We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little confusing.......... but we got there!!”
Review of Regency Restaurant

Regency Restaurant
Ranked #432 of 882 Restaurants in York
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A little confusing.......... but we got there!!”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We arranged to meet family for dinner on a Tuesday evening as we pass this place often and it always looks busy.We arrived without booking a table but they accommodated us on a good table. We were given menus and our drinks order was taken promptly.
We all had 2 menus each a buffet menu and a full menu. The buffet menu was eat as much as you want for £14.95 but it was not very clear how this worked!! Our waitress explained that you ordered each course one at a time and once eaten if you wanted something else then they would bring another dish! So to start 2 soups and a mixed starter which were all very good. We then decided to go onto the crispy duck with pancakes which was equally as good. We all agreed that we were then happy to go onto the main courses, a special chow mein, crispy chilli beef, a sizzling beef, special foo young and rice. Again we all really enjoyed what we ordered and ate what was presented, most of us full apart from one who then decided to order a further main course of duck which we were told was again very good.
All in all the food was enjoyable albeit you do spend a while there given that each course is ordered after finishing one at a time!! the wine choice was excellent and reasonably priced, we know we ordered a number of bottles!! A really pleasant evening and would visit again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank julie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    41
    15
    17
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Ok food, awful service”
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I popped in here for dinner whilst visiting York. Unfortunately I'd say the food was average and the service was awful. We barely saw the staff who seemed to just constantly avoid our table. We were in the restaurant for 2 hours and I'd say half of that was just waiting to order and then pay at the end to the point where we had to put our coats on and stand up before they came over to take our payment. There was no chance to order any extra drinks or food from the all you can eat menu as no one ever came near us and when they did, the language barrier made it extremely difficult to ask for anything. I wouldn't go back or recommend to anyone else

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank El27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“and a chinese menu :)”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

we decided to visit after reading the review below mine, and it was week day so nice a quiet, service was spot on, free parking after 6pm behind restaurant which is a bonus when eating out in york. they do a banquet menu for £14.99 all you can eat, not sure how this works as you order the food of the menu, rather then having to get up to go to a buffet table, so when watching other people eating of the banquet menu, everything came out fresh.

second visit was on a very busy valentines night, the service i have to admit was a little confused, as there is a little bit of a language barrier with some of the staff. and food came out slower. but i would rather wait for perfect food then timely, less then perfect, slap dash dish.

we ordered of the chinese menu, the twice cooked pork was fantastic, it is cooked traditionally so fatty pork belly is used. another fantastic dish is braised pork belly in soy. also i love stir fried beef hor fun, which is a flat rice noodle.
tried five spice shin beef, which is a cold sliced beef dish for the first time, and glad i did.
also the salt and pepper chicken wings, spot on the wings were moist and crispy.
and the salt and pepper squid, fantastic. spice level for every dish was just right. so the one chilli dishes i wouldn't be to wary of.

i also saw dim sum dishes being served to the chinese, but no menu, so i do hope they do a dim sum menu at some point.

the dishes from the chinese menu, are all good sized portions as they are made for sharing, both night we took home what we couldn't finish. i would recommend trying the dishes i mentioned.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank beezzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

If you want 'joe bloggs' chinese food this isn't the place for you, HOWEVER, if you want fantastic authentic food and brilliant service this IS the place for you. We partook in the dim sum menu and the a la carte - can't fault the food. We love chinese food and have eaten many times in China - but not in the tourist restaurants but the back of beyond and local eateries - which we consider the place for true cuisine. This restaurant gives you authentic. There was just the two of us but it was on the 31st January a Friday evening - Chinese New Year - very busy. The food was delicious, staff are not intrusive and if you want to check or require something, just ask someone, nothing is too much trouble - they leave you alone to enjoy the food, company and ambience. The fact that Chinese people eat in this restaurant all the time says it all. - Looking forward to many more visits. - Thank you

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 61daw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“Excellent Banquet”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

In stark contrast to the previous review; I recently dined and partook in the £14.99 banquet offer, and found all aspects to be excellent.

However, I should state that I was in a small group (of three), and the large restaurant was only very sparsely filled, something like two or three other tables in, so we enjoyed very attentive service, and were able to make regular requests for food and drinks.

This restaurant formerly housed the "Spotted Cow" public house, and was a popular live music venue. After closing for a number of years, it re-opened as a Chinese Restaurant in the late 1990's, which had a very good traditional buffet setup. I personally believe that buffet's were a good concept, but are "of their time" - they have waned in popularity over the last decade, and the last few I have visited have been very poor. This restaurant closed a couple of years back, and reopened early last year as The Regency, with the option of eating from the Al a'Carte menu, or from the banquet, which is essentially all you can eat, but ordered and brought to the table, freshly cooked.

You can order any dish you like from the main menu, as many times as you like (you are limited to one portion of crispy aromatic duck per person, but to be honest, who would want more than one serving of this dish?). We enjoyed soups, a dozen or so different starters and five different main courses, along with various spare ribs etc. The dishes presented are all full size portions, and served exactly as they would be from the Al a'Carte menu, so if you are hungry, the banquet represents formidable value for money. The drinks were reasonably priced (often in restaurants of this type, a big mark up is made on the beverage sales), and were regularly replenished by the helpful staff.

I cannot fault the food or service; perhaps the best time to visit, is as we did, on a weekday evening, to avoid the busier weekend / peak times. I will certainly be returning to make sure that our experience was no fluke!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YorkieLangham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Regency Restaurant also viewed

 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Regency Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing