We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem!”

Yak and Yeti Gurkha Restaurant
Ranked #31 of 874 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $38
Cuisines: Asian, Nepali
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem!”
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

We bought this meal as a Groupon deal in preperation of our visit to York. Our party consisted of myself, my fiancé and our friends (couple) We were not disappointed, the service was exceptional, the food amazing and the atmosphere very authentic! A definable must if you're visiting York and you MUST try the dumplings starter! The owner came over and thanked us for coming!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    510
    184
    52
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely little restaurant, when you find it.”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

we eventually found it by mistake, but glad we did, not fancy not up market decor just good plain surroundings and great service and very nice food, we had a mix of dishes which is like Indian but more flavour and more spicy. and cheap. both the guys serving us were serving Ghurkha's which made me feel even better for eating there and helping them in their business.
give it a good you wont be disappointed.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thehusseys3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coventry
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

10 out of 10 the food was original and taste great. The service was excellent, I would highly recommend

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank lorraine w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Nepalese food”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Burried near the top end of the city is a gem on a resturant. Dont be fooled bu the small door between a sandwich bar and supermarket. Nice and clean, friendly staff and the service and ffo were well worth it. Advise booking at the weekend as we were lucky and go the last table and others turned away. Crispy chicken and himalyan lamb both recommended

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank PTJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
62 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Must do !”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Excellent food, great staff reasonable prices. Might be worth booking during busy periods. We got in on a Saturday night but had the last table for a while.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank shbfromKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yak and Yeti Gurkha Restaurant also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Yak and Yeti Gurkha Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing