We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful monks retreat - fantastic location and...”
other travelers have booked this property
HD TV with blu ray player and Now TV
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
HD TV with blu ray player and Now TV
Shower over the bath.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
HD TV with blu ray player and Now TV
Shower over the bath.
The magnificent Minster - Monks Retreat is just 4 minutes walk away.
Stroll by the river.
Winter breaks - York is an all the year around destination.
Springtime. The city walls are close to Monks Retreat.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
sbar1980
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful monks retreat - fantastic location and a home from home. Highly recommended!”
Reviewed March 26, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We cannot speak highly enough of monks retreat. We had a wonderful stay. We were met by Mary and Philip at monks retreat at 2am after a nightmare trip from London. What a warm and friendly welcome even at that time of the morning. They settled us in and we enjoyed the scones and cake which also welcomed us. After a good night sleep we went into enjoy a fantastic long weekend in York. Monks retreat is fantastically located within minutes of all the main sights and attractions of York. A home for home, it's the prefect place to stay with everything you need and everything thought of onclusing tips on places to visit and delicious places to eat. If your coming to York, look no further for a place to stay. You won't be disappointed by monks retreat. Thank you Mary and Philip for a wonderful break. We hope to visit again!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 14, 2014
It was no problem at all meeting you, even if it was a bit later than planned but train signals aside we are glad you had a lovely time.
Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnglandJu...
England
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Perfect apartment !”
Reviewed March 9, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We stayed here for two nights and had a fantastic time. We could not have asked for anything better, the owners have thought of everything and some! The whole apartment is SPOTLESS, beautiful crisp bedding and lovely white towels, even bathrobes. We were greeted with a table set with parkin, scones. jam, butter and beers AMAZING! Finding the apartment was real easy too with the satnav and gated parking was a big bonus in York. It is only a 4 min walk to the minster so the position is great as you don't need your car at all. We ate at Ambiente (Tapas) and Little Italy, both were very good but the Ambiente was AMAZING and both were only a 4 min walk away and next door to each other too so no taxi required! We normally stay in the Marriott hotel when we visit York but who needs a hotel when you have The Monks Retreat??? We will be booking The Monks Retreat again the next time we visit York for sure. Thank you Mary & Philip for all your kindness and hard work that you put into your beautiful apartment ! See you both again S&J xxx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 12, 2014
Thank you. I'm glad we have converted you from staying in a hotel, we will be very happy to have you stay again the next time you visit York.
Cheers,
Mary and Philip
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darhlj
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Truly Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed October 15, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

A wonderful flat in a great location! It is exactly like it is depicted in the photos. After a nightmare train ride from London to York, the warm and friendly greeting by Philip and the little extras he provided(scones, jam, tea, loaf of bread and beer) brightened our day. We spent 8 lovely days in the flat and one day hope to return.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We hope you had a good journey home.
Kind regards,
Mary and Philip
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GazzaJame...
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The Monks never had it this good”
Reviewed October 13, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Clean. comfortable and convenient... Monks Retreat ticked all the boxes to make our week's stay in this splendid city all the more enjoyable - a great place to come 'home' to after a day's foot-slogging around York's historic streets (and walls) or exploring the surrounding countryside. Owners Philip and Mary Nelson were on hand upon our arrival to ensure we were fully familiarised with our accommodation and its amenities, explain access to the nearby secure parking, and share some of their knowledge of - and enthusiasm for - their city and Yorkshire more generally. A plentiful supply of guidebooks, brochures etc within the flat also helped us make the most of our week's stay. Clever use of the internal space meant that the two of us never felt cramped in what is admittedly a small apartment. We'll have no hesitation in booking Monks Retreat again next time we return to York.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Position and self-contained comfort.
Liked least: Nothing worth carping about.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 23, 2013
Thank you for leaving this review for Monks Retreat, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. By the way - I love the title.
Thanks again,
Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$142
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing