room (5) was really quite disappointing.It faced the street, and so was pretty noisy, and the bathroom was really tiny! You could touch both sides of the shower with your elbows, and it was a real squeeze to get into it! The water pressure wasn't up to much either. There was only a handbasin in the bathroom - no vanity and no room for a make-up bag (except perhaps on the floor!). The bed was quite hard; the pillows were OK.
We stayed 2 nights and the room was not serviced, which I was rather surprised about. The breakfast was a standard English cooked breakfast, with a choice of juice, cereals, fruit, yoghurt and toast beforehand if you wanted it.
At 75 pounds per night, we think it was over-priced.

Room Tip: Avoid room 5!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StheG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Owners lovely, helpful and informative. Location great, 10 min walk along the river to York. Room big, clean, comfortable. Parking free! Super value, no complaints what so ever! Thank you No71 for a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charls P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Have just returned from a one night stay at No 71 and had a great time. I went with two friends and we had room no 6 which is a triple on the top floor at the back. It was spotlessly clean and very quiet and comfortable. Angie was there to meet us when we arrived and was very helpful regards directions into the centre (a lovely 10 min walk along the river) and places to eat. Great breakfast with plenty of choice of fresh fruit, cereal, yoghurt and a full English. After we checked out Angie let me leave my car in the the car park until we left around six o'clock which was brilliant. All in all a lovely b&b and great value for money, would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennyA55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
1.8 mi away
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#2 of 192 in York
850 reviews
3.9 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
1.7 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
0.0 mi away
Grimston House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to No 71 Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about No 71 Bed & Breakfast

Property: No 71 Bed & Breakfast
Address: 71 Fulford Road, York YO10 4BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #155 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — No 71 Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rooms are singles, triples and doubles; four poster room, all en-suite. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing