We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely delicious!”

Yak and Yeti Gurkha Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Yak and Yeti Gurkha Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #26 of 860 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $39
Cuisines: Asian, Nepali
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

Went here for a meal with friends and was very impressed. The staff were really friendly and the service was great. There was plenty to choose from on the menu, including lots of really good vegetarian options. I had the Annapurna chicken and Bhuteko Bhat (special fried rice) with a Nepali Khurkuri beer and it was fantastic with lovely portion sizes that weren't too big. Would definitely recommend it if you're looking for somewhere for a delicious meal in a friendly, relaxed atmosphere.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank puffinclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    492
    175
    47
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Amazballs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

The fact we walked past this place quite a few times still amazes me, went for a meal in here after reading the reviews and it really is amazing food, staff are very nice and welcoming, you will not be disappointed believe me, can't wait to visit York again and have another meal in here

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank boblfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollyoaks
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

Never had Nepalese food before so went along to give the cuisine a whirl. Was pleasantly surprised. Food was a cross between Chinese and Indian and extremely tasty. Staff friendly and welcoming. Would definitely eat there again!!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank bramahbull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Something very different”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Booked in for new years eve with family and friends,not been before so didn't know what to expect,was not disappointed,excellent food and service,and a pleasant change from Indian.
Portions not massive,so have a starter and a few side dishes,all the dishes we had were full of flavour,all reasonably priced,will definitely visit again

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keiron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best Nepalese Food We've Tasted”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

Authentic Gurkha cuisine and hospitality at the Yak and Yeti. We found the food the best we have tasted from Nepal, and the service friendly and attentive. On the day we visited there was a good mix of tourists, locals and also ex-Gurkhas. It's best to book if you can, as it seems to be very busy even at lunchtime. Highly recommended. Andy K

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yenny777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yak and Yeti Gurkha Restaurant also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Yak and Yeti Gurkha Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing